We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botaira resort peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botaira Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Botaira resort peaceful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights on Botaira in march, a simple, quiet and peaceful place with staff who are respectful and helpful, if not a little shy,which was nice. Some tourists mistake this for aloofness which it is not. About a dozen bures, The rooms are basic yet comfortable with ensuite and ceiling fan and screened for mossies. They are right on the beach for the sunset. The power goes off at midnight to dawn so the overhead fan stops, making for a warm night. Meals are set menu, basic tucker and set price, the soup is good, beer is cheap. Nice bar and deck. The village of Soso, 400 people, is a 40 minute walk over the hill and along a series of coves and worth a visit, they have local handmade products for sale and you can visit the school, cost $3 to the chief and a donation to the school, kayaks are free and there is a small wave off the southern point for fun, basket weaving and coconut demo is good fun, coral snorkelling off the beach out front with narrow concrete path leading out underwater.

Room Tip: all much the same, on the beach in the palms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    71
    29
    13
    18
See reviews for
39
169
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had visited Botaira beach Resort a number of years ago. On our return we received a warm Fijian welcome with song and flower lei from Newa, our charming hostess. After a refreshing glass of fresh pineapple juice we were shown to our bure. What a surprise! The bures have been rebuilt and renovated to a high standard. They still retained the traditional decorated ceilings and furnishings but the bathrooms and the terrace with loungers were delightful additions. An electric ceiling fan provide a welcomed cooling breeze and a small refrigerator kept our drinks cool during the day – solar electricity has been installed so the noise of diesel generators is no longer heard.

The meals have greatly improved and they were so varied and interesting that every meal was a pleasant surprise. The Lovo night was particularly good with a buffet meal and a great range of choice. In addition Botaira still has an old-fashioned afternoon tea with freshly baked cakes.

The Happy Hour provided a huge range of drinks including different beers, wine, spirits and Botaira’s famous cocktails at half the price of other resorts.

Of course the focus of a Botaira holiday is the beach with its golden sand and wonderful coral and myriads of tropical fish – like swimming in an aquarium! The kayaks and snorkelling gear is all in very good condition and in plentiful supply.

When one tired of swimming and relaxing in a hammock there was the ridge hike and the walk to the village where one could experience true Fijian life.

Our five day stay all too soon came to an end and reluctantly we left this island paradise.

What guests do we feel that Botaira beach Resort is for? If you are looking for a backpacker resort full of teenagers looking for a great time; or those wanting a swanky resort with bright lights, swimming pools and high prices; then Botaira is not for you. BUT if you are a couple wanting a romantic private hideaway with a beautiful beach, peace and quiet, good food and great value for money then you should put Botaira at the top of your list – we loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

As expected in the Yasawas, we arrived on an exquisite beach. The bure was absolute beachfront and lovely, spacious with plenty of louvered glass windows. Hot water was available at times, we could never quite figure out when. Meals were certainly plentiful and adequate, but there was no choice whatsoever. The staff were fabulous, however, it was hard to find anyone unless at meal times, and some days our bure was not made up. We understand and love Fiji Time, that's why we spend 2 months in Fiji every year, but there is a difference between late and never. While drinks were certainly value for money, the bar was unattended for most of the time. The most frustrating thing was that the electricity was turned off nightly at midnight, and sleep thereafter was almost impossible due to high heat and humidity. Botaira has everything going for it, beautiful beach, snorkelling, bures and people - it was a shame it didn't live up to its potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MingoAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have just returned from a magic holiday at Botaira Beach, Naviti Island, Fiji. Picture a white sandy beach dotted with palm trees and hammocks. The water is turquoise blue and just meters from the shore is the best snorkeling I have ever encountered - tropical fish, coloured coral and bright blue starfish. I spent 5 days on Botaira and loved every peaceful minute of it! The meals are simple but good and the drinks are cheap - less than $10 AUD for a cocktail. The accommodation is basic and electricity or a hot shower is sometimes hard to come by, but this didn't bother us at all. You get a sense that this is the real Fiji and it's truly beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a beach front bure. It's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Botaira for 7 nights at the end of October 2012 and loved every second of it. Food was plentiful, basic but nice - except the afternoon tea cakes - they were awesome!, drinks were cheap, staff were polite and friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean. We did have cold water for most of our stay but it was so hot that this wasn't a problem for us.

Snorkeling was good - lots of coral but not as much fish life as we expected. We took the snorkeling tours almost every day and saw a lot more fish life outside of our bay.

We met and made lots of friends during our stay - its easy enough to keep to yourself if that's the holiday you are after but we found meeting and hanging out with the other guests from all over the world a real highlight.

I was happy to lay in the many hammocks scattered throughout the resort reading books all day where my boyfriend was fishing, learning to throw spears, learning the Ukulele, walking the ridge and chatting with the staff.

A special thanks to Mini - he is such an asset to this resort. Always smiling and happy and cracking jokes. A great snorkeling and fishing Guide. He organised for a birthday cake for me and didn't realise until he had hiked back to the village that he had forgotten to ask the chef to give it to me so did the hour trek back to make sure I had a wonderful birthday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medowie, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is very peaceful. Only 11 bures, but all very nice and spacious, the ones on the beach have a great view. Snorkeling was great, beautiful corals and lots of fish, at low tide you walked out a path over the coral to get to the edge. There was a pontoon and free kayaks. Drinks were really cheap compared to other places FJ$3.50 for 600ml coke and $5.50 for beer, $12 for cocktails. Food was pretty average, food package FJ$80 per day, set meals and took a long time to come out. Didn't have any different food for my 16 month old so she had to eat what we had. Babysitters $5 per hour. Very few staff which were not interested in running any activities. We waited nearly an hour where there was meant to be a coconut demonstration and no one showed up. Lots of activities where wiped off the board and replaced with relaxation time. Staff ran on fiji time and you had to wait for everything, my husband waited 45mins at reception when he was told someone was on there way to meet him. Power is turned off at night.o Not a place for children, I would recommend this to mature people wanting to get away and relax and soak up the tranquility.

Room Tip: go beach front for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teegs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmari, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

It is going to be difficult to put into words how perfect our Wedding and other experiences were at the Botaira resort but we will try.

First of all everything was arranged for us including the main island hotel, transfers to and from the airport and to the island by boat as well as the whole wedding package. All we had to do was tell them the day we wanted the wedding on and the days we would arrive and leave Fiji. What a stress free way to get married.

We were greeted by island music on our arrival and spent 2 idyllic weeks at Botaira mainly just chilling out. Our Bure was large and comfortable and just a few paces from the beach. The food was excellent with a really good variety especially considering the chef had to cater for us not being meat eaters. We had plenty of fish which was freshly caught and absolutely delicious.

On our wedding day we had a champagne breakfast on the beach right in front of our bure looking out across the pacific ocean. We were able to watch some of the staff prepare the wedding venue, again right in front of our bure and on the beach. An arch and alter were constructed of coconut palm leaves and all beautifully decorated with tropical flowers from the gardens. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing it seemed was too much trouble.

The wedding itself was perfect with warriors escorting my bride from the bure to the beach. A local choir sang during the service conducted by a minister from a nearby village. Botaira also arranged for a photographer to be there and for video to be taken. The results were excellent with the photos being presented in a natural Fijian style album as well as on DVD. Our delicious wedding meal was served on the beach lit by burning torches and we were serenaded by the Botaira trio.

The staff at Botaira were so friendly and the whole experience was far better than we could have ever dreamed. A truly relaxed, friendly and natural experience whilst exceeding all our expectations.

When we left all the staff joined in and sang a farewell song and each shook our hand or gave us a hug. This was very emotional as it seemed we were leaving many really good friends and one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

If you are considering a stress free, natural, beautiful beach wedding we can highly recommend the Botaira Resort both for the perfect castaway location and the extremely friendly and helpful staff who we will always remember as part of our wonderful experience in the South Pacific.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naviti Island
4.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
19.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
14.8 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
17.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
11.6 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaira Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaira Beach Resort

Property: Botaira Beach Resort
Address: Naviti Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Naviti Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Botaira Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOTAIRA RESORT is located on a tropical island and consists 10 private Fijian Bures with ensuite facilities on a white sand beach in the beautiful Yasawa Islands in FIJI. All inclusive vacation packages of accommodation and meals. The perfect honeymoon and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botaira Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaira Beach Hotel Naviti Island
Botaira Beach Naviti Island
Botaira Beach Resort Fiji/Naviti Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing