We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Octopus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Octopus Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights with a bunch of girlfriends. We stayed in the Dorm room. Overall our exerience was AMAZING!!
The staff were absolutely lovely and we felt like part of the family, the food was absolutely delicious and the location was incredible! The room was cleaned daily and the snorkeling was fantastic. I will be back and highly recommend if a relaxing time is what the doctor ordered!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    291
    73
    20
    20
See reviews for
283
591
130
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medowie, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed this place. We had a bure on the beach which was a lovely view with an outdoor bathroom ( friends had a fantastic courtyard one in the garden bure). There is no air-conditioning but the breeze is usually enough, and no bar fridges for your duty-free (smart move by owner). Meal package is FJ$89 pp per day and includes a continental breakfast with omlets, lunch from a menu of about 10 things and a set menu 3 course dinner. Kids could eat earlier at 6pm. Food was quite good. Babysitting was around FJ$8 an hour by memory. The ocean was quite rough in the bay while we were here but the snorkelling was fantastic. It's about 10mins and a bit of a hike to the other side of the island but it was calm and brilliant snorkelling over there. Lots of soft coral, variety of fish and we also saw a sea snake. On the octopus resort side you can use the boat channel to get out at low tide, however snorkelling on the other side is difficult as it gets very shallow. They have a pool but most of it is 2.8m deep so not fantastic for small children. The Olympics (work as teams to complete challenges) on Wednesday night were so much fun we really enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean front room gets the breeze while its very still in the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teegs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I recently stayed at Octopus with my boyfriend in late October. Overall we had a wonderful time and if you're looking for tranquil, quiet, relazing tropical paradise with a stunning beach...this is it.

Albeit, we had probably the best room of the resort (the best of the Point Premium rooms) which was large, spacious, beautifully decorated in a modern Fiji style, air con, fridge, lovely bed, beautiful outdoor bathroom and was on the edge of the resort so it was very quiet. We could literally sit on our little patio area and watch the sunset over the beach through the palm fronds listening to the beach. We had a hammock in the shade next to our room. Simply stunning. The only complaint would be from our neighbours that they had a rat in their room that ran across their bed at 2am and there were a lot of moths/insects/lizards. However, if you go to the tropics it isn't realistic to not expect these things. I wouldn't probably go during the wear season for this reason.

Apart from our room, the resort was small but lovely. Lovely communal eating area where you could choose from an a la carte menu three times daily and the food was generally excellent. Upon eating on the mainland, I could say there are probably cheaper places to eat in Fiji with food as good/maybe a little better, but I certainly couldn't complain. My boyfriend would get starving between meals though and there were limited snack options, perhaps something the resort can reflect on, especially as guests cannot keep food in their room as this attracts vermin.

The beach was stunning, beautiful reef and the pool was small but nice. The snorkelling tour was good. We booked to go on a fishing tour at 6.30am though and turned up to find they had already left. However, it seems time management isn't exactly great anywhere in Fiji, probably why they are such a pleasant and happy people.

The staff were wonderful. Management was friendly and warm and spent a lot of time around the guests and all the kitchen/bar/cleaning staff were lovely. NO complaints!

My only gripe would be that there was not much night life. But I suppose this is a resort for relaxation with a lot of families present, so you wouldn't expect a raging beach party night scene.

Room Tip: Point Premium is stunning. Heard you should avoid poppies. We stayed one night in the garden bure an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

First of all, great beach! However if you don't have a beachfront bure you have to fight for the sun-beds cause there are not many of them. Secondly, you should be aware of that the dinner is served in groups of 8 people. So if you're after a romantic and relaxing dinner experience as a couple this is not the place to go. The dinner is also sometimes shared between all of the tables guests and you have to eat whatever you are served. No choice at all! Also bear in mind that all drinks (except filtered water) is extra even though you pay for a meal plan. Else; the attitude of the staff is very poor and you feel like you are bothering them by staying there as a guest. Good for singles and families. Would not recommend couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaganor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
197 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Octopus Resort this past week. I had a great stay there and enjoyed it tremendously. Actually, the resort I went to after Octopus was nowhere near as nice and I wish I had stayed those 2 nights at Octopus.

I had a single bure with bathroom - thatched roof, stick walls, ceiling fan, mosquito net, open roof shower - thought it was great. Only problems were that the door into the bathroom was quite low so had to continually watch my head and the light wasn't really bright enough to read by. But, they seemed like small problems.

The food was great and tasty. Breakfast was a buffet; lunch was a selection of about 8 things you chose one of and dinner was either a set plate or various plates they brought to the table for everyone to meet.

I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There was always someone at the bar to get drinks. The beach was clean and made for great swimming. The coral reef just off the beach is beautiful and a great place to go snorkeling.

All in all a fantastic location and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my first trip to Fiji. My husband and I chose the Octopus Resort based on our Fijian friend's recommendation as it is where his family go to when they are on holiday.
The resort is very well laid out. The communal dining area is a great idea as it allows you to get to know the other tourists as well. We were very surprised at the diversity of tourists that stayed at Octopus. We expected alot of Australians and New Zealanders but there were people from all over the world.
We stayed in a garden bure which was very close to the beach. The bure is clean and has a rustic feel to it, the outdoor showers are a great touch. The beds are very comfortable!
The food at this resort is very very good. A lot of people told us before going to Fiji not to expect much at the resorts. The breakfast selection is good, there is not too much fried food, lots of fresh fruits and cereals. The lunch menu is very good, as they have a standard menu plus a Fijian dish of the day as well as a curry of the day. Dinner is a set menu. We stayed for 4 nights and every night the dinner menu was good. We had two nights where it was a shared meal; one seafood dinner and one curry night.
The beach is truly beautiful, and the colour of the water is stunning. Snorkelling is great here as the visibility is about 8 to 10 metres, there is alot of different fishes and the coral is very pretty. It is quite rare to see so much living coral. The only thing we could fault this place on was that it wasn't really much of a swimming beach as it is surrounded by coral but once you get out onto the reef it's fine really. This place was made to view great sunsets. Just lie on a hammock, with a drink in your hand and gaze out into the open. It was perfect.
The staff are very friendly at Octopus and it felt like they were part of a community. It's also great to see the resort supporting the local village and helping out with funding the local school.
We will definately come back to this resort in the future, perhaps when we have our own kids as the resort is very family friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room or bure that's a little further from the common area for that isolated feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preetsdamantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Bulla! My husband and I spent 2 nights here. The 1st night was in a private bunglow which cost $106 aud per night we thought that was great it was very close to the beach and had that lovely fijian feel. Next night for some reason the manager asked us if we would like an upgrade to a garden bure so we said yes! It was about the same just the bathrooms was newer and the room have a safe to keep your belongings in.. The location is 10/10 the sunsets are picture perfect and the locals are very welcoming and friendly. The food is very good heaps of fruit and salads we were always full!!!! If you are visiting the Yaswasa Island this island resort is fantastic. By the way snorkelling is excellent next time we go we want to do some diving.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you can't afford a beachfront bure the other cheaper rooms are good enough an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1451kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waya Island
7.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
5.7 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
184 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,362 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Kuata Island
Barefoot Kuata Island
#1 of 1 in Kuata Island
136 reviews
15.1 mi away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#2 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Property: Octopus Resort
Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waya Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Octopus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing