We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic resort experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We, me and my daughter of 14, have just come back from a 4-nights-stay at NIR. I have stayed at several island resorts in Fiji, many in Mamanucas, and this was my first visit to Yasawa. We were supposed to stay at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort. But, to my surprise, when we arrived at Turtle Airways Office in Nadi, we found our reservation was lost (?) or not completed (?).We, due to cancellation, had a huge luck to find a room to stay at NIR in the very last minute!

We stayed at tree-house #12 in the first night and moved to #8 for the rest of our stay. The room appeared to be small for two. The viewing over the lagoon from the tree-house #12 was splendid! We enjoyed the gorgeous view. It was so nice to see how the delicate colors of the lagoon changes with time! From the tree-house #8, the viewing was not so good. However, we followed a narrow path up the hill, with only a very short walk, and could enjoy the outstanding view as well.

In the dinner menu we had 4 choices for starters, main and deserts, and some of them were changing everyday. That was enough choice for us. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Since we wanted to stay in the beach as long as possible to do snorkelling, we brought many snacks and skipped the lunch in the restaurant, which also saved money.

The beach was stunningly beautiful in the high tide. The lagoon just off the beach was excellent snorkelling spot. The corals were partly damaged, probably due to the cyclone last year, but the recovery process was going on. We enjoyed snorkelling many times in the shallow water close to the restaurant, even in the lowest tide. We went snorkelling trip but the spot was in the rough water. It did not seem to be an appropriate spot for beginners.

We really enjoyed the nature of the island. In the night, we were stunned by millions and millions of stars in the sky.

We flew to Turtle Island and were picked up by the resort boat. The viewing of Yasawa islands from the air was great. The fee for the flight was F$515 for two persons. The price was not cheap but, I may say, reasonable. The taxi from Nadi airport to Turtle Airway seaplane-base was F$15. The kind driver gave us a brief stop at a local supermarket to buy snacks was an extra mile. The staffs in the Turtle Airway Office were kind and helpful to find the place to stay.

The atmosphere of NIR was so relaxed and comfortable. The staffs are all very kind and friendly. We needed two single beds. The tree-house #12 generally had only one double bed. In order to meet our need, the resort managed to place an additional bed. They were quite helpful and did really anything to make our holidays comfortable and special. We were very grateful to Lily in the reception. Our stay in NIR was a fantastic resort experience. It was far beyond my expectation. We will definitely be back in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Migrating-islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    88
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
47
390
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Nanuya Island Resort is beautifully situated on the Blue Lagoon. It is probably one of the most picturesque resorts in Fiji both when viewed from the water and from the resort itself.

It was full of nice touches like you would get in the top resorts, while at the same time retaining a more relaxed atmosphere. The decor strikes a good balance between modern and traditional fijian. Our bure had great sea views. The food was also great, and good value.

The Blue Lagoon is picturesque, and has a large coral reef along much of it. However, there is quite a bit of dead coral (probably caused by tourism), but there still is some good snorkelling to be had towards the edge of the reef.

The beaches are nice, and you can even use the beaches adjacent to the resort, at least until the cruise ships come in and offload their passengers.

We were looking forward to going to the Sawa-i-Lau Caves but they are apparently closed due to a legal dispute.

There is also a nice walk that can be done around the island at low tide, and also over the island. Given that most resorts in Fiji are surrounded by village-owned land where you should not wander through without permission, this gave a certain amount of freedom.

However two things happened that took the shine off the stay: One night I was bitten all over from shoulder to foot on one side of my body. Given I was under the sheets I don't think it was a mosquito. In the morning I found a hard-shelled small bug that was difficult to squash (like a flea) and after this was removed the subsequent nights were bite free.

Also, both my partner and myself picked up an upset stomach while we were staying here. I can't pin it on anything in particular though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

My partner and I stayd for 2 nights in the private bure. The bure was nice, with its own bathroom and a balcony with a sea view. This place is quiet with good service and excellent food.

We came here mainy to explore the Blue Lagoon and the coral, but unfortunatelly the reef here is not as nice as in the Manta Ray Island resort or Octopus resort. The reef is dying and does not have much colour any more.
There is a nice strip of a white sandy beach, but on the other end there is another resort and they were telling our fellow guests they could not walk through that part of the beach or snorchel there. I found that quite disappointing, since at the Nanuya resort they recommend a walk around the island!
We managed to go around since we started the walk from the other direction and the staff from the other resort let us walk the final part along the beach to our resort though we could not linger around there.
You can also go for a walk across the island without any restrictions to the other side with some nice views along the way - 15 min one way.

So - although the accommodation was really nice (torches at night, enough hammocks, welcomming necklace, simply very pleasant) - there is not much to see in regard to the coral life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpickaTerezka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

This place is gorgeous overlooking the Blue Lagoon. On arrival we were handed a lovely cooling juice cocktail and greeted by the manager Alfie who was so friendly. In fact all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We had one of the newer bures on the hill top that was really nice with a big balcony to sit and watch the sunset. There is plenty to do here - snorkeling off the beach, kayaking, there is a PADI dive school where you can do shark feeding dives or just laze about on the beautiful beach. The food is delicious - the only thing I would say was that the dinner menu was limited to 4 options that didn't change that often. Its a lovely, quiet, relaxing, romantic place with no day trippers. You can walk around the island which takes around 1hr ish and you get great views. The Yasawa Flyer stops right out the front. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

If not for one glaring issue, this resort would be the most amazing, affordable place on the planet for those of us that don't have money gushing out of their pockets.

That one glaring issue? Illness prevention. My wife and I stayed four full days, and although three of those days were the most lovely of our honeymoon (we enjoyed this resort much more than the Rydges Hideaway that we also stayed at for 4 nights), one day was effectively ruined by illness that, we suspect, but of course cannot prove, occurred as a result of the food preparation. During our 4 nights, we heard that 7 other guests also became ill. When your entire resort only holds about 25 people, that's a high percentage. I have had food poisoning before, as recently as two years ago, and this is exactly what it felt like.

It's so unfortunate, because this resort is otherwise perfect, and the food itself was delicious, and presented very well in the most perfectly quaint restaurant one could imagine.

The resort sits on the Blue Lagoon, site of the famous movie(s), and the island (and those around it) form a perfect barrier for a nice, calm harbor for swimming and snorkeling. My wife compared some of the snorkeling to the Great Barrier Reef (I've never been, personally).

The Treetop Bure was an amazing, cozy residence, but be ready that doesn't include all the accommodations of home...bring bottled water into the room (the tap water is not intended for drinking), don't expect a TV (which is nice when you're in Fiji), and try not to use too much hot water (you have your own solar-powered hot water tank). The view off the deck went directly out towards the sunset, and we enjoyed tea and coffee on the deck every morning. The hike up the hill was a little far, but really nothing very difficult.

There is a dive shop right next door to the resort, and boats from all over the Yasawas come to the dive shop for diving excursions. If you're able, I highly recommend getting certified before you go, and count on these guys for a great dive. This was our one regret from our honeymoon...that we didn't get certified in advance. They do offer dive courses, but I think they might be slightly more expensive than at home, and when you're out there, you're just going to want to get out and see the amazing expanses of the sea.

We also used Rosie Holidays, who provided all of our transfers to/from the Island, including on the Yasawa Flyer out to the Island. It is a 5-hour catamaran ride from Port Denarau and the ride itself is like a tourist vacation. It drives comfortably out to sea passing gorgeous islands along the way. We even had a few dolphins chasing our boat at one point. Best of all, the we arrived on the island at 1:30pm, so we still had a great afternoon of lying around on the beach the rest of the day.

Alfie, the manager, was very outgoing in trying to help me overcome my sickness and very attentive generally to the guests. The bar and restaurant were very attentive and pleasant, and the prices very reasonable.

Hiking to the other side of the island is very easy, and although pleasant, you might as well just hike to the top of the hill. The beach on the other side of the island is very windy, and not nearly as pleasant as the beach right at the resort.

In the end, knowing what I know now, we would probably go back to this resort...I'd just want to verify that they've cleaned up their kitchens a bit first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workfromhomejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bregenz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Fiji was our relaxing part of our wold trip.

We planned to go to Nanuya LaiLai with a sea plane from Turtle Airways. Unfortunately the plane was not flying - so we had to stay an additional night on Nandi in a hotel and take the ferry on the next day. Nobody from Turtle Airways informed us that the plane was not flying. Fortunately we had arranged to get our wedding licence together with Fiona - a office employee of NIR. She told us the bad news and helped us to make all the additional bookings. (We didn't get our money back for the additional bookings. After claiming at the Turtle Airways office at the airport at least we got the amout for the flight refunded.)

When we arrived with the Yasawa Flyer on NIR the other day, Alfie the manager waited for us with a shell neclace and a cocktail. Then we first relaxed in the lounge, drinking our cocktail. - What a relaxed arrival - perfect. Our troubles with Turtle Airways seemed far away.
We spent about a week in a deluxe villa. The deluxe villa is beside the beach and has a nice terrace. There is a backdoor were you can directly access the shower - that's pretty nice after snorkeling or swimming. There is no aircon in this resort. The rooms have fans and are made simple but spacious. There are no glass windows, just mosquito nets. It's cool enough to sleep but you hear everything arround your bure. We especially were annoyed by the cock from the huts near the dive shop. The first two nights he waked us up by sunrise.

The restaurant is clean an has a good varaity of snacks, salads, fresh seafood and great dinner choices. We liked it very much. Also the deserts. Breakfast was included in the room price an was very good.

NIR really looks like paradise. Great beach. You can see the ships from blue laggon cruises nearly every day. There are a lot of hammocks and snorkeling the reef is really interesting and easy. We made two trips: We visited the Sava-i-lau caves and Jojis village. You can also go on a lot of diving trips and fishing.
Massages from Linda in the bure directly on the beach are also wonderful.

The best part of our stay on NIR was of course our wedding.
Our Wedding day: We got up in the morning late and had a great breakfast. We both took a massage from Linda. Then we went snorkeling for about an hour. Afterwards we had lunch as the Pastor arrived by boat. We met him for talking about our wedding in the evening. Afterwards we separatly prepared for the wedding. The bride had two very good helpers for hair and everything: Fiona and Samsara. At about 5.30 pm we had our romantic wedding on the beach. It was so personally made for us. Flowers everywere. Original fijian choir. Pastor Waisele also did a great job. It truly was our dream wedding in paradise. After a bottle of champagne and a cocktail with the other guest we took sunset pictures on the beach. Afterwards we had a private dinner on the beach and even the band played and later we had our wedding cake.
It was perfectly arranged by the NIR staff - they did a fantastic job. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susig100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is probably our 10th trip to Fiji over 20 years and we left the kids behind for this one. We spent 4 nights at Nanuya. This is the way Fiji should be. The beach and setting is lovely, the staff fantastic and the food great. The restaurant and bar area is excellent and you can have a lovely romantic meal but still chat to people in the bar area before and after if you want. Really enjoyed the walk around the island. This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in part become of the great staff and also as it is so peaceful. The only slight negative is that we came here from Blue Lagoon resort which has lovely big new bures here and we went to a Treetop Bure here and thought they were small and a bit tired. However soon got over that and loved our time here. Not somewhere I would take the kids though as really a couple resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPtravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
21.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Property: Nanuya Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Lautoka, Nanuya, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing