We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went for a few days for a relaxing catch up with a good friend and had a delightful time

Pluses
- very friendly staff who do a great job remembering our names
- surprisingly good food - both in quality and value
- loved the fijian manager who was charming
- great and very well priced massages (Linda was lovely)
- our treetop room was small and perfectly formed (not a difficult walk up the hill in spite of what some of the reviews have said, and i am quite lazy)

The only mild detraction from our stay was the slightly overbearing australian chap who swanned around drinking and chatting with people. We thought he was a guest at first (as he hadn't introduced himself) and wondered why he kept talking to us, but it turns out he was the owners' son. Perhaps in the future he could introduce himself before sitting down and randomly chatting to guests

Would not recommend doing the round the island walk, as it is quite swampy in bits even at low tide, and Nanuya is already on the nicest part of the island.

I would recommend staying much longer than the four days we did

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank freddagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    91
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
49
394
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nights just days after they reopened post Cyclone Evan. The staff did an amazing job at clean up in short order; it was lovely. I long for Nanuya now and would recommend it to anyone! Beautiful island, resort, beach, amazing food – best in the islands- and the best smallest coral head I think I’ve ever seen, just straight off shore! This is a couple’s paradise at an affordable price. We just came from a very communal dive resort where we all dove and ate together, and Nanuya was different --couple-oriented and very quiet and more private. We stayed in Burre 12 – right at the top as recommended my many TA reports. It was a hike up, but had a 180 degree view! The staff were great and helped with all of our needs, in addition to packing our 4 big duffels up the hill. We came to the area to fish with one of the only fly-fishing guides in the islands and they recommended we stay at Nanuya. While we loved burre 12, in retrospect it would have been more convenient for us to stay on a beach front burre given our fishing hours and lugging our fishing and snorkel equipment. The burres are not set up for a lot of gear to dry and we had a lot. If there was one thing I would recommend for the resort owner it would be to install hooks! I can’t recommend that enough in vacation places – more hooks! It is a very relaxed, casual, romantic setting with hammocks, lounge chairs and great snorkeling. Fish or dive near by, eat well – all meals available at the resort restaurant. Like most lodging in Fiji, rooms have a fridge, tea/coffee water kettle and a safe. Tips: You might consider bringing your own coffee beans, liquor and some snacks. Keep your louvers turned to keep the rain out, bring coffee, a travel hair dryer, bug spray (try Pure Fiji spray – its great!) a fish ID book and anything you need in terms of personal effects. The resort keeps a few items on hand, but don’t expect to find any grocery stores. Love Nanuya!

Room Tip: As others have said, Burre 11 and 12 have the best views and they are amazing. if you have lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Nanuya Island Resort, early January 2013. Like most that have written a review for Nanuya, we were very reluctant to do so, only because it is such a special paradise that you want to keep it to yourself. It was easily the most relaxing 6 nights of our entire lives. This place is so peaceful, relaxing, re-energizing and we have to say it again, peaceful.
The no fuss arrival gets you into a relaxed mood instantly. Alfie does an awesome job introducing you to the island and it’s magic. Music to our ears, no mobil phone use in the dining or relaxing area – AWESOME...
Accommodation for us was in a tree top bure, the views magic and enough room for two. The trail amazing, the foliage of the trees (still growing back after cyclone Evan), smiling right now just thinking about it! We would totally recommend . We did not look inside the beachfront bures, from our experience in the tree top bures we wouldn’t do it any other way.
It always feels like you are one of a lucky few to be at the resort. It never feels over crowded, the lounge area is spacious and very comfortable. Dining at your own leisure with no set times allows you to do what you want when you want.
The dining experience is hard to put in words. Tables for two, romantic, Views memorable, food just DIVINE – the best we have experienced in Fiji. Yes, the banoffee pie is every bit as good as everyone says! Lunch choices just too many and evening meals sumptuous. Prices are more than reasonable. True value!
The staff, well they are just simply amazing. Fiji time is Nanuya. The Jioji shuffle sets the pace. Remi goes out of his way to make your stay memorable. Don’t leave without trying one of Lynda’s massages. You won’t be able to stop at just one!
Kayaking is a must do also. One price hire fee for your stay is cheap and affordable. A trip around the Island is an experience – take plenty of water! Snorkelling and swimming just breathe taking. You can pick one of many places out the front of the resort or take your gear on a kayak and go exploring. A must do also is floating on the lounge mattresses – special. A trip to the village or fishing with Jioji is worth the time. Bring some money to the village and buy something special to take home from the lovely local ladies.
Most of all Nanuya is about relaxing. Spending time with your partner and not being in a hurry to do anything. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is it. We have spent alot of time in Fiji, experiencing many different things. Nanuya is definitely the place for relaxation, quality time with your partner and some of the best food, staff and massages in Fiji.

Room Tip: Tree Top Bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moosenprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited Nanuya in December shortly after the cyclone. Unfortunately the island was a little damaged and the beautiful surroundings were a little thinner than usual. But never the less the resort offered us such a pleasant stay. Our room was clean and tidy and the view was amazing. I can only imagine how good it would be with the trees full of leaves. The staff were always friendly and their smiles made you always feel welcomed. It is an island to relax so there was always a quiet space to ourselves, which we enjoyed. The drinks flowed at night time and we were lucky enough to eat with Lance and his family which was a privilege. Thank you for the good times. We will eventually make our way back and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Get a massage it was Devine. The walk around the island was relaxing but only at low tide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunyday78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Awesome service from the employees, beautiful beach, relaxing ambience, massage with a nice view, just the serene feeling you need on a beach getaway with hammocks scattered around the beach & nice corals just a few steps out on the beach! the food was also delicious! The banofie pie is exceptional, and we pretty much loved everything we ordered!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Corylusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow.! We fell in love with this place.! Beautiful Nanuya.! The staff, Alfie, Remi, Vilise, Sefo, Linda & more were some of the funniest, warm & caring people we have met.! They made our honeymoon amazing.! The massages Linda gives are heaven.! The food is like eating from a high class restaurant.! Everything we ate was high class, fresh produce & amazing quality.! You must do the cave swimming & visit the school - a very moving experience.! We loved every second of this slice of heaven on earth.! If you don't want to relax then don't bother visiting Nanuya.! Vinaka to all who work at Nanuya island resort. We WILL be back.!!! Xxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K_LondonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

There is only one boat a day so all new guests are welcomed in a collective check-in ceremony by Alfie, the laid back manager, while a golf cart delivers your bags to your designated bure. The bures are stylish and spacious, offer 24 hr electricity, ceiling fans and hot water but no TV, telephone or A/C and are all the more relaxing for that. The louvered walls that open up to let in lots of sea breeze and the large semi-open shower areas are the highlights. The menu changes daily with at least one local fish option per day and is very creative and inexpensive by the standards of Fijian tourism. The snorkelling is good although at high tide there is lots of flotsam: branches, leaves and wood in the water so better done when the tide is low. The daily trip to Sawa-i-Lau caves is not be missed. For an all round experience, steam in and fly out on a seaplane, it's less than double the boat fare.

Room Tip: The hilltop bures have great views but can be quite a steep climb for elderly guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ssjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,370 reviews
21.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
75 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
2.3 mi away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Property: Nanuya Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Lautoka, Nanuya, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing