We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 3 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful 3 star resort”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

NIR was our first stop on our 17 day and 3 island honeymoon. The only thing we were not aware of is how long of a trip it was on the catamaran (5 hours) before we got to the island. The water, islands & scenery were beautiful, but jet lag had kicked in and we both fell asleep on the boat ride over.

NIR is on the far northern tip of the Yasawa Islands. It is right next to Turtle Island (which you can walk to, but you will promptly be escorted off that island!) The island is gorgeous. The sand is soft and white. We did not wear shoes the entire time we were there.

We had a beachfront bure which was nice, neat and comfy. 2 ceiling fans, no AC, but didn't need it. The bed also had mosquito netting over it, but we didn't use it. The room had a small frig, coffee & tea set up w/ a pot to boil water with. The shower was outside but enclosed & made of rock. It was really nice & enjoyed it. The front porch had chairs to relax in and there were hammocks all over the place. My only minor complaint was that the mattress was too hard, but what hotel doesn't have that problem!

The food was excellent and HUGE portions! A continental b'fast is included which consisted of a large variety of fruit, muffins, toast, cereal, milk, juice & coffee. You could order a hot meal if you wanted. I learned about vegemite! Definitely a condiment the Aussie's and Kiwi's corner the market on !! We learned quickly that we could order an appetizer and 1 main course and it was more than enough for the 2 of us.

The landscaping is incredible with the most beautiful foilage, greenery & flowers. The fruit bats were an awesome sight to see.

They also had a normal stocked bar. My husband lived off of Fiji Bitters and Fiji Gold beer and I had a few random mixed drinks. The fancy "island drinks" are more expensive, but that is like every bar you go to.

Max, one of the owners is a great guy. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Anything we wanted to do he would try to accommodate. Fiona was also a very lovely person and willing to help in any way possible. One thing we loved about this resort is that there were no other Americans there during our stay. We enjoyed meeting new people and learning more about New Zealand and Australia.

We also enjoyed snorkeling. Eddie, my husband, had never snorkeled before and this was a very good "beginner" place for him. He could walk/float out to the reef & see the fish and coral. Of course he also came up with the brilliant idea of taking the float/raft & paddling out to the reef on his stomach & snorkeling without getting in the water!!

Sometimes backpackers as well as sailor's who had dropped anchor would stop by for food and drink, but they were nice & no problem. All the people were so kind and happy. I truly believe the Fijian people are the nicest, kindest people I have ever met as a whole in my life.

This resort is nice, casual and laid back. It was not glamourous or luxurious. It is a top of the line 3 star resort & worth every penny. I would highly recommend it. I also have pictures of the bure, beach and water so let me know if you would like to see them. Fiji Adventures helped put our trip together and did a wonderful job.

  • Liked — scenery & people
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 4bjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    90
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
49
392
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
399 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

We were there March 2-6 and 8-11.....
Yes, we came back from 2 days at Oarsman's Resort which was a backpacker (alternative traveler) resort and not our style. Lance, thanks for having the Jungle bure and a Beach front bure available for us!!
We had some great conversations with Lance, and many of the guests. Some great travel stories.
The chef cooked me awesome vegitarian food every evening! The quality and presentation of the food could land him as a chef in one of the finest restaurants in a San Francisco. How about some KAVA? We're hooked! The snorkeling is great. Our last day we observed a school of PARROT fish - spectacular!
If you have a chance, go with Jioji -(George) to his village just across the water and go to church on Sunday, it's worth the experience and the singing is great! An experience you won't forget!
On a beautiful sunny day, try the walk over the island...the views are worth it!
If you are a speed demon...this may not be your place....it's quiet, small and very very relaxing!
The guava/ rum drinks hit the spot every time....

AND...PLEASE....DON'T STEP ON THE CORAL!! :-)

Enjoy your stay!

Pam and Mike, Northern California

Helpful?
4 Thank Squeekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

My wife and I had a fabulous time at NIR last week. As most of you, we searched long and hard for a couple resorts to stay at and we choose the NIR and Navutu Stars. At NIR we stayed in a treetop Bure which was magical. As long as you just need a large comfy bed, a refrig, a deck, and a functional bathroom and shower...you will be delighted with the treetop bures. There are four of them now and construction has begun on adding four additional ones. Since we knew we would be staying at a beachfront bure later in the week, we wanted to give this one a try. It was extremely cost effective and delightful. I might suggest they have a locker down near the main bldg so you could store some supplies so you don't have to run up to the bure when you forget something, want to go kayaking, or want to go for a walk. Otherwise, it was an ideal experience. Although we were there during the hottest and wettest time of the year, we only had one rainy day and the heat was quite bearable with a sea breeze to keep you cool.

Snorkeling right in front of the resort (and a good spot just to the right). The water is very calm in this location and stunning in its colors. The food was also of good quality and we did not find it too expensive, especially compared to the Caribbean. If we had to do it over again, and hopefully we will, we would choose the treetop bure for its solitude, charm, and uniqueness. Two thumbs up to NIR.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparks!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Just recently got back from Nanuya Island Resort. There are about 10 bures 5 tree tops and 5 beachfront. All have a great view of the water. They are very beautiful and extremely clean. There is no air-con but they do have a fan. The food is not included in the rate and this is where we found it to get rather expensive. The food here is excellent but we found it quite difficult to pay $45FJ for fish and chips and pop for two. The dinner menu was much more (ranging from$29.00-45.00+ a meal). There is not really any other resorts near by so you are stuck paying the ridiculous amount for food that's not really worth it. There is not much that is included, though there are the regular actvities that are offered for a fee; diving, snorkelling, village visit etc... The people were friendly enough but not as friendly as other places we went to (Botaira Resort).

  • Liked — THe Bure
  • Disliked — Overpriced food - no other options
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank FIJIFEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We were lucky enough to host our wedding this past January 26th at Nanuya Island Resort. We had 30 guests from North America and Australia come. We feel so blessed that we chose Nanuya as the venue- it was absolutely perfect. The friendly, warm staff could not have done a single thing to make our day more perfect- from the frangiopani's on the beach to the five star service to the phenomenal food. Everyone in attendance agreed that it was a million dollar wedding and it cost no where near that. The venue itself is perfect for hosting a wedding as you can dinner, the bar and dancing just steps away from the beach where the ceremony takes plasce. If you are thinking about a destination wedding- or somewhere to spend your honeymoon- you will not find a more peaceful or luxurious venue- especially in this price range. We can't wait to visit again. A million thank you's to the incredible staff at Nanuya Island Resort who turned our wedding into a beautiful dream- Vinaka. the sweets xox

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thesweetsLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,366 reviews
21.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
75 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
2.3 mi away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Property: Nanuya Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Lautoka, Nanuya, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing