We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nanuya Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
$235
$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Oarsman's Bay Lodge(Nacula Island)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$224
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Cove Resort(Naukacuvu Island)
$230
$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Naqalia Lodge(Waya Lailai)
$101
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Viwa Island Resort(Yasawa Islands)
$432
$378
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel(Lautoka)(Great Value!)
$114
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Turtle Island(Nanuya Levu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Coconut Beach Resort(Tavewa Island)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Botaira Resort(Naviti Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
401
96
32
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
96
32
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreetop burethe yasawa flyerfishblue lagoonlow tidedeluxe villaour honeymoonboat ridelounge arealaid backceiling fannew ownersdesalination plantsolar powerstayed longerthe kitchen staffbeach bures
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 553 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stopped off in Fiji as the start of a 10 week trip back to NZ and Australia and we couldn't have been happier with Nanuya Island Resort. The welcome was friendly, the rooms large (we had one of the Beach Bungalow's) and the location magic.

Protected from the sea by reef's and other islands, the beach was lovely with coral just off shore for snorkling and we must have spent most of our time either lying in one of the many double hamocks reading and relaxing or swimming in the clear ocean waters.

As the other guests were all of similar age and had a similar philosophy on travel, with several repeat guests there (always a good sign) it made enjoyable chatting with others and the evenings could be spent quietly chatting, romantic dining or joining in with the staff and other guests for a few more drinks if you wanted...

A note on the food: As my partner is a vegetarian, we sometimes find it hard to go to places like this and have good food for both of us. On this occasion, we both rate the food as one of the highlights of our stay with the menu changing every night and what was served, was of international restaurant standard. We both loved it and looked forward to dinner. Advice though, if you are vegetarian, let them know in advance as vegetarian options are only on the menu if they know they have a vegetarian in the resort.

All in all, one of the highlights of our 10 week trip and we both would put the 5 days on the island in the "perfect" category!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigKiwiSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed at NIR for 5 days at the tail end of a trip to Canada in January, and highly recommend it. We researched carefully and decided on NIR after looking at several options. It was excellent - clean and tidy bures, great food, lovely swimming beach, and really friendly staff. It is a good size too - small enough so it isn't crowded and feels very private, but big enough that there are people to chat with (if you want to) and enough things to do. We spent 5 days reading, resting, swimming, kayaking and snorkelling. We also did a tour to the Caves, which was fantastic and recommended - as long as you are not too claustrophobic!

We could have easily spent another few nights on the resort but sadly had to return to work.

We will definitely return to NIR.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KiwiCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We have had the pleasure of visiting Nanuya Island Resort twice (once in 2006 and again in 2008). The tranquility of the island along with the top notch restaurant keeps Nanuya Island forever in our dreams. If you need a couples getaway and need to escape the technological world, Nanuya Island is definitely for you. The clean Tree House bures equipped with an outdoor shower are definitely a nice escape. We were able to go line fishing in a boat with some locals (Pita), which is a must-do and caught a nice white snapper that was cleaned and cooked to perfection by the on-resort restaurant. Hopefully someday we will be able to return. The most significant component to this resort is the beach. It is on the same island that the Blue Lagoon was filmed which proves its beauty.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank turtle_swimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

There is definitely good reason why Nanuya Island Resort has won Tripadvisor awards multiple years! From the start, the staff was unbelievably helpful...I had wanted to book a bure but they originally only had beach rooms available. I booked this, but a few weeks later, Fiona from NIR emailed me back and let me know they had a cancellation for a bure and switched our reservation. She also sent me tons of helpful info before our arrival and helped us book the transport to the island. Her email communication was fantastic and very fast, especially given the time difference!

When we arrived, it was raining a bit, so after checking in, we went to relax in our bure #12, which had a breathtaking view! The room had fresh flowers everywhere and was perfectly cozy perched atop the hill. All of the meals we had at Nanuya Island were excellent, especially the Nanuya salad with really fresh fruits, vegetables and chicken. And the presentation of all of the food was beautiful - compliments to the chef! Also, prices were very reasonable and thanks to a changing menu, you never got bored with eating at the same place.

The point of coming to Fiji is to relax (and NIR had plenty of chairs and hammocks set up along the beach and among the trees), but it was also nice to have easy access to kayaks and snorkeling gear for a very minimal charge, and we took advantage of both during our stay. The sunset at NIR was unlike anything we had ever seen and the colors were amazing!

As mentioned, one of the best parts of NIR is the staff, who were always helpful and friendly, especially Lily, who was never seen without a smile on her face! She helped me book a massage with Linda (who makes the 5-min. boat trip from a neighboring island) which was amazing! And had my husband not gotten sunburnt (yes, the sun is strong here...) we would also have done the cave tour.

Nanuya Island Resort was a perfect end to our vacation to NZ and Fiji - warm, relaxing and beautiful - and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amber_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Just back from another stay at this great little resort. This is the place for total relaxation. Travelled with family and friends this time including 2 grandaughters who had a ball. Was worried that they would not have a lot to do but the snorkelling and kayaks and beack kept them entertained all day plus a trip to the "Caves". Vinado riki to Lance and all the wonderful staff for ensuring we had another great holiday. We had bure 12 the highest up the hill of the treetop bures. The view was superb, the walk up became a bit daunting after a few days (not as fit as I used to be) so swapped with son and daughter in law who were in a beachside villa with the girls we got the girls and no hill and they got the view and didn't find the hill a problem at all. As always great food. Good weather during the day but some heavy night rain and thunder, a spectacular lightning show.
We all had a wonderful holiday
Moce
Ratu & Barb

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank HOOKED ON FIJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews