We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not much that makes this hotel stand out against the competition” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 6 Beau Vallon B&B and Inns
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not much that makes this hotel stand out against the competition”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Coco d'Or is more a middle-sized guest house than luxury hotel, especially given the size and quality of other hotels in Seychelles. It is clean, correct, and offers the basic amenities required of holiday accommodation. There is a small but clean pool, a restaurant with a good range of dishes and a bar, and rooms have satellite TV. However, it is a few minutes walk away from the beach and lacks atmosphere - in fact, it was virtually empty whilst we were there. The complimentary breakfast is basic and stops promptly at 10.00; in similar fashion sandwiches and other light meals disappear from the menu in the evenings, and the bar seems to close whenever the bar-lady feels tired and wants to go home. Frankly there are better-value establishments elsewhere in Beau Vallon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    15
    9
    17
See reviews for
12
27
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

The rooms are very obsolete, we felt like in a student hostel, it does not worth for value. The breakfast was poor quality. One pozotive thing that the staff was very helpful us to have a shower in a free room after checking out. In this hotel you will miss the Seychelles feeling.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anetta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beau Vallon hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hotel has a nice aesthetic appeal, very friendly staff and good service. The rooms are neat and clean and the hotel is located in teh best part of Beau Vallon with a great view of lovely green hills surrounding the property. The food was authentic and the portions sumptuous. The management was extremely cooperative and responsive to the guest's requests and needs. The place grows on you and gives you a homely atmosphere. Definitely a hotel where you get your value for money. The beautiful beau Vallon beach is just 2 minutes walk fromt he property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

I feel like I cant complain about this little hotel because we were sent here by Air Seychelles due to some unexpected problems with their scheduling resulting in an extra 3 days stay which of course was fully paid for by the operator.

I cant say this hotel was horrible because it was not. It was basic! Breakfast buffet was simple & sufficient. The rooms were ok, spacious enough for 2 however differed quite considerably from my dad's who was across the garden & seemed to be in the 'older' part of the hotel. We made use of the pool which was clean & great relief from the temps. We had some terribly noisy neighbours coming & going quite early & the way the entrances to the rooms work, its quite noisy so beware!!

If I were to say there was 1 single thing to complain about it was the service at reception. They didn't seem to know what was going on half the time & the waiting times were lengthly & quite irritating considering we had the beach calling out to us.

Bear in mind this hotel is a little walk to the beach - not far, but a pleasant walk. Our room did not have sea views so I cant comment.

I did check their rates & although slightly cheaper than other beachfront hotels, i would still have paid a little more for Beau Vallon Bay hotel for instance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

Over-priced, poor value, poor service. we had ants in the bathroom and ants in our bed. Wouldn't this place recommend to my worst enemy, addled food, slovenly service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussiaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

Never, in 30 years of international travel, have I been so dissatisfied that I left a hotel to find another. The Coco d'Or now holds that dubious distinction. Massively overpriced ($US265 per night), appallingly slow and indifferent service and so lacking in amenities to render it a joke, I spent four long days here before walking 100 metres down the street and finding another hotel offering service with a smile, a decent cup of coffee with breakfast and a functioning internet service for a mere $US100 per night!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hongkongmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

The service we received was first class. The staff responded to every query. The room was very spacious and well furnished, very clean and air conditioned. The atmosphere is relaxed. The hotel is within a short walk from Beau Vallon, the most popular beach on Mahe.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.3 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant
Address: St Louis Rd, beach of Beau Vallon | PO Box 526, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco d`Or Hotel And Restaurant
Coco D'Or Hotel & Restaurant Seychelles/Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing