We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Yasawas?”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in Yasawas?”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It was our first visit to Fiji and found this płace to be as good as other revievers have advised, very impressed. We have been to islands in Malaysia, Thailand and Raro and this płace was just better in most aspects.
- Excellent reef where you can snorkel offshore, better than paradise cove
- Great meals and communal dining makes it social (but not too much)
- Many activities planned every day just need to book early and most no or small charge
- staff very friendly
- Kids numbers were low but even so there were activities for them too

Stayed in Bungalow 5 for 2 nights which has no bathroom room still good and turn we upgraded to a premium garden Bure 12 which was steps from the beach and loved the open air bathroom!

Anyway if you are looking for a great resort with heaps to do and great staff this is an excellent choice. We spoke to other guests of all ages who all agreed, we really did not want to leave!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_dazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    293
    74
    20
    20
See reviews for
286
595
133
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent four nights at this resort in August after spending a week at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort and we expected Octopus to be a very similar experience. We stayed in Beach front Bure 22 and while the resort location and grounds are stunning we found it to be a bit of a let down. Although we paid a similar price at Octopus to what we did at Blue Lagoon our room at Octopus was nowhere near as nice as our room at Blue Lagoon, there was water damage to the walls under the windows, some of the shutters wouldn't shut properly, the table cloth was very dirty and the bathroom was in serious need of an update and always seemed at bit dirty (even when we checked in).

While most of the staff were very friendly and helpful there were some others that could be a bit rude and seemed disinterested. Also be prepared to wait for over 45 minutes if you order an ice cream from the bar, we asked for an update twice on the ice cream we had ordered and they just kept on telling us it was coming with no explanation on why it was taking so long! While breakfast and most of the dinners were quite nice here we found the lunches to be of very average quality.

Activities book out days in advance here so make sure you put your name down for any activities ASAP. The snorkelling out the front of the resort is amazing with lots of fish and coral to see, but the beach is not great for just swimming as there are rocks that come up quite close to the shore, so stick to the pool for just a swim. The beach is also rougher than the very calm beach at Blue Lagoon.

On the day we checked out we also felt like we were pushed out of our room earlier than we should have been. We returned from breakfast that morning with still over an hour until we had to check out to find the cleaner already in our room and she had already out all of the towels etc. and started cleaning even though our bags were still in the room and our toiletries were still in the bathroom. She then sat out the front of the room and waited for us to pack up the rest of our things so we felt as though we were being rushed out of there.

Overall while Octopus is a nice resort the rooms are in need of an update and service should be improved if they are to keep up with other resorts in the Yasawa's like Blue Lagoon. We won't be rushing back any time soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jessw188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My first time to Fiji and my first resort - it couldn't have been better!! Enough activities during the day for when we got bored with snorkelling, swimming or making our own fun. The village visit is a must - very interesting and a great insight.
Being a vegetarian I was worried about the food - I'm used to living off bread and rice when we travel. Octopus however couldn't have gone out of their way more. Every meal was delicious and customised for me. I never went hungry and even contemplated skipping some meals I was eating to much!
The staff were helpful, kind and friendly - always there with a cheerful 'Bula'.
Whilst it is shared dining I enjoyed the social time and am sure if you want a private meal the staff would accommodate your request. We stayed in a bure (private room) which was affordable and more than comfortable. We loved the outdoor bathrooms!
Whilst our boat transfer over was far from perfect, we got safely to the island and were impressed by the warm reception.
After staying on other islands and at other resorts octopus is by far my favourite and we'll be booking again next year. We don't have our own kids- but watching the staff with other children and talking to parents, we were massively impressed by the care and attention each child got.
Octopus is a great place to stay for families and couples. We loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a wonderful Island resort. The accomodation is what I'd consider 4 star and the food at least 4 star. We stayed in Point 3&4. Our only disappointment was that this was sold to us as a 2 brm villa. However, on arrival, it is actually two separate bures, adjacent to each other and with a shared deck, but no interconnecting door. This would be fine if you have older children, however, we have three under 7 and I was not comfortable leaving them in a room on their own, where I'd need to keep both external doors either unlocked or open for them, should they wake in the night. So, I'm just saying, be aware of this - there are no 2 brm villas in the resort, just these adjacent bures. They do have an interconnecting room in Poppys Lodge, which they said they'd try and move us to, but it is right next to the bar and we thought it would be too noisy at night. The location of Point 3&4 was amazing, and my husband and I sleeping separately for four nights was a small price to pay for a wonderful location. I definitely recommend this resort. Don't expect any form of kids club though. They say there is one between 3 and 5 each day, but this, as with some other activities, are very hit and miss and often don't happen at all. It didnt bother us, as we dont really use kids clubs anyway, but again, just take note. Babysitters were cheap $6/hour and good as they always are in Fiji. We are definitely considering going back again, for longer next year.
PS: We took the resort boat. As with other reviews, it is small. It would have been totally fine if it had been calm, but we had a very windy and rough day and I wouldnt take the resort boat again in such weather. However, Octopus did call us the day before, asking if we'd rather transfer to the Flyer given the weather conditions - we were just a little naive as to how bad they would be. But amazing skipper and we got there safe and sound - my three boys thought it a great adventure and loved every minute. Much quicker than the Flyer which we returned on to. Resort boat took an hour and a half; Flyer takes two and a half....so you need to weigh that up too with kids.

Room Tip: Point 3&4 excellent location, but right on the beach - waves can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Amazing place with great staff - professional and helpful. Idyllic pristine beach, not too many rooms for the size of the beach and resort and the place is never crowded. Good activities. Great for snorkeling - you can walk out to the riff and do not need to take any boat to see amazing marine life. Dorms are very clean. The resort is well prices, what's expensive is a boat transfer to the island, but the trip worth it - nothing similar is available in Vitu Levu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olguies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Octopus resort is the very pleasant frame of breathtaking Waya Island, nobody could deny it! The beach is awesome, the ocean bottom is extremely rich and interesting and the locals are very friendly and welcoming. That said, an objective review of this resort can't be only based on the natural beauty of the island.
Octopus resort is not cheap and I would have expected something more from it. Our bungalow was tiny and clean and the shared facilities were decent on the other hand, their transfers to and from the mainland are confusedly manned and some of the staff, especially the ladies in charge for the leisure activities looked annoyed (on the contrary, the barmen and the waiters were so funny!)
The restaurant looks like a canteen where you must share the table with strangers (which can be nice sometimes but what if you wish some privacy or atmosphere?). The quality of food was quite good but the quantity was ridiculous! During our stay we were hungry most of the time because we couldn't afford 2 additional dishes everyday for 25 dollars each!
I recommend this resort but don't set too high expectations for it, in particular couples looking for a romantic holyday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicchi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

the beer is cold the chips are hot, nice place for a few days,
but the snorkelling is the highlight!
the fish life actually swim TOWARDS you, they must be trained!
the resort is part of 3 run by NZ guys with a passion and it shows from the gardeners to the managers. wolud spend time here again if only for the fish!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
710 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
185 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,388 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
143 reviews
15.1 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#3 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Property: Octopus Resort
Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Octopus Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing