We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coup unfelt, no threat at all to tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2006

Wow, too many people appeared to have cancelled their travel plans to Fiji because of a coup that even the locals barely talked about. FIJI IS STILL SAFE, trust us...we were there when the coup started and everything was normal, but some advise to try to avoid Suva if you can. Nanuya Island Resort was everything we expected and more, honestly. The people are great, the accomadation was great and the atmosphere was just what we were after. Private, quiet, intimate and ideal. It's close to other resorts as well. At Nanuya guests consisted of mostly middle aged couples and the only backpackers were the day travelers that would trek into Nanuya Island Resort to get a taste of the incredible food, made fresh right before your eyes. The staff were all great, loved Remi and the rest of them. Fiona was very helpful on the internet when we booked and made our planning a lot easier. Just email the resort and Fiona will assist with any questions. We took the Yasawa flyer to Nanuya (4.5 hour boat ride) and the boat stopped at many other resorts so we enjoyed the scenery. My wife and I stayed in both the deluxe Beachfront Bure and the treetop Bure. Both were excellent, with toilets and showers...the treetop bure was smaller and sleeps two or three while the beach front is much larger in size and can accomodate 4 people. Activities include diving, hiking around the island, fishing, village visits...etc...We skipped out on the cave tour, but another couple staying at the resort said that it wasn't worth the price, and you have to swim under water to get to dark enclosed cave...with a lot of people (very unsafe). The beach at Nanuya was incredible, probably the best we've seen while in Fiji. The folks that run the resort are so friendly and happy, will do anything to help. This resort is next to Turtle Island so you can enjoy the same beauty as Turtle island, and pay a hell of a lot less here. On the way out we asked Fiona to book us a flight with Turtle airways back to Nadi. It cost $300 FJ per person one way, but it only took 30 mins. to get back as opposed to 4.5 hours. All transfers from the airport and resorts are easily arranged. Watch out for the taxi drivers they will most likely try to shaft you. Highly recommed this resort to all tourists, there is something here for everyone except the kids.

Stayed: December 2006
7  Thank Alison_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 538 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2006

Absolutely fabulous. Even better than we even imagined. We have read hundreds of reviews on tripadvisor of all the resorts in Fiji and finally decided to stay at Nanuya Island resort and Botaira Island resort the two that came out best.
We stayed at Nanuya the beginning of November, and its was excellent. The Bures are very modern, clean and look in perfect condition, like 1 year old. We stayed at a tree top bure (number 5) but we also saw a deluxe Villa because we met some nice people there that invited us over. The tree top and duluxe villa are the same style, the same quality, the tree top bure is a little smaller but also a lot cheaper. The little walk, 1 minute from the main building, up the path is easy and gives you are great view across the bay, while walking to your Bure.
Food is excellent, first class, a wide choice of different lunches, and dinner. The drinks are expensive like every other resort, but you can always bring your own and have a drink in your Bure before going to the lounge.

The staff is very friendly and not annoyingly present. The beach is very nice but the snorkling is not high quality. Beach towels are free and so are the beach chairs.

The resort offers many side-trips but if you ask me, you are better off staying at the resort and enjoying your stay there at the fullest.
We stayed at the Botaira resort after Nanuya, and resort-wise Nanuya is a lot better.

If you have any questions about the resort or about our stay feel free to send us an email. (W_Konings@hotmail.com)
We have many nice photos, but all larger than 2mb so we can't upload them here, but if you want to see some, send us an email.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Just returned from a 6 night stay at Nanuya Island resort. One of the best holidays that we have ever had.
There are 8 bures in total, so it is never busy, although boats do moor in front of the resort and visitors from boats and other islands are welcome in the bar and restaurant. And what a restaurant! The food is delicious. Breakfast is included and is a simple buffet of fresh fruit and juices, cereals and toast and muffins. You can pay extra if you wish and have a cooked breakfast, but we found that the continenetal was plenty and you really need to leave plenty of room for lunch!The lunch/all day menu stays the same, with heaps to choose from (the Wraps were a particular favourite),and is available until 6pm. Dinner menu changes every day (usually 3 or 4 entrees and 4 mains plus the most delicious desserts.) and prices are very reasonable.
The bar is open from 11am until everyone goes to bed. Cold Filtered water is provided all day long free of charge.
The beach is beautiful with snorkelling just out front although much better was to be found just a short boat ride away. The diving (according to my husband) was very good .The dive shop is well organised and run by a very friendly team who make sure that you are safe at all times.
The staff are wonderful and make you feel so at home . You can choose to be left in peace, or (like us) get to know the other guests and have a very sociable time!! We have never visited the same place twice, but can't wait to go back.to Nanuya!!
If you do manage to get booked ,make sure to ask Max and Terri for a Campari when you arrive.....

Jo and Rob

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

After spending a 4 days avoiding the rain at the Pearl South Pacific we were ready for some relaxation at Nanuya. We were not disappointed.

From the moment we arrived, Max, Fiona and all the other employees were amazing. When you needed some help, they quickly took care of any problems. When you just wanted to sit and chat, they were there to sit and chat with. They, alone, are enough to bring us back to NIR.

As others have said, the beach is amazing. Perfect for loungint around on the floating lounges and there is snorkling right in front of the resort. Although the coral is still recovering, this was still the best snorking we experienced that was not a boat-ride away. Talking to people who had stayed at other resorts, there was an over-whelming majority that said that this was the nicest beach they saw in the Yasawas. Perfect for sunsets, the lagoon is extremely calm (those on east-facing resorts especially were jealous of how calm the water was), and you can walk around the entire island when the tide is low (although when the Blue Lagoon Cruise ships are in you have to be careful not to get caught by their security).

The one down-side to the beach is that there is a TON of foot-traffic. People from near-by resorts come to visit the famous Blue Lagoon, and there were a lot of people from the Blue Lagoon Cruises that resulted in a pretty steady stream of people waking along the beach. Although I did not find it overly irritating, I know there were people that felt that it got in the way of relaxing.

Finally, the food was absolutely amazing. Everyone we met on the trip complained that the food in the Yasawas was nothing to write home about. Many places just serve buffet style or only have 1-2 options per night. Not at the NIR. Lobster nearly every night, amazing meat options and other seafood to die for. And if you had any questions about the menue, the cooks are right there to answer them for you. People were coming in every night from other resorts to eat dinner here, just to give you an idea of how good the food was.

There was always something to keep us busy as well. Water taxis can take you snorkling, to other near-by islands, on vilage visits, etc. The dive shop was 20 meters from our front door. And if you ever were lost for an activity, there were tons of hammocks to sit and lounge on. Although there wasn't a lot of late-night activity, but we stayed up every night with "the boys" drinking kava and listening to their traditional songs. Not the real party scene, but a unique experience. If late night partying is your thing, stay at Beachcomber for a couple of nights, and then come to NIR to recover!

When we got home from our trip, we almost didn't write a review, hoping to keep this place as secret as possible until our next trip. But this place is too good to keep secret. If you're headed to the Yasawas, check out the other places first, but only so that you will enjoy NIR that much more.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank H6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank skyjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MidimanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya Lailai Island
21.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
745 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,421 reviews
3.5 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
96 reviews
16.6 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Address: 1 Waterfront Road | Blue Lagoon, Nanuya Lailai Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya Lailai Island
Price Range: $216 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing