We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed her for 2 nights with my wife. We stayed in our own room with a double bed. It was a very simple room and all you really need in Fiji. A fan kept us cool at night. The food here was great and they had nice seating for 2 people which we liked.

There is a nice pool if you like that but I preferred to swim in the ocean. It has a great beach. The colors you can see while snorkeling are amazing. We went to a village tour one day and climbed up the mountains another day which gave us a great view. If I come back to these islands again I will stay here again. Price was also very reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: I was with my wife and on a budget so our own room with a shared bathroom and showers were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSage87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    219
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
329
618
158
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vitória
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

You can't go to Fiji and miss Blue Lagoon Beach Resort. Best food, best staff, best entertainment programs, best accommodations... you're gonna feel in a paradise and at home at the same time. Not to mention the wonderful island, stunning landscapes, unequaled nature. I do recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I travelled around various South Pacific islands - including a few in Fiji - as part of our honeymoon. Blue Lagoon Beach Resort was our last stop and because of many excellent reviews, we chose to stay at a beach front villa for five nights. Nacula Island was indeed gorgeous and beach with snorkelling was one of the very best we experienced during our trip. We wish we could praise also the resort and service, but unfortunately there were a few too many things that didn't feel right.

The main negative thing that set BLBR apart from all the other places we stayed at was the attitude of many of the employees. There was little of that friendly and welcoming feeling that we had gotten used to while visiting other islands and resorts. Many staff members were sluggish and simply "not there". It took us 40 minutes to rent our snorkelling gear the first day because the three staff members in the dive shop were constantly on the phone, interrupted by other people walking by and eventually not being able to find the right fin sizes for us (and finally suggesting to that we'd take a size smaller because "those would probably work just fine as well"...). Every time we returned to the dive shop, the experience was similar - we were either not noticed or handled like we were a bother.

It was also the same throughout the resort. At the restaurant we could spot two friendly employees throughtout our stay. The rest were clearly uninterested about the guests and their well-being. It was hard to catch their attention, they frequently forgot to bring things and often looked distressed. The same attitude came across also at the reception or even going on a hike. Our gude was mostly long ahead or behind of us, spending most of his time texting or on the phone - made us wonder why he joined us in the first place (he didn't tell us anything at all).

The ironic thing is that BLBR was the only place out of all the places that sent us a follow up email, asking for a Trip Advisor review because as per their email "we print each review and fill a scrap book for all our team to read and feel proud, they even take them home to show their families what a wonderful job they are doing..." According to our experience they need try and care a whole lot more to be proud of their job.

Some other things to mention:
- Beach front villas were simple, clean and with a lovely outdoor shower. We were surprised, however, that for the price we paid there was no air conditioning. The ceiling fan didn't help much, so we woke up frequently because of the heat (or mosquito bites; no mosquito nets were available either).
- Food was mostly good, but they had set dining times and if you didn't arrive early enough to secure one of the few two-people tables, you had to share a table with up to eight people. While we understand that some people enjoy dining with other travelers, we were on our honeymoon and preferred quiet, private dinners.
- They claim to have internet and charge for it, but you can't use it in your room. The only place it worked was next to the dive shop and reception, but also there is was extremely slow.
- The massage we had at Blue Lagoon was not good - way too much oil and it was more like light rubbing, but nothing compared to a good massage that we experienced on other islands & resorts.

We are sorry we can't give Blue Lagoon Beach Resort more than 3 stars. It might be a good place for those who stay at cheaper rooms/dorms, want to get to know other travelers and have no expectations for service & care. However, they need to do a much better job if they also want to accommodate those that come to BLBR paying for premium villas and looking for privacy and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_C17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for responding to our email requesting feedback. We require this more than anything to make sure that we are meeting our guests expectations, and in this case, we clearly have not. This is of great concern to us and we can assure you that your review has sparked an instant overview of the teams attitude at the resort. In the meantime, we are in the process of improving the internet and have some exciting weeks to come with hopefully what will be the right technology to launch this remote location into the cyber world with better access for all. What we cannot change though is the dining, whereby the resort promotes and offers communal dining with the 'odd' smaller tables when you feel like dining alone. This is only the case during the evenings at a set time for dinner, where as breakfast and lunch remain to be a stretched out occassion of over 2 hrs. The massage ladies are also destined for more training at local day spas where they will receive further introductions to more westernised practices, something quite different from the medicinal island ways. We are pleased that you enjoyed the lovely beach villas, the cleanliness and the outdoor showers, though we are sorry we were not aware that you would have preferred a mosquito net as this could have been provided in moments for you. The resort does feature 3 other villas that offer air con too in the event that you should ever return. We hopefully can show you how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited the Blue Lagoon Beach Resort in February 2014 and had a great stay. We stayed in a lodge room which suited us well (affordable, comfortable and clean).

The snorkeling out the front of the resort was amazing. Beautiful coral and a huge variety of fish. You could spend hours out there (which us along with many other guests did).

The food was amazing- compliments to Jay and the other staff in the kitchen! We were never hungry once the whole time we were there.

We did the cave tour, church service, bakery visit and some of the other free activities (I loved Teresia's weaving lesson!). We also hiked by ourselves up on the hills behind the resort at sunset which was great fun! What a view!

The staff at BLBR were very accommodating helping us arrange an early exit due to a tropical cyclone forecast. (Really disappointed to miss the village visit due to the bad weather, I hope the school supplied we brought along to donate to the school can still be passed on for us).

All-in-all a great stay and we hope to come back again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed 3 nights here and I did spent another 2 weeks on some other yasawas islands too, and after all I'd say Blue lagoon is the best of all. Great food, lovely staff, really comfy and clean dorm, lot of activities ( the game night was fun). You can feel really relax and peaceful on this island, suitable for family/couples/ solo as well!

Room Tip: Take the private boat from the resort to save the time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Many thanks to the wonderful resort managers and their reservation agents (a special shout-out to Kylie) for going above and beyond to enable my wife and I to make alternate arrangements to stay at the resort. Thanks!!! We'll see you in March!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you're like many visitors to Fiji, you land on the mainland and skip right to the islands. Sure there's some guilt about this – the real Fiji is on the mainland, but it's not pretty and it's not always friendly.

Meanwhile on the Yasawas, you have places like the Blue Lagoon Beach Resort. One moment of correction: while the name suggests that this resort is on the Blue Lagoon, it is fact *not* (-1 star for that). The resort itself is quite comfortable; and is essentially an all-inclusive minus drinks (the $89 fj meal plan is mandatory). Food is good to excellent, the construction and maintenance is well-taken care of.

If you're thinking about the Lodges, they share a large bathroom with the dorm. The Villas on the other hand are beautiful and spacious (and include your own private bathroom).

Regarding activities .. the beach is long, and swimmable at any tide level, and the water is really lovely. Other than that, the resort has a few small activities (with small nominal fees) such as village visits, sunset cruises, etc. I decided to do my PADI Open Water with Geoffery Koroi (the instructor) which was a real treat. At the end of the day, the highlight of BLBR for me was getting to know some of the staff; many of which are friendly without reservation or wanting something from you.

Room Tip: If you're debating between the Lodge rooms and Villa, the latter are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nunavut_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacula Island
23.9 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
5.9 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
2.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
21.7 mi away
Barefoot Manta Island
Barefoot Manta Island
#1 of 1 in Drawaqa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Address: Nalova Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nacula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new stylish resort located on one of the best beaches in the Yasawas. Right in the middle of the blue lagoon region, the resort is located on a white sandy beach with all tide swimming. Dive shop, snorkeling and many activities. Open planned restaurant and bar with espresso bar and live music nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Beach Hotel Nacula Island
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort Fiji/Nacula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing