We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nantes
1 review
“Just perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Blue Lagoon, or the best place to stay in Fiji...
I spent 3 nights in the dorm (the best one of all Fiji!!) and I didn't want to leave... It was really incredible, best staff ever, beautiful beach, perfect food and all very clean. Don't hesitate to go, it's just the perfect place to relax and enjoy Fiji!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiliBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    217
    44
    19
    9
See reviews for
325
613
155
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

From the moment we arrived the beautiful island welcomed us the sun blue water and Fiji people singing us onto the island, set the tone for our stay. The food was fantastic accommodation in beautiful surrounds clean and spacious, fantastic outdoor bathrooms.
The owners and managers couldn't be more helpful, nothing was too much trouble, the cost was very reasonable as well, great value for money. Lots of activities to participate in or just rest and relax on a lounge or beanbag on the beach. Many thanks has to be one of the best holidays I have had.

Wendy

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

A friend and I spent a week at BL , the second week of our two-week holiday and our first time in the Yasawas. We were so well cared for in every regard from the first moment we set foot on land and were greeted with our tall juice "cocktails." Our garden bure (#11) was new, spacious, and had the most luxurious of bathrooms. It was spotlessly cleaned, daily. Every day there were lots of activities, many of them related to the nearby village. The staff was always helpful, respectful, and friendly. The food was delicious (they even made me special gluten-free substitutes for some of the wheat-y menu items). The overall tone of the place was relaxed and cheerful. It is clear that the owners do their utmost to create goodwill with their employees and the local villagers, in many cases one and the same!
Kylie, one of the owners, is so very helpful and goes out of her way to resolve any problems and make sure everyone's stay is the best it could be. In short, we found this place to be a winner and are so happy we chose it.
My one disappointment was not with the resort at all but with the reef and sealife in the area. There was so much bleaching and damaged coral everywhere I snorkeled and dove, both offshore and from boats. Within that context, the snorkeling directly from shore is pretty good (and I do love being able to snorkel right from shore) - we saw squid, lionfish, and a vast array of small reef fish, and the coral is varied and no more damaged than most of the other nearby locations I saw. Because we only stayed at this one site on the Yasawas, I can't compare this reef with the others. And lots of people were impressed by both fish and coral - it all depends on what one has seen elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underwaterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay (wish it could have been longer) at the Blue Lagoon Beach Resort. Lovely clean modern rooms, great food, and lovely hosts. Throw in the great snorkelling, the must do village visit, the cave trip - what more could your want from a trip up into the top of the Yasawa Islands??!!
We travelled with another family, and had 6 kids ranging from 16 - 22 with us. Not one of us could say one bad thing about this resort, apart from the fact that we were not ready to return back to the mainland! Make sure your stay is a 3 night minimum, as you are heading up to the top of the Yasawas!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaniewellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at Blue Lagoon for 4 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. Highlights were the quality of the water, beach, snorkelling, and especially the Fijian staff, who were marvellous, and Chris and Kylie, who manage the resort. The resort is still in the building phase, and our room was the last of the un-renovated rooms. The bathroom was tired, but we slept reasonably comfortably. It will now be renovated and will be fine. We saw the inside of a beach front villa, which looked great, and we would certainly have enjoyed the accommodation in one of these. The food was very good, considering the remoteness of the island, and we enjoyed every meal. The sand floor of the dining room worked very well, the bar was good, and the view fabulous. This central eating and drinking area is being extended and whilst this was disruptive, it didn't impact on the quality of our holiday. Overall - we'd definitely go back again. In fact this would be a first choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a great all-round resort on what is probably the best beach in the Yasawas. We stayed at Octopus, Barefoot and Nanunya, and took the Yasawas Flyer all the way up and down the chain.

Nowhere else is the sand quite so white. Nowhere else is the sea quite so turquoise. You can swim at low tide too without having to clamber over shallow coral banks - quite unusual in the Yasawas and a big tick in the box for this place. The snorkelling is good too.

The island behind is just stunning as well, there are guided walks up to the hill behind the resort a couple of times a week, but you are free to walk by yourself (which, compared to Octopus where you are asked not to walk around the island without a guide is a great freedom). The walk took about 2 hours return and was fantastic. The views of the island and the lagoon were far better than I expected or had seen from images on the internet during research.

We had a beachside bure which was modern and immaculately done out - the outdoor bathroom being particularly special.

One thing that couples perhaps should be aware of is that this might not be the quietest/most romantic option - but of course it depends what you are looking for. The word is well and truly out about this place now, and so it is fairly busy and is one of two resorts right next to one another, meaning there is a fair amount of people wandering back and forth in front of the private bures (being located pretty much in the middle of the "action" near the boat drop-off point). Meal-times are around communal tables so no romantic dinners for two unless you pay quite a bit for the special seafood dinners etc (which seem to be placed on the beach in front of the main eating area). There was also some construction work during our stay right behind the private bures which of course was a bit of a disturbance.

In fairness, it is splitting hairs a bit - by no means is the beach/place overrun or noisy when compared to resorts worldwide, but for example at Nanunya you eat seperately and the place is a lot more peaceful with only 8 rooms available. Even at Octopus (whilst bigger than Blue Lagoon) the private bures are set far enough down the beach to be pretty private and there are a few tables to eat seperately. At somewhere like Barefoot (whilst more than a notch down in terms of accomodation quality) you can get that castaway quiet feeling that isn't quite the case at Blue Lagoon.

But overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
This review was great! Because of it we have now dedicated a whole new planting stradegy to the end villa, where you are right, you do see a few people coming and going, making their way to the beach. We have now designed and will be putting in a very tropical looking screening that adds to your privacy in that area. Meanwhile the aim for the resort is that the gardens that we planned and planted only 8 months ago are definately on their way into providing the screening and privacy needed for each villa. This has already meant that 'passers by' use a different route.
The communal dining is definately a theme of the resort, which is encouraged most nites by the style of the meals served, an example been on table platters where we bring out up to 9 different dishes for curry nite - alittle harder to cater for with only tables of twos. But having said that, the construction of the new addition to the restaurant is now finally finished with more intimate style dining available at breakfast and lunch. We are also encouraging honeymooners and alike to use this area on nites where we are doing set 3 course menus. The option as mentioned above for the romantic seafood lobster dinners remain popular, at only $140 per couple including bubbles! With couples requesting to be somewhere near the restaurant to still hear the fijian string band - not to mention in the open where you get the full dipslay of the clearest starry nites across the pacific.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

What an amazing place this was!
We came from Octopus which was great but this place made Octopus look bad (in a good way:))
We stayed in a Bure right on the water, water which, by the way was calm as could be with a reef just steps from our front door! Great snorkeling and great relaxation!!
The staff/owners were great, the dog "Charlie" took us on a guided hike through the woods and along the beach....totally cool! Went on a cave exploration trip (highly recommended), visited a village. The food was great, rooms were really nice especially the bathroom....open air bathrooms were the coolest thing ever.
Just for fun i went and read the one bad review for this place, i hope that couple is enjoying their miserable life together. Seriously, complaining about no AC?? You are in Fiji man, that guy can't be serious:)
Anyway, this place was great, go experience it for yourself and stop reading reviews about it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrnafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacula Island
23.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.9 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
2.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
2.2 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Address: Nalova Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nacula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new stylish resort located on one of the best beaches in the Yasawas. Right in the middle of the blue lagoon region, the resort is located on a white sandy beach with all tide swimming. Dive shop, snorkeling and many activities. Open planned restaurant and bar with espresso bar and live music nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Beach Hotel Nacula Island
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort Fiji/Nacula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing