We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Break at Blue Lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Break at Blue Lagoon”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a week here which was just perfect. We stayed in a Palm Villa, big beautiful rain-shower open bathroom, beautifully appointed, lots of places to lay around and relax - just faultless. We also had a reserved cabana which was fantastic. The beach was better than the photos and the water was a delightful temperature. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The daily activities were lots of fun. The food was surprisingly good with many options for lunch and a different dinner each night we were there. We did take the seaplane to the island which ended up being a helicopter and it was fantastic. The island is just so beautiful, and it was a week in heaven that we needed. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so carefree and relaxing. I really can't fault the resort or staff, and would highly recommend the Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniC271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    222
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
330
619
158
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It was a very hot but beautiful ride on the Yasawa Flyer to the skiff that took us to Blue Lagoon Resort. The skiff was surprisingly packed considering we were one of the last resorts north. We were very surprised to see large throngs of tourists from mainland China. Where did all the Japanese go? Needless to say, check-in took quite a long time because there were surprisingly a lot of people in line. We were then awkwardly led along the beach by the beach bures and the restaurant to our room. It was lunch time so all eyes in the packed restaurant were on us. A bit annoying, really.

The bure was very authentic. They managed to make a small studio cottage grand by giving it super high Fijian ceilings. This was a good thing because it was 88F with humidity and there is NO air conditioning. AC is much needed during most of the year. But we still felt stifled by the heat, so we headed to lunch right before the restaurant closed. Had check-in not taken so long, we could have gotten to lunch before they ran out of items on the menu. The fish and chips were so-so, but that's pretty much all that they had left that sounded good on the menu. Not really our idea of a tropical lunch. But the next day we had better luck and the fish kokodo was good. We ordered it again the next day but were disappointed it tasted bland as if watered down. It was more soupy than it should have been from what we know of kokodo.

We were exhausted from the day of travel and it was so hot, we decided to recharge with a nap. And it would have been possible but there was constant noise and hammering going on. This was exactly the opposite true paradise we were welcomed to in the Cook Islands. Pretty inconsiderate of the owners if you ask me. If a place wants to remodel or update, they need to close the place during the slowlest month like February and do so so that it's not at the expense of paying tourists who travel half way around the world!

The garden bures weren't good at all because from morning til night, guests and staff are walking right in front of your bure. So even though there are hammocks you won't get peace nor quiet except for the rare 10 minutes here and there. There is a bench on the little porch but it's small and not comfortable for two people to relax on and have a drink and conversation because you're sitting up straight like a student in a class. The worst thing about getting a garden bure is that there are about 6 chaise lounges on the beach for 15 garden bures so do the math and see what your chances of getting a chair on the beach is after 10AM. They because available only after the sun goes down because those six people hog it all day long(they need to put a time limit so others can use the "resort amenities" ) but then there's the constraint of a tight dinner timeline....Dinner was better some nights than others. The menu was so repetitive towards the end of our stay we just ate the ho-hum food and bolted just to get some privacy. With no AC and the weather being so hot, one has to open up the plantation blinds and hope there's a little breeze. But again, there goes the privacy.

There was a big push for paid activities at the resort and we partook in the village visit. It was charming but sad to see how very poor the locals are. The hike up the hill with Niko was rewarded with awesome views. Bring plenty of water and sun protection. Others went fishing and were happy with the fish they caught or the fun they had. The international crab race was just goofy fun - mostly for all the kids there. And there were a LOT of them. But what bumped this review up from 2-stars was the snorkeling though it got quite crowded sometimes where you bump into clumps of people in the water.

What really didn't leave us with a good impression of the resort was that, unfortunately, true to reviews by previous guests, they overcharged us by vast amounts too!! Really, is it that hard? You're an all-inclusive resort. We partook in less than 2 paid activities. Not hard. The stress of trying to get our bill corrected before our departure transportation left without us made us decide to not return on our next visit to Fiji.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our stay was great fun and enhanced by the interesting mix of young and retired travellers and families from all across the globe. The super menus and food must be a hot contender for the best in Fiji. The attractive location, lovely staff, overall atmosphere and included activities have left us with wonderful memories.

The cost was an issue though. Over £500 for 3 days for two with full board, in the rainy season and facing the back of another building was steep. Hire of equipment, trips and wifi were charged on top. The hard beds with hot synthetic mattresses did prevent us sleeping well.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are not going for beachfront then villas 14 and 10 seemed good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLPRtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Just soak up at the sun and relax in paradise among the best staff on earth. The Cave trip is amazing, the beach in front of the resort is just pristine and the meal plan offered by the resort is superb.

Room Tip: Inclusive or dormitórios são excelentes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThiagoBilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our 3rd time to Blue Lagoon and it was fantastic to see all our Fiji family again. Since our trip last year the pool has been built which is a great addition and there have been a few staff changes but it is still my favourite holiday destination
.Food and drinks are still great and always served with a smile/laugh by the fantastic food & beverage staff.
New dive manager Jeff is brilliant as with all the dive team and boatcrews who are a real pleasure to be with. Shark Dive was far better than previous years as more bulls coming in now and a lot more active than past years,I would say more exciting than Beqa shark dive.
Rooms are still lovely and kept very clean daily.
Love sitting with the Band Kimoo,Rocky,Ben and knox around the kava bowl listening to them play and waiting for TAKI .
New managers Phil & Antea are really nice/friendly, and invited us to have dinner with them & the owners Joe& Nicole one night.
Helicopter ride back to Nadi was great if budget allows,or seaplane cheaper& just as good.
The only downside is waiting another year till we return again to see our BLBR family.
On checkout try to leave something in the gratuity box in office as this money goes to all blbr staff
at xmas time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The beach! And the water! Just like in every photo! You might think the are photophopped, but they aren't!

They've got something for everone. They have nannies and activities for the kids so the parents can relax. Romantic for couples anyway. Good organised and fun activities every day!

Nice to enjoy for travellers but after 10pm there is nothing happening so for backpackers a couple days might be enough but a must-see are the caves. This is more like a relaxing holiday than adventure & party.

--------------------
ROOM: dorm
clean and enough space, A/C, but take earplugs, gets cleaned every day!
Shared bathrooms ok.

--------------------
FOOD: menu changes every day, very good quality.

Breakfast buffet (if you are a breakfast lover you won't be satisfied here):
++ eggs how you like them!!!
++ fresh fruit
-- no bread, just toast
-- no good cheese/ham
-- this is more a sweet breakfast with jam, pacakes and muffins

Lunch a la carte (changing chef special every day):
things like: burger, wrap, salad, pasta, fish, curry, kokoda, sandwich

Dinner either buffet or 3-course-meal (you can choose if you prefere vegeterian).

--------------------
WHAT TO REMEMBER

Bring cash!!!!! Of course they don't have an ATM but still you can buy nice souveniers from the locals or donate money to the church if you visit a church service.

When you leave: check you bill! A friend was overcharged by $40 and my boyfriend and I were overcharged by more than $100! How could that have happend?

And last but not least: If you go there, remember: this is a resort built on an island far off. It's amazing what they built there for us:
- Toilets & Showers + sewage system!
- Garbage burning place!
- Laundry for all the sheets, towls and guests personal laundry.
- Restaurant with equipment to cook for 100 guests 3 meals a day!
This is both: amazing and disturbing but with these conditions it's just amazing and remarkable how good the offer and the service is!

Room Tip: They are all clean and quiet so it really doesn't matter. I think it doesn't matter if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leaboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Blue Lagoon for a week as a part of our honeymoon. We found the resort to be well ran, clean, accommodating, sustainable, and relaxing. The resort sits on a quiet beach with a reef that is fantastic to snorkel. It had the right mixture of size, good food, friendly staff, and incredible location that made it ideal for us. Also, the resort engages the local villages which made for a nice cultural interface with local Fijian culture and people. The local island staff were friendly and seemed to like working at Blue Lagoon. Food was better than expected. Most of all it was a incredible relaxing week. If you go to Blue Lagoon - must dos: Village Trip, Cave Trip, Snorkel, Relax, talk with the local staff - you'll learn more about Fiji.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden villa and found the accommodations good. The beach villa's have their one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoSeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and for travelling so far to reach our remote resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the amazing hospitality of our dedicated team from the surrounding villages. We wanted to say a thank you to you both for taking the time to get to know the team and learn more about the island and Fiji. Vinaka Vaka levu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacula Island
23.9 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.9 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
2.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
21.7 mi away
Barefoot Manta Island
Barefoot Manta Island
#1 of 1 in Drawaqa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Address: Nalova Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nacula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new stylish resort located on one of the best beaches in the Yasawas. Right in the middle of the blue lagoon region, the resort is located on a white sandy beach with all tide swimming. Dive shop, snorkeling and many activities. Open planned restaurant and bar with espresso bar and live music nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Lagoon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Beach Hotel Nacula Island
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort Fiji/Nacula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing