We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well run backpacker resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Safe Landing Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well run backpacker resort”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Safe Landing was one of three Yasawa Island stays and definately the best in terms of free activities, paid activities and nightly entertainment. The Beach bure we had was comfortable and had solar hot water which was a treat after cold showers elsewhere. We went to Sunday church in the Naisisili village a 10 minute walk away, and it was Palm Sunday with the local children very involved in the service. It was a highlight of our stay there. The food was average, but one night we had octopus and that was quite good. We did the free cooking lesson and learnt how to make fried fish in coconut milk, grating the coconut and preparing the milk. As an older visitor, spending time with the young european backpackers was also very enjoyable. Safe Landing will be recommended to my friends and family.

Room Tip: The beach bure cost extra, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    21
    21
    17
See reviews for
13
70
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I started my Fiji experience in Safe Landing. The bures and dining area are pretty basic but the location and scenery is spectacular! Amazing beach and views from the room. In other words it's a perfect place to relax...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinaLandim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Hi my name is treva I have been coming to safe landing off n on over 25th as every time I go all ways something new there watching all the kids grow up getting married . but the food there never any complaints lovely most of the time eating fish. Lobster. Mud crabs they get for you the fishing with the man in charge revitalization . or Similar sometimes sunny all way great most times go out fishing at night this is the best the entertainment all ways fun my niece who lives in Fiji first time there loved it all got on like one big family . went to the caves and cruise around the islands perfect. Went to island near the caves a gentle called Abraham had lunch at his house a total gentle man . on way back stopped off at the Fiji princess went on board met all the staff an my friends who worked there a beautiful vessel . Most days plenty of exercise walking around island n looking for sea urchins to eat lovely .was there for 30th .While there was invited to the chiefs daughters wedding which have known since they we little for the full wedding was great my wife is Fiji a in Indian and the people on the island respect as there sister . every year I try to get there for 2 or 3 months and hopefully within the next 12 months will be living there . solar power lights would be good I certain areas at night and more canoes or kayaks fishing gear life vest other wise the island and the people are beautiful see all in July 2014 hopefully for 2 months. vina . ah DON FORGET THE KAVA WITH THE LOCALS AND THE KAVA KING(TREVA).

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank trevakavaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Safe Landing resort was the last location we arrived during our 9 day travel through Yasawa islands. First impression was great. The water was crystal clear and blue, the island green and exotic. Sandy beach, good rooms in the shade of palms, straight in front of the beach.

After warm welcome song we were taken to the main area/restaurant where drinks were served. It was instant drink (orange tasting tablet) mixed with rain-water. The same was available during dinner time. My wife loved the taste though. I preferred sticking to the rain water with no additives.

Plenty activities free and paid. Staff a little bit slow and forgetful, but come on! It is Fiji time. I blame it on cava. Anyway, got used to it after over a week in Fiji.

Food was disappointing and definitely the lowest quality we tasted during our stay in 2-coconut resorts.
Lunch the same option everyday: overcooked pasta with carrots and canned corn. Sometimes with addition of a chicken (2 bite pieces per serving), unidentified cheese (one bite piece per serving), or nothing.
Dinner - only 2 dishes are served soup+main or main+dessert. Soup usually instant noodles (chinese). Main course: mashed potato (from dehydrated powder), dry pieces of meat or even drier pieces of overcooked fish (frozen). Dessert is custard (powdered milk base) and some canned fruit salad. Nothing is fresh, even though plantations circle the resort and village nearby.
Chef in the kitchen was not willing to use any of the local ingredients: fruit, kasava, taro, fresh fish, bread fruit, lovo. I kept asking but he needed to use what was prepared in the freezer and his dry-powder goods pantry.
The only conciliation was a cooking lesson on the last day when he made for 4 of us great local meal: snapper and tiger fish fried and boiled whole with coconut and onion sauce served with boiled kasava (resembling potatoes). Sadly, no additional local seasoning available except New Zealand supplied salt and pepper.

The place was full of sand flies and mosquitos. Unlike other parts of Yasawas we already visited. I did not use any repellent the whole stay. In Safe Landing I had to use all of my DEET supplies.
Almost missed paid cava drinking ceremony. Resort employees, after accepting payment, promised but failed to notify us that it started. Anyway, it turned out to be everyday ceremony involving mostly local staff.

For me, every trip is about local culture and cuisine. Safe Landing and couple of the resorts disappointed me greatly. Will come back and stay in a village next time to see the real locals cooking and living everyday life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I started my fiji experiance in safe landing i thought the entire island was a really good place to start food was great staff were great and the experience was good, i little confusing at the start though when a ozzy guy gives all the talks.....heheh

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent a week at Safe Landing - this was the only place we stayed in the Yasawas, we wanted to try just one place and stay put and get to know people.

We had a great time. We stayed in a private bure, and it was very comfortable for the two of us. Did a few of the paid activities (boat trip to snorkel; village visit) and also a number of the free activities (made a coconut bracelet, went on a photo safari on the two beaches).

Food was huge portions, and staff were very careful with food allergies.

Staff went out of their way to provide fun activities, especially in the evenings.

Yes, power is on only part of the day. Yes, this is not a posh place. But this is the real Fiji - the village has no power right now - and everyone was very friendly, helpful, and tried to make sure everyone was having a good visit. We loved it!

Room Tip: We were in Bure #2, toward the east end - these last few bures are fairly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing beach and views from the bar/restaurant to watch the perfect sunset. Good food and plenty to do if wanted, otherwise sit and relax.
Staff were a bit "distant" which gave the impression of unfriendly but I don't think this is the case. See past that and you'll enjoy yourself.
The caves are a MUST

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony-Ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacula Island
1.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,390 reviews
23.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
726 reviews
5.6 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safe Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safe Landing Resort

Property: Safe Landing Resort
Address: Naisi'sili, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nacula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Safe Landing Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the unspoiled beach of Nacavacola, this all-inclusive hotel is just 500 m from Naisi'sili Village. It offers bungalows with a veranda and direct access to the beachfront lagoon. All bungalows at Safe Landing Beach Resort feature wooden furnishings, tiled floors and a ceiling fan. A private en suite with shower is provided. Meals served at the restaurant are prepared with vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Safe Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safe Landing Hotel Nacula Island
Safe Landing Resort Fiji/Nacula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing