We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nanuya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was great, the food was pretty good, and the location is fantastic if you're looking to be lazy and lounge by the amazing water. As we were leaving, our bags were sitting in the boat and suddenly a down poor started.... the staff immediately whipped out a bunch of plastic bags to cover our baggage to ensure it didn't get wet. The staff invited us to join in drinking the Kava which was fun, too. All in all we had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dognaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    88
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
47
390
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is probably the best mid-range island resort in the Yasawas, especially for couples. The food is ok and the bures are cozy. We stayed in both a villa and a treetop bure over 5 nights. We preferred the villa due to the fact that it was double the size and just 10 steps from the beach. My advise is to pay the extra for the villa. The service is ok. Alfie, Remi and Jorjie are very service minded, however some of the girls working there really need to do something with their attitude. It seems like they hated to work there. They either rolled their eyes or just looked really bothered when you were ordering something. Recommend the Sunday church visit in the village; gives you a view into the Fijian culture. We'll definitely go back if we'll visit the Yasawas again.

Room Tip: Go for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaganor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 magical nights on Nanuya Island and fell in love. (Though I wish it were longer!) If you want total relaxation this is the place for you. We stayed in a beach bure (no. 4-the one up the back-totally recommended much more private than the other 3) and it was spacious, clean and comfortable and the stone shower was just beautiful. The islands staff are just wonderful and have such cheeky senses of humour, especially Remi and Jorj. They also do everything to make your stay special but for all those 'want it now' people....remember it's Fiji time!
We met some really lovely people on our stay and had some great chats and laughs. The lounge area is lovely to sit down and chat with others from all over the world. Snorkelling was brilliant, especially if you go to the point when the Blue Lagoon Cruise ship is not there. I've got some great footage of all the amazing fish swimming around. Snorkelling outside Nanuya is just as beautiful and the water is spectacular! The food....OMG!!! Every night was a mouth watering treat. The food is fresh and cooked to perfection. My hubby caught a treyvally off the beach and the chef cooked it up with a delicious coconut sauce, gorgeous salad and taro, YUMMY! This is the most relaxed I've EVER been. As soon as I stepped onto the island every worry and stress just disappeared! This is a magical part of the world...absolutely stunning; I cannot wait to return to experience Nanuya magic again! Thank you to the wonderful staff at Nanuya for making our time there memorable. Our honeymoon finally happened.....20 years later and it couldn't have been at a better place on this planet! See you again Nanuya!

Room Tip: Beach Bure 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank triggerandshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Nanuya just over a year ago...and looking at the pictures reminded me of how special this part of our vacation was in Fiji (we actually traveled in 6/2011). You cannot adequately describe the peace, serenity, and natural beauty of this island and the people who work there. Our goal was to scuba dive and relax...and Nanuya exceeded our expectations in both areas.

First of all...no children are allowed...yeah! The accommodations are beautiful and peaceful; we stayed 3 nights in the treetop bure, and 2 nights on the beach. The treetop is more private, but the beachfront was wonderful in its own way (more spacious). Unless you are by nature an unhappy person, I don't know how you could complain about either location. The units are clean, refreshingly light, and downright wonderful.

The setting on the island, combined with the warm and gracious staff makes this property truly unique, special and magical. If you need lots of social interaction and fake entertainment (like Hawaii), then this probably isn't the place for you. If you want authentic, from the soul enlightment of the spirit of Fiji, then this is a wonderful choice for vacation. The beaches are beautiful, the waters crystal clear, nice snorkeling right out front, very excellent meals, and perfect service...what more could you want?

When the tide is low, you can walk around the entire island...which can be interesting. In addition, you can take a small hike to the top of the hill...providing you with yet another glimpse of the life of Fiji (beautiful, calm, ocean views).

There are mini-fridges in the rooms, which we fully utilized by bringing sodas from the mainland..along with some rum (from the airport). We appreciated being able to sit out on the beach or the balcony, sipping on a rum and coke.

Breakfast was provided and was simple, yet adequate. We typically shared a delicious lunch (fresh fish or sandwich), and then we splurged with a truly outstanding dinner every evening...beautifully prepared and very gourmet. We also brought some snacks along (trailmix, crackers, etc) to enjoy with our "happy hour".

We greatly enjoyed the diving, with the dive shop located right on the beach. The boat and equipment was in excellent shape, and the dive masters well trained, fun, and "flexible"...my boyfriend and I usually stayed down a bit longer than the group, which we greatly appreciated. We saw many unique fish and corral, and found the diving to be yet another relaxing aspect of the Fiji experience.

The entire Nanuya setting is low-key and peaceful, and we made some new friends from all parts of the world. The evenings were special in that there was some sort of sharing of Fiji culture..including Kava...a unique "drinking experience".

The only downside...is the distance from the mainland. It is about a 5 hour transfer via the high speed ferry, which proved to make for a very long night/day (flying from the west coast, and arriving at 5 am). I highly recommend upgrading to the "Captain's Club", as you can relax in the air-conditioned cabin, and enjoy complimentary sodas, water and snacks. Beer and wine are also available. I don't recall the price for upgrading, but it was definitely worth it to be able to stretch out and relax... Another tip....we pre-booked our transfer to Nanuya, which also included the bus transfer from the airport to the marina. The bus didn't depart from the airport until 7 am, so we sat around for 2 hours.. I recommend jumping in a cab and heading to the marina, as it is a direct route (bus made some stops), and you can enjoy coffee or buy some groceries at the marina when the shops open....

Despite the long transfer...I would return to Nanuya in a minute. The setting, service and unique opportunity to learn about the Fiji culture and history is truly wonderful and memorable...and absolutely relaxing. I look forward to a return trip to this "real" island paradise in the future...

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, you might want to select a beach burre. The stairs can be a challe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CubsWillRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned after 5 nights in a beach bure at Nanuya Island Resort, and have had the most magical of holidays. From the time we arrived until our last wave goodbye, we were welcomed by beautiful Fijian staff and made to feel at home. The beach bures were perfect for us. Spacious, comfortable, clean & we loved the stone shower! More importantly, we were just steps from the beautiful Blue Lagoon and all of its beautiful clear waters & coral reef. Take the snorkeling gear for your stay-we found we were in and out of the reef all day, it's just a few meters from the sand and you're floating over coral & colorful sealife. The food is outstanding & with a dinner menu that changes daily, you can never be bored of the same thing. The trip the caves was great, but our morning with Jiorji in his local village experiencing traditional Fijian life was a highlight for us. If you're after an island experience, crisp clear waters, quiet relaxation & great food, you can't go past Nanuya. We will definitely return. ... And like many other reviewers...you definitely must try the Binoffe Pie!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Nanuya and we have already booked our 5th for next May. My previous reports say it all. This is a beautiful part of the world and the food is of the highest quality. Thank you to the wonderful staff that keep the place running so smoothly.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, choose the beachfront bures. The traditional bures are all an uphill wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fijifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location is perfect with stunning scenery and crystal clear water perfect for snorkeling. The resort is very remote with only 12 bures so it maintains a relaxed and romantic atmosphere. The food (even vegetarian food) is excellent. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff, they were super friendly and helpful. In the past I had tried to learn diving but really panicked on certain tests. When the dive instructor realized that he helped me learn how to do those tests free of charge and even offered to allow me to use the stores dive equipment.
The only downside is the long time it takes to reach here from the port but in my opinion its well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmiSMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
21.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanuya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuya Island Resort

Property: Nanuya Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Lautoka, Nanuya, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nanuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nanuya Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Nanuya Lailai Island lies pristine Nanuya Island Resort. Nestled among palm trees and tropical flora in the beautiful Yasawa Islands, fringed by white sandy beaches and a blue lagoon, here you can embrace the island lifestyle and let the tropical climate ease away your cares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Nanuya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanuya Island Hotel Nanuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing