We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Italian food”
Review of Osteria Eneo - CLOSED

Osteria Eneo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In Nizza Monferrato old town a recently refurbished osteria presents traditional dishes crafted from ingredients of the highest quality. The setting is comfortable, divided into two large dining rooms. The service front-of-house is friendly, the cellar stocks a vast selection of wines from the producers of Nizza DOCG, as well as numerous labels from the Monferrato, Langhe and Roero.
Tremolat, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian food”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A fabulous, relaxed evening with great food. The beef wellington (Italian equivalent) was perfect and the gnocchi - almost as good as mamma's! Will definately be back :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    66
    22
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Jazzy osteria serving excellent food and devine deserts”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this osteria twice during our stay in the neighbourhood of Nizza Monferatto. We were suggested this place by the owner of the B&B where we stayed and we were very happy we followed his suggestion.
The restaurant is a cosy place, which is run by a guy who is a great jazz fan. By the way, the restaurant organises every year a jazz happening which appears to be a fantastic small-scale music event. No surprise you get jazz music in the background.
The restaurant offers a very small choice of local dishes, but we had no difficulties in selecting a fantastic menu for dinner. The bollito misto is a great starter. The spaghettoni con sarde is an excellent pimo piatto. The osteria only offerstwo dishes as main course: coniglio and tagliata di vitello, both gorgeous dishes. The best is however yet to come: the deserts are absolutely divine! The sorbetto con cioccolatto is fantastic, but the tatin di ananas con crema di cocco really brings you in the seventh heaven! One of the best dolci I have ever eaten.
The restaurant also has a pretty good selection of excellent local wines.
The price/quality ratio is excellent: we ate both times for €50 to 55!
Excellent address!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik_Tervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok in a slow town”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

One get quite spoiled by traveling in Italy. So this restaurant might have rated higher in France than here. Good food but small wine list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tartiflette0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Accomplished cooking and great wine”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ate here one evening in May and despite being the only people in the restaurant we had a great meal. Its casual but refined and plays great music, the owners are really into jazz. Starters, primi and desserts and a bottle of wine for 40 euros. All very very good and a wonderful wine list with nothing more expensive than 35 euros. It should have been packed, but it was a Monday in May. Highly recommended. I am a chef and food writer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizza Monferrato, Italy
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent taste, good music, why don't return?
If you want surprise your palate enjoy "cipolla al sale"!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ned f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Eneo also viewed

Nizza Monferrato, Province of Asti
Nizza Monferrato, Province of Asti
 
Nizza Monferrato, Province of Asti
Nizza Monferrato, Province of Asti
 
Nizza Monferrato, Province of Asti
Nizza Monferrato, Province of Asti
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing