We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”

Parco Grotta Cascata Varone
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm so glad we decided on a whim to visit this waterfall, it's truly magnificent! Take my advice and buy a cheap mac or bring your own as you will get soaked but it's all part of the fun. It's only 5 euros and you can stay as long as you like, marvelling at the tonnes of water rushing through the gorge. The plants and surrounding areas are well kept and the classical music playing on the loudspeakers is a nice touch. I love this place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mervalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    375
    186
    46
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dont miss this spectactular waterfall”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Dont miss this spectactular waterfall during your stay at Lake Garda. The area is beautifully maintained with flowers and various plants. The water cascading through the rocks is memorable

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In Riva at The Hotel Gabry.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The walk from the Gabry to the centre of town is about half an hour via the lakeside or if you are fit grab a free bicycle from the hotel its easy. The lakeside is covered by dedicated cycle routes that take you all over the area. (Maps and route planners free at reception) One place you must go to is just 3km from Riva Del Garda there is a Cave and Waterfall Park at Varone. It only takes about 30minutes to visit but is well worth this short stop and the entrance fee of 5 Euro. The lower cave allows the last part of the waterfall to be seen whilst the upper cave, some 40m higher allow views of the waterfall as it tumbles from high above over the cliff edge - a mesmerising sight with the rainbows it forms!
Wet gear protection would be advisable for all the spray and mist (esp for cameras) but its great place to cool off on a hot day. A little café and shop is also in the park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hcdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I guess you could go there for lunch and enjoy the cool waterfall during the heat of the day but I was advised it get's very busy. So we headed up there at 5pm after a day out on the lake. It was very quiet and we didn't feel rushed or penned in. Plenty of time to stroll through the gardens and when we went to the water fall we were the only people there. Perfect.

The waterfall itself is stunning and really worth going to see. I can't say I'd spend all day there, but for an hour or two it's a really lovely place to be. My 3 year old son was mesmerized by it and loved running into the spray.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great nature”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we stopped at the cascata on our way to lake Tenno. the waterfall is very impressive, but it felt very commercial, people stand at line to have pics, and one have only few seconds to take a look and get wet. there are "shoot-out" toilets on the way up, so dont count on it. i feel that the admission is too high for the overall value (it might suit better for older people)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank yu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco Grotta Cascata Varone also viewed

Tenno, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Parco Grotta Cascata Varone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing