We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FOR COUPLES”
Review of Botaira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botaira Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2nights. Our welcome to the island was wonderful fresh frangani lay and a welcome drinks very nice. Then off to our beachfront bure which was only about 15 metres to the beach. The snorkelling was the best I couldn't get enough of it. The food was basic but nice the meals at night were really good. Happy hour was great as the cocktails were only $10fjd each. The sunsets are a photographers dream. There are free kayaks and you can visit the local village or go hiking. Its very romantic here. One night I think there was only 10 of us there at the resort. Very selcuded.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1451kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 274 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a welcome 'home' from our wonderful Botaira friends. After looking at the 14 day weather forecast before we left home we expected rain but other than a few overnight showers and one or two on a couple of days it was perfect weather.
We flew from Brisbane on the 'red eye' and arrived at Nadi around 6am. a taxi ride to Denarau Marina and breakfast at Lulu's Cafe. After a 3 1/2 hr boat ride on the Yasawa Flyer we arrived at beautiful Botaira.
We unpacked and headed off to lunch, yummy wraps. A dip after lunch and a much needed nap till afternoon tea. Another swim then a shower and yes it was hot then up to the deck for happy hour. We found most guest went to Happy Hour. We met fellow returnees.Dick and Patty with whom we were to share many happy hours. We had a wonderful surprise when we went for lunch one day to find a Simon & Marjie a couple we had met 3 years prior on Viwa had arrived ( I understood they were going elsewhere). Along with Patty & Dick the six of us had some great times and lots of laughs. We did the village visit and the children from the school won a spelling competiton against other Yasawa schools.An unexpected Manta Ray snorkel trip was a big suprise. We were told one Manta Ray was in the passage but there were 3 that we saw. They are usually gone by the beginning of October.
Some guests had no power overnight but this turned out to be because of malfunction of something that needed a new part which was on order. We had a fan all night. After a leak in our shower pipe was mended we had plenty of hot water, though the wind did blow out the pilot light to the heater on a couple of occasions. The sea water was a lot cooler than expected but the beautiful reef kept us out there. I celebrated another birthday at Botaira with a very pretty cake made for me by Lesi. The resort was pretty much full house the whole time we were there. The South Yasawa Steelers Rugby team made it into the finals of the inter island comp. and came to Botaira to train in the newly fitted out gym. Am hoping they win the final.
Thank you Newa and all the amazing staff for making our holiday so special and to Patty, Marjie, Dick and Simon for your companionship, if laughter is the best medicine we should have good health for years! Hope to see you back there next year. Our 10 days flew by so quickly.
Sota leqa
Barb & Eddie

Room Tip: All bures are spacious but the front row beach front are the best. The waves are no less noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOOKED ON FIJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and absolutely loved it. It is a small island with only 11 bures so a maximum of 22 guests. There were only about 10-16 guests while we were there. Exactly what we wanted for a fiji holiday. No planned activities but we were never bored. Excellent snorkelling, free use of kayaks, walks around the island. No electricity between 12am and 6am. Got quite hot during the nights under the mosquito nets. Our shower was cold but this wasnt an issue. Don't expect a 5 star western resort. Bugs can get inside your bure and we seen plenty of cockroaches. Happy hour $9.50 cocktails, most guests went to happy hour and sat together at dinner. Great way to get to know new people. Very friendly staff!! No choices for lunch meal but while we were there we got chicken wraps, burgers and pizza for lunch. Dinner was amazing so much selection and so much food. Had a lovo night and BBQ night. You will not go hungry here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the resort with friends and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in the very relaxing atmosphere which is truly enhanced by the wonderful staff who we found to be so friendly and helpful. The garden bure was excellent and up to our expectation and suited us perfectly even though the hot water was not always reliable. The resort setting is stunning with a beautiful beach and excellent snorkelling straight off the beach, just love the hammocks under the coconut palms along the beach front. The hike along the ridge top is certainly worth the effort for a great panorama. We enjoyed the good variety of food, especially the fruit with a lot of it coming from their own gardens, would love to be there when their own pineapples are in season. Yes it is quiet with little night life but for us thats what made it so appealing, but they do an excellent meke night which was very enjoyable with everyone taking part. Hope to return for longer next time !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited two islands in the Yasawa islands of Fiji staying at Octopus and Botaira resorts, staying 6 nights on each. I would recommend a maximum of 5 nights on each.

Botaira is a quiet resort. As there are only 11 bures there is not much night life. Most people don't go to happy hour. The snorkelling is very good directly out front of the resort - coral was better than Octopus. Kayaks are free and there are plenty of places to kayak to. There are lots of fish and they are bigger than those seen at Octopus. Nobody is allowed to fish out front of the resort. Their Meke night (included on Saturday overnights) was excellent. They also demonstrated weaving and did the usual village trip ($25pp by boat). The village is very pretty and has 300-600 people (depending on time of year). You can do several hikes without a guide. The island is quite large with volcanic peaks. The garden is very pretty with several flowering trees/orchids surrounding the bures. The ridge hike has an excellent view of the island, into the mantaray channel and all the way to Waya island. At Octopus you were limited to the beach and the most excursions cost alot more than at Botaira. At Octopus there was a night life (more people around the bar) but it was still limited to a few nights of organised events. Snorkelling gear can be hired $4 per day. It looked tired. I brought my own.

Botaira has phone reception along the beach.

The food is plentiful and basically organic. They grow their own vegetables, chicken, pigs and catch/cook wonderful bone fish such as Walu (spanish mackerel). You will get breakfast (fruits, hot breakfast choices, cereal), fixed menu lunch and fixed menu dinner with desert. Meals are accompanied by a local string group. One dinner will be served to you privately on the beach with a bottle of white wine.

The rooms are large with wooden floors. They could fit 4 people comfortably (double and 2 singles). The single beds become seats during the day. Mosquito nets are provided. I would choose the garden bures if going a second time. The waves can be very noisy at high tide as you are very close to the beach in the beach bures. The garden bures have an outside shower which I did not view but are an excellent idea. Hot water can be hit and miss. I am not sure what the problem was, but I suspect they ran out of gas. Power is from 6am to 12pm. Rooms have a bar fridge. Rooms are provided with a fan, though there is good air flow through the rooms. You cannot drink the water in the rooms. Rain water is available. We drank that all week with no problems - I refilled bottles. Use rain water to rinse your toothbrushes etc.. The staff will show you where the tap is. We had bures 1 & 2. They are older and need an overhaul in the bathroom - but it was still all working.

(Rooms at Octopus are smaller, (can fit 3) and much closer together. It can be noisy if there are children next door. The bathrooms at Octopus are very pretty. Again fan only with mosquito nets. No bar fridge. You cannot drink the water though 1micron filtered water is available at the bar. More mosquitos at octopus. No phone reception)

The staff are friendly and helpful. I feel the price was slightly high for what you got. They do not charge for credit card use. They do not have a computer at the resort and final invoices are hand totalled.

To get to the Botaira, you catch the Yasawa flyer run by Awesome Adventures from Port Denarau. The resort can organise it for you and it costs the same. It leaves at 8:30 am and takes about 3.5 hours and gives you a lovely view of the islands. We did NOT pay for the captains lounge (upper deck). This is a modern ferry with enclosed seating areas. You can go out on the bottom deck, purchase food and drinks and are provided with a movie during the trip. The boat transfers to the island are efficient. Awesome adventures runs like a plane loading and unloading. Make sure you do not have very heavy bags. Sometimes you arrive at low tide and the bags must be carried in along the reef walk path which can be slippery. Put valuables in a plastic bag for further protection. This is true for ALL island transfers and is not in any way specific to Botaira.

Room Tip: Get the Garden bures. Make sure you water protect your valuables when doing transfers on and off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank juelsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

2 nights at boitara, the location is stunning. Very quiet resort, very friendly. The burre on the beach are just very nice, the best accomodation of our trip. Snorkeling paradise....Nice stop for 2 nights i would not stay longer as it is very quiet and not a lot of activities are proposed by the resort. Food is basic but ok, no hot water, food is not included in the package like other resort but the accomodation is much nicer..
Overall nice spot..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maiaustralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'm not going to write heaps here, but I'll mention a few things. If you're looking for an island resort in Fiji, I'd suggest one of the many others. They're all beautiful. Here's a few things that Botaira is lacking on:

Meals cost a TON extra, and they're pretty average quality. Other resorts have better food, and many don't charge extra for it.

Charing you additional for lunch on the final day. How silly! After you've paid hundreds of FJD already for days of food, they can't give you lunch, as you wait for your boat?

Charging additional for snorkling gear, which is just sitting around anyway.

Very often no hot water in the bures.

Honestly, other resorts have much nicer reefs for viewing, with clearer water, and more fish. And, Botaira faced into a strong wind much of the time, making the surf choppy, and difficult for swimming, or even lying on the beach.

Short happy hour, during which beers are "normally" priced. outside this one hour, all drinks are exorbitant.

No tea or coffee in the rooms. Many other places provided this.

Our send-off was rushed, thoughtless, and nearly rude. All other resorts provided a heartfelt, enjoyable song, with most of the staff participating and waving.

Anyway, for being an expensive option, you can do much better than Botaira. It was beautiful, but I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macgyver08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naviti Island
4.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
760 reviews
19.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,429 reviews
13.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
101 reviews
14.9 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
197 reviews
11.6 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaira Resort

Address: Naviti Island 679, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Naviti Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Price Range: $156 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Botaira Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOTAIRA RESORT is located on a tropical island and consists 10 private Fijian Bures with ensuite facilities on a white sand beach in the beautiful Yasawa Islands in FIJI. All inclusive vacation packages of accommodation and meals. The perfect honeymoon and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botaira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaira Beach Hotel Naviti Island
Botaira Beach Naviti Island
Botaira Resort Fiji/Naviti Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing