We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantaray Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Island was great. The jungle bure we stayed in was very nice, don't let the toilet put you off we were very surprised that there was no smell (keep the lids down just in case), i can't speak for the shared facilities though but my partner said it was no different from a pub toilet smell minus the smell of alcohol. It was a very good price for the room. Good place to stay if you would like to escape from children, still a kid friendly island but it's more for couples and backpackers.The snorkeling was the best we did during our whole stay in Fiji. Activities were good, spread out nicely throughout the day. If you get a really nice day the sunset booze cruise is nice. Food was decent, some nights were good some were just ordinary but i am a fussy eater! Food price could be a little cheaper though, there's not a great deal to choose from for breakfast and you have to pay extra if you want eggs. All the staff were super friendly. And of course the main attraction: Mantarays, one of the most unbelievable experiences anyone could possibly get a chance to do, we did it twice. It's such an adrenalin rush to be out in the ocean to swim with these creatures. Don't miss your chance to do this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    170
    68
    29
    32
See reviews for
53
250
98
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Arrived to the island just before lunch, rooms were below average for fiji, beach and coral were nice but was almost impossible to swim at low tide due to the coral, food was a bit pricey, had a fair range of activities but was a bit hard to actually do any because most things require a minimum of 4 people, my only real bad experience was a massage me and my partner booked for 2 but didn't receive until 5:15 because the staff were busy babysitting for some of the higher paying guests not cool!!, also during the massage the lady's were whispering, giggling and making fun of my stretch marks (which I have a bad case of and am verry self conscious about) so not the best experience I've had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanJenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I think people need a moment sometimes to re-evaluate what they consider necessary to them. I understand that traveling can make people feel uncomfortable and that facilities may not be considered the greatest but what the resort has achieved is something to be considered. The bathroom facilities is complete compostable system (which doesn't smell as often as you'd think). The layout is very nice. The water is completely drinkable. The rooms are basic (but lets be honest, you're in Fiji you'll probably only use the room to sleep). The food is amazing even if a little expensive on the Fiji side. The employees are very friendly and do their best to make sure you have a comfortable stay. This place was lovely to stay at and I would definitely go back. But if you're expecting the Hilton in Bora Bora, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetest_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff, but in terms of facilities this is by far the most lacking during my Fiji trip. Dimly lit huts have only a few pieces of crude furniture, shared toilets are far away and difficult to find at night. If you desire a back to basics experience this is fine, but there are many other good value resorts nearby in Yasawas. Manta sighting may add a point or two, though no guarantee any may be spotted even in season.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank umfridus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Mantaray Island Resort ist so beautyful! I stayed in a Dorm for 3 nights and the accommondation was very good. The staff is so friendly and lovely and the food was so good. The snorkeling is amazing. And to swim with the manta ray was such a good experience. I love this place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had heard and read good reviews about this resort so maybe I went in with high expectations! I was greeted off the small boat by the staff singing on the beach and handing out icy fruit drinks. There was a welcome brief which was relatively informative but not particularly enthusiastic. I was travelling with two friends and was put at the opposite end of the large 32 bed dorm to them which wasn't ideal and the staff didn't seem to recognise why this was a little frustrating for me. The dorm is sectioned slightly, with four beds in each partition. There is a small wall mounted fan per two bunk beds and a mosquito net over each bed.

The food was a combination of buffet and ordering off a menu written on the blackboard in the dining area. Considering the extra mandatory food charge applicable at this resort, I was expecting more! The blackboard menu looks promising and probably would be better if it didn't have to be mass produced as the resort caters for a lot of guests. If you want a cooked breakfast then you have to pay extra on top of this food charge.

The showers and toilets are a bit of a walk from the dorm which was a little unnerving in the middle of the night. Showers are cold water and the toilets are compost long drops but don't let that put you off, they were clean and didn't smell - there is even 24hour radio playing!

The sunset tube cruise was pretty cool and you can take drinks along in a chilly bin to have on the trip. Evening entertainment was the usual combination of limbo and dancing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingF0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We have nothing but great things to say about Mantaray, it was absolute paradise and a top part of our 5 month trip so far.

The island is stunning - everything from the beach to the palm trees to the resort is beautiful. We stayed in a treehouse bure, which was so cute. It is literally a foot bigger than a double bed, but you don't need any more room than that! It does mean communal bathrooms and showers, but they're close, clean and efficient. Even the cold water is refreshing after a day on the beach! The communal meal times are lush and have a good choice of food every time.

The staff are super attentive - evening games every night, but only for an hour so you have the rest of the night to yourselves. The daily room service kept sand at bay, and every single member of staff was able to help with any query you had.

Wish we could relocate to this place, it was heaven!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbsmuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanuya
22.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
710 reviews
16.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
185 reviews
8.6 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barefoot Manta Island
Barefoot Manta Island
#1 of 1 in Drawaqa Island
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantaray Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantaray Island Resort

Property: Mantaray Island Resort
Address: Nanuya, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nanuya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nanuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantaray Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantaray Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantaray Island Hotel Nanuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing