We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great island resort”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I traveled solo, staying in the dorm accommodations. From what the other solo travelers said, the dorm accommodations were some of the nicest in Fiji. I stayed for 7 nights, which was probably too many. Most people who were traveling solo stayed for 3 nights and then moved on. I was on a limited budget, so couldn't do a lot of the activities, but the highlight of my whole trip was the hike.

In December, it was very hot, almost too hot to really enjoy myself without a/c. If you have the $$ to upgrade, it would definitely be worth it.

Highly recommend this place. Stay for 3-4 nights to relax.

Room Tip: A/C recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wixkix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a premium garden bure. We took the Octopus boat transfer from Vuda Marina to get there (1hr, 15min ride) and chose the Yasawa Flyer to return (longer, more leisurely boat ride…but it also allowed us to stay at the resort longer and it was roughly the same price).

This resort is beautiful! The staff are all very nice, the food was amazingly delicious, and our room was perfect!

The beaches are beautiful, although not great for swimming, especially during low tide. It is spectacular for snorkeling! Lots of fish and things to see. We scuba dived two morning, which was awesome, but I feel like the snorkeling was just as good (maybe better?) than the diving when comparing the sea life that we saw.

The food is very, very good. I did not have one meal that I didn't like! Breakfast was buffet style with an omelette/eggs station (and a few other options you can pay extra for). They have different lunch specials every day: a pizza, a curry dish, and a fijian dish that change every day. They also have standard fare that does not change, like burgers, salads, and the like. Dinner was at 7:30 every night and was usually one option. They are very accommodating for more restrictive dietary needs. Everything was delicious!

Drinks were reasonably priced, I thought. In USD, beers were roughly $3, cocktails were roughly $8, and wine was about $6-$9 depending on the brand. They are cash-bar style which they charge to your room and you pay upon checkout to make it easy.

Our room, bure 12, was lovely! No a/c (not sure which bures have this…i think the dorm rooms might have a/c, although i can't be sure), we slept under a mosquito net (although we didn't find mosquitos to be problematic), and our bathroom/shower area was very cool. Although the toilet/sink area is covered, the shower is open air! Very nice stone/tile shower with surrounding wood floors and a rainfall-type shower head…all surrounded by green plants and the like. It was very cool :)

I would HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice relaxing stay on the beach…prepare to make friends, snorkel, and eat well!

Room Tip: Our premium garden bure (bure 12) actually had a decent view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Spent two weeks there for our honeymoon in September 2011. Amazing time, good food, great people and very relaxing. The island is very beautiful and quiet, but the resort offers many activities so there is always something to do. We stayed in the point 3 bure where there was lots of space and had an amazing outdoor bathroom, mini fridge, hammock, loungers, and spacious deck to watch the sunset. I would definitely go back and recommend the Octopus Resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Octopus after completing a 10-day kayak trip in the Yasawas and it was a great place to relax and recover. We stayed in a private bungalow with queen bed, and shared bathroom and shower facilities, perfectly adequate for our needs and very clean. The food was excellent (buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch with several choices, and a set menu for dinner, at communal tables, although private dinners were available if preferred). Excellent reef for snorkeling right off the beach. We also took part in a couple of their many organized activities - first, a hike up to one of the high points of the island - not for the faint of heart, but with the help of our guide, even those who are vertigo-challenged like me can make it, and the second was a short hike to a nearby village and school, complete with song show by the kids - memorable! With the exception of the bar staff, who seemed a bit jaded, we found the other staff genuinely friendly (our cleaning lady even gave us a necklace as we left).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandpeterCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just everything has been perfect! Great accomodation - we stayed at premium garden bure and for our last night they upgraded us to the beach front bure. Great smiling people! Great food! Great list of activities! We can recommend to stay there! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Premium Graden Bure or Beach front bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luciferka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Octopus and having never been to Fiji before, we relied on tripadvisor to help us in choosing our accommodation.

The food while were there was very good, with a great variety in the dinner meals, and enough variety in the lunch options that you don't get bored after a week of the same food. Breakfast was standard: cereal, fruit, some hot options, omelette station and juice/tea/coffee. The shared communal tables did force you to speak to other guests, which can either be a blessing or a curse depending on your tablemates! I agree that sometimes I would have rathered simply be able to sit at smaller tables and not have to make conversation with strangers. I can see why it is communal though, especially with the dinners that were shared family style. Only other problem would be that the 'fresh' fruit juice you can buy for $5 is actually longlife juice. With the abundance of tropical fruit, it would be great if you could get fresh pineapple juice, not from concentrate!

We did a variety of the activities while we were there and thoroughly enjoyed them. The snorkelling trips were fantastic, and not at all scary for snorkelling novices like we were. The mountain hike was extremely strenuous, and I would not recommend it for the faint-hearted! We had every intention of doing the yoga with the friendly yoga instructor, Claire, but found it to be much too hot to be exercising in the sun. The movie and Olympic nights were both great fun also. The resort made a great effort for New Years eve which was great, and even with the rain, the firetwirlers did a great job of putting on a show for the guests. I wouldn't recommend staying at Octopus for more than 5 nights though, as there is simply not that much to do there once you have exhausted their list of activities.

We stayed at Poppy's, which is nice accommodation, I would not describe it as luxury though. We had a faulty air conditioner which switched off constantly, which was quite annoying. We did mention it to the staff, but unfortunately, Fiji time can extend to requests as well, often we simply never heard back when we had queries. Other than that, the room was nice, with small wardrobe, bar fridge, comfy armchair and king size bed. The open air bathroom was a new experience for us, and other than the leaves that were blown in, it wasn't the insect magnet we were worried it would be! We had a large rain showerhead, and there was never any problems at all with not having enough hot water.The room was cleaned daily and swept for sand, which was definitely a necessity. As mentioned in previous reviews, the accommodation at Poppy's Lodge has a shared verandah. If you were in any of the rooms except Poppy's 3 (which you should definitely try and request, we did, but were not successful unfortunately) you have people constantly walking down the verandah to get to their rooms. And Poppy's 0 and Poppy's 1 don't have the separating bamboo wall on the verandah between them that the others do (as these are the two rooms that can be connected). But Poppy's guests also have their own small section of the beach which is fantastic, with sun loungers and beautiful handmade umbrellas. Which was lovely! However, if you are going during the winter there, air con wouldn't be a must, and I'd suggest staying in one of the beachfront bures for much cheaper accommodation with more privacy.

I also wanted to make special mention of Jojo, one of the new Managers. She did a fantastic job while we were there, and made a real effort when helping to resolve guests issues. Some other members of staff and management seemed to be lacklustre in comparison to her, as they ran on Fiji time and often didn't follow through on guests requests. The people working in the dive shop were also extremely friendly and always willing to help out which was so nice.

Room Tip: Request Poppy's 2 or 3 if you decide to stay at Poppy's. If you aren't going during Fiji...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kj_4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the second time we have been to Octopus Resort. The first time was 5 years ago with our 9 month old son. This time we returned with our children (5 and 3) and 15 family members (adults and small children) to have an amazing 2 week holiday and to get married on their incredible beach.

The food overall was really good. When you’re a captive audience in a place where there is no other dining option there is the chance that you just have to eat whatever you’re given regardless of the quality and quantity. Breakfast was buffet style with a couple of hot options included in the price and extras such as the amazing coconut pancakes for a few dollars. Lunch was served a la carte. There were about 12 dishes on the menu to choose from and every day there was a different pizza, fish of the day, a special and a Fijian dish.Dinner was sometimes buffet style (e.g. BBQ night), sometimes you were given a set dish, or sometimes it was shared dishes on the table (e.g. Seafood night, Fijian night or Indian night). Dinner was at least 2 courses every night. If we were still hungry the staff would bring more food out if we asked.

Children’s meals- at lunchtime there was the choice of a smaller serve of the adult menu or a kids menu which had fish and chips, mini chicken schnitzels (I stole these from my daughter a lot!) ½ serve of pizza, sandwiches etc. For dinner there was a meal created especially for the kids often along the same lines of what the adults were eating that night. If you had a fussy eater they were happy to cook something for your individual child. For example, there was one child who would regularly eat pasta with cheese. The kids got dessert or fruit with dinner too.
The staff were excellent at remembering if anybody had any food allergies/sensitivities etc. For example, they knew my mother didn’t like raw onion and capsicum so made her a small salad of her own on BBQ night. There were snacks available to order from the bar in the afternoons such as hot chips or calamari.

We were there with a few family members and friends so had a chance to see all types of accommodation from a bungalow right through to the 3 bedroom family villa (Poppy’s Lodge). All the rooms were of the same standard of cleanliness and had fresh flowers every day.

We rented Poppy’s Lodge for the majority of our stay and it really was a delight. The addition of having your own personal concierge was fantastic and a bit decadent. We had one staff member who would organise everything we wanted. It just made everything a little bit more relaxed by not having to go to the dive shop or office to book activities etc. Lunch was served at the table on the verandah so we could swim or play right until the food was there. Much more fun that trying to organise children to get to the dining room. It’s centrally located so nothing is far away which was handy with our kids on the move all the time. We had a lovely private space out the front of the rooms and I loved just lazing in the hammock in the hotter part of the day while the kids built sand castles in the shade.
We also stayed in Point 3 for a couple of nights and it was great too. Right down the end of the beach seemed like miles away from everyone else but only took one minute to be back at the pool and restaurant. The room was big with a hammock in the trees next to the sand.

Beach
The beach is just beautiful. It's like a postcard. The water is clear and warm and you don’t need to be snorkelling to see lots of fish. My 3 year old would regularly stand in the water and see fish swimming around her legs. The beach had a strong undertow at times but was fine for our kids to swim in with an adult.

Activities
The children spent the majority of the day swimming, looking for hermit crabs and just generally playing. My 5 year old was snorkelling from day one and went every day with whomever he could rope in to taking him. The snorkelling was beautiful and such an easy thing to do when it’s right in front of you. Every day I saw new and interesting thing depending on where I was on the reef. We went on the night snorkel too, which was incredible. Just make sure you stay near the front with the guide to see the most wildlife. We went for a visit to the local village, a snorkelling trip on the resort boat, Fijian cooking class, participated in the Octopus Olympics and just generally hung out and relaxed. The massages were divine and are cheap as chips. Many members of our group utilised the babysitters regular for evenings or to just have a bit of grown up time for a couple of hours in the afternoons. The kids loved the babysitters and the sitters genuinely love children.

The octopus staff are lovely. Many of them were still there five years after we had last visited. Some of them are a little bit shy but were still gorgeous. Their laughter is infectious and they amount of joy they get out of life was inspiring. Friday night is staff meke night where they sing for the guests. Five years ago they sang beautifully but were so shy. Now they are confident and the energy they radiate when they sing is quite magical.

The new managers JoJo and Pete arrived when were there are they are awesome. Without knowing much about the resort or us JoJo added some extras to our wedding that made it extra beautiful. I can see they will bring to Octopus resort all their years of experience in high-end hospitality without trying to make Octopus a pretentious snob fest. We got to have a holiday in fabulous accommodation without the attitude to match and family members who joined us got to choose what price they paid for their accommodation and still enjoy the same level of service and facilities.

To the woman who said that the staff shouldn’t be playing volleyball or a game of pool in the afternoons I say chill out! This is their workplace and they get breaks too. The staff would always make way for guests if they wanted a game of pool etc. The resort is surrounded by jungle, it’s not like there’s anywhere else to go for starters. I felt there was a nice vibe between staff and guests and everybody knew their boundaries. It wasn’t like the staff were sitting on sun lounges or swimming in the pool. The owner of the resort Nick was a nice bloke who can be abrupt but I found him to be a man who loves the resort and community and has their best interest at heart even it that comes across as not being PC enough for some people.

So, long review! I hope this helps anybody out and if anybody wants to know more about our wedding please DM me. I’m happy to share.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
788 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
199 reviews
15.1 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,534 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Mantaray Island Resort
#1 of 4 in Nanuya Lailai Island
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range: $103 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Octopus Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing