We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights,3days in a package deal. In a garden view bure. We had a awesome time on this island, snorkel or swim right off the beach. Infront of the resort. Staff we're very nice, food was delicious! Best omelette for breaky I've ever had! Haha. Dinners were top quality, with entree main and desert. If your fit,go for the hiking trip, best views at top of the mountain, but the hike is challenging, but fully worth it

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jimmykiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for Octopus Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Octopus in Feb 2013 we couldn't wait to get back so when we were supposed to do a day trip over to visit and show it off to our Aussie friends it wasn't hard to say no to staying the night
Ravee, you are amazing with the staff they are always happy and nothing is ever too much trouble
Pete and Jo Jo congrats what a great team!
Reno after cyclone looks good too
See you in Jan if not sooner!
Having been to all the other resorts Octopus wins hands down and not for the beautiful surrounds ( which we all know are amazing) but because of the people

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank ChrissyTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here in the off-season, and was amazed how much better the weather and water conditions were here in comparison to mainland Fiji. We had some very nice diving (the instructors were very patient), the food was great and everyone was very helpful and friendly. We were even upgraded for free on the last night.

Room Tip: If you go in the hotter months an airconditioned room may be a good idea if you are sensitive to the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at Octopus Resort for 6 nights in late October, 2013, travelling solo. From the very start I was greeted by Ravi and given the run down of the activities and meal times on the resort. Both Jojo and Peter, who are the managers, were often asking if everything was OK and were more than helpful to resolve any issues. The only issue you will encounter on this island is getting used to Fiji time...so if you're a sticker for punctuality then you may get occasionally frustrated. But being on holidays in such a beautiful place you can soon forget about the constraints of time and really enjoy the friendly hospitality of the locals, the delicious food, amazing snorkelling and variety of activities available, all optional of course! The free yoga classes run by Claire were awesome...a great way to keep in shape and stretch the legs out after doing the mountain hike! Even if you've never tried yoga before, Claire will make you feel welcome and help you throughout the class. I would definitely go back again and it's very easy to make friends as a solo traveller, although there were plenty of couples around as well as a few families. For value-for-money, you can't go past this place in the Yasawa Islands.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing bathroom/toilet facilities then a bungalow is a very cost-effective op...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our second trip to Octopus and there will definitely be at least a third. We were told about the resort by friends who had been with their children and had a fantastic time. We went with our teenaged children in January 2012 and enjoyed seeing them relax without TV, computers and iEverythings and get into snorkelling, scuba and conversation. Our 17 year old son completed his open water scuba qualification on that trip and on this return trip did his advanced course with the wonderful scuba team ... he was happily exhausted every evening from the diving, ate well, laughed a lot and slept like a top. He opted to stay in the dorms which are air-conditioned, comfortable and a multicultural experience.
The staff members at Octopus are beautiful people and are mostly from the local village. Friendly and welcoming - they really make the place what it is. We are sure to spell names wrongly so do apologise but, thank you in particular to Ameci, Ana, Merioni, Jim, Sai, Solo, Tom, Seta, Vase’s mum, Yesava, Moses, Amir and the band for your warmth, humour and kindness. JoJo and Pete the new managers are a great asset to the place, both are calm, helpful, organised and friendly. And Johanna the dive instructor is simply outstanding.
The food is well done - fresh and varied with vegetarian options and the terrific kitchen and restaurant team do a check for allergies and dietary requirements at each table every night. We launched out and had a lobster lunch which was incredible ... delicious, beautifully presented and value for money. Activities are varied and you can do as much or as little as you want. The Meke and the international crab racing were highlights for us, but there is also a lovely beach side bar to enjoy a cocktail in, fishing, lounges by the pool and on the beach, hammocks to read and snooze in, and a quiz night which can be a lot of fun too. One of the nicest things is being able to make plans and then ignore them completely. One of us did the island walk while the other one had a massage ... both happy. Massage was great and the massage team are top class.
This time we stayed half the time in a beach front bure and the other half in point 2. We knew that we would have to move when we booked our holiday so it was no surprise. Both rooms were immaculate and for preference we would go for the beach front bure. They are smaller and right on the beach. Having said that - Point 2 is beautiful and has its own verandah and deck. We love the geckoes who chirrup in the woven palm ceilings but this might not appeal to everyone. You have a mosquito net in the bure and air conditioning in the Point. Both have fans but the Point has a fridge.
The Reef. This resort is happily positioned in a secluded and protected bay with a superb reef which is entered directly from the beach. The very best time to see the reef seems to be just before the sun rises over the top of the hill because all the fish are busily out and about. When the sun gets over the hill the light on the corals and the schools of fish is spectacular. Mostly the reef is easy to snorkel and a lot of time is just floating about watching the world go by but there is an occasional strong current so good fins are a great idea.
Finally, if you are after a five-star multi-national hotel chain resort experience in Fiji this is not it. Try Denarau. But if you want to relax in a natural paradise amongst people for whom this is home then Octopus is the way to go. Thank you so much Waya and Octopus Resort. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Beach front bure are lovely but not airconditioned Point rooms are big, airconditioned and have a f...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in one of the dorms and I had a really good time while being there. All the staff are very helpful and the food is beyond amazing. The portions are quite small but delicious. The internet (wi-fi) is decent but they should offer more hourly options. The beach is so nice. You can swim and snorkel. kayak is for free and the activities are good. Best one on sunday movies under the stars. Good accommodation overall will definitely recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Dorms are good, choose the ones with Aircon
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

More usually an independent traveller, I was wary of committing to a conventional resort style holiday. But a short break was needed, and Fiji was top of the list, so I took the plunge. The booking process was mostly painless and quite efficient, though some of the emails concerning transfers were a bit confusing. We were initially told that transfers on the Flyer were included, and then later told it was not. I’m still not sure what the official line is but I have to say, Octopus were good for their word and transferred us on the Flyer at no charge, once I’d pointed this out to them.

My wife & I stayed at Octopus for 7 nights in early October. I’m pleased to say, all my fears of resort life were put to rest! Waya Island is gorgeous; the perfectly clear water is the first thing you notice as you transfer from the ferry to the small shuttle boat. We received a warm welcome on the beach, offered a fresh fruit shake and senior staff including the manager made the effort to introduce themselves. In no time at all, we were checked in and ready to relax.
The beach is perfect and the reef is well cared for, unlike many near resorts I have seen in other countries.

We found the food to be of a very good standard given the island situation. Over seven days we did not get bored, it was diverse, well presented and plentiful. Not once did we feel the need to snack between meals, though this is available if you fancy it. The table service was sometimes a little bit hit and miss, but truly we were so relaxed and enjoying good company, it really did not matter to us. The communal dining is an excellent idea and we delighted in chatting with different folk every night. For those that wish to spend time alone, there is plenty of space to find a quiet spot and I did not feel obliged to be social if I did not wish to be.

The coconut bar is a great spot for a cheeky mid-afternoon cocktail, a sun downer or to spend the evening (or all of the above). There is little chance of getting too drunk, as the bar service is record-breakingly slow and sometimes you feel guilty for bothering them! However, they do knock out a reasonable cocktail and you must remember, Fiji Time prevails. Prices were refreshingly realistic, as usually on remote islands they are prohibitively expensive.

We enjoyed the activities that were organised on some evenings (crab racing, quiz night, movie night etc). Again, there is no obligation to be involved and plenty of room to do your own thing; easy come, easy go.

The hill hike is highly recommended for spectacular views across the Yasawas; if you intend to go, chuck some trainers in your bag unless you have feet as tough as Solo’s, our awesome guide.

I also did two game fishing charter trips which were enjoyable with mixed results. The skipper (Rusi) was good fun, I liked his technique for finding fish by standing up high and whistling ‘here fishy fishy’! Our catch was brought back to the kitchen where they will happily organise your own private feast and prepare your fish however you wish – we enjoyed fresh tuna sushi and Spanish mackerel steaks.

Due to lack of availability on the beach bures, we stayed in a garden bure. We thought we had struck it lucky when we discovered we were right on the beach in Bure 21 – however, it is right next the dive shop, staff entrance to the kitchens, landing place for arriving/departing guests and general meeting place & hang-out for locals. In other words, it is busy all day long right on your doorstep. We weren’t there most of the time but I would not recommend this bure for honey-mooners or anyone who likes their privacy. I’m sure quite a few locals and guest alike got a fright when I was in there getting changed! Octopus if you read this – do the right thing and turn Bure 21 into the island office, it is in the most logical place for this!!

My wife doesn’t have her sea legs and thus choosing the Yasawa Flyer was a wise choice; she is a large & stable catamaran and runs like clockwork. We chose to return on the hotel boat (after issuing substantial drugs to wife) and this was a disappointment. The boat is small and looks quite seriously neglected for a passenger vessel; hard to believe it is in survey and does not show either Octopus or resort owners in a good light at all – I’m sure they could afford a more suitable vessel or should just rely on the very good Yasawa Flyer.

Over our week we met a diverse range of people from back-packers to newlyweds – at Octopus it is easy to enjoy this wonderful part of the world, no matter what type of trip you are on. We were instantly relaxed as soon as we arrived, and while some of the staff may take Fiji time a bit too literally, it was no bother for us. Why hurry anyway? We recommend Octopus and are already planning our return with friends. Vinaka!

Room Tip: Avoid Bure 21 unless you want plenty of company!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raptorman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
736 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
191 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
150 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range: $34 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Octopus Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing