We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another day in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just another day in paradise”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel. With the islands being so overwhelmingly beautiful, Coral Strand competes and encompasses the feel of the island without overcompensating or muting it. The atrium, restaurant and pool/lounge area are all built to be able to enjoy the island just as much as the amenities the hotel has to offer. After all, a trip to Seychelles shouldn't be spent cooped up in a room or surrounded by walls blocking the amazing views.

The staff was extremely helpful providing cool cloths upon arrival and setting us up in our room as soon as it was available. Since we arrived quite a few hours early, they were able to stow our bags, let us use the pool and dining facilities.

There is a little flea-market type bazaar that happens every Wednesday night right down the road from Coral Strand where many vendors set up and sell both authentic and commercialized trinkets and souvenirs. One thing I do highly recommend is souvenir shopping whenever the opportunity is there. A lot of businesses (especially the souvenir shop on the Coral Strand property) run on "island-time," so don't put it off until later.

We needed an extra pillow and blanket for our third person in the room even though we had made reservations for three. But as soon as we called the front desk, there was a knock on the door within 30 minutes with the fresh linens- no harm no foul.

The internet is pay by the hour/day but worked pretty well. During our travels around Europe and Africa we have just wanted to be able to get in contact with family, friends and loved ones back home. As military members, we can count these exotic port-visits as "vacation" but it is very important that we are able to "get connected" to our lives back home. The international differences in programming is always a bit hard to work around (for instance, my Apple products wouldn't connect to the internet, but my Toshiba lap top would). Again, probably nothing the hotel could help, but international travelers, just be prepared.

The view from Coral Strand is absolutely breath-taking. White sand, blue water, green island. I never knew sand could be so soft nor water so clear. They did everything to be able to bring the beauty of the island to the hotel, and amplify it.

I highly recommend this hotel for getaways and relaxation!

Room Tip: If you plan on staying for more than just a few days, I recommend getting a larger room. Even just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Maura

Thank you for your review and comments. Nice of you to describe the hotel as a place that fits so well into its surroundings allowing the beauty of Seychelles to shine through. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    572
    309
    116
    107
See reviews for
334
822
97
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Coral Strand is a cute and nice hotel on the amazing beach.Staff is very friendly and helpful, they are really trying to wow you.Hotel itself is renovated few years ago, its ok, nothing special, but for that amount of money its good and very clean.Internet is very very poor all around the hotel and they cant fix the connection.Around hotel there's noting much, few restaurants and resorts.It can be a bit boring though.No nightlife, no bars, everything is dying around 10 pm.Hotel offers its own boat trips for like 200e but you can always find this guys walking on the beach and offering the same thing much cheaper (we paid 50e per person). All together its nice because everything is nearby and the beach is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Sanjulina

Thank you for your review and comments, I will make a point of letting our staff whom we are so proud know. Seychelles is an island of tranquility but there are a few hot spots one can go to till early in the morning. (On your next trip I will show you). As for the excursions the hotel offers , these are run by professional third party companies that offer security, safety and comfort and would highly recommend.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I settled in seychelles together with my husband and my young son since May 2013. Before we had a house to rent, we temporarily stayed in that hotel.

The room was comfortable and restful, food was delicious, hygiene was impeccable and the staff in general was very friendly, especially Gina, a waitress from the restaurant of the hotel.

A great place to rest and for honeymooners!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Uma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Uma
Thank you for your comments. Happy to hear we assisted you for a temporary dwelling while finding your feet on this beautiful island. A few things have happened since then including the new CoralAsia sushi restaurant, nightly live music entertainment and a complete menu change in all our restaurants with the additional “7 flag nation” lunch menu. I invite and welcome you back to try out our delicious meals, hospitality and atmosphere

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced hotel. Food was great, the staff were friendly and polite. Hotel is near many amenities, including, shops, restaurants, car rentals, and bus station. Best beach in Mahe. I was there for 9 days, I will definitely go back there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Nima

Thank you for your comment regards to your recent stay with us. There is certainly a lot of “plus” points as to why so many of our guests and many repeaters choose the Coral Strand. Happy to hear the hotel provided a place for your holiday to be perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

we traveled in February 2013.Be sure that you will get the room you have booked for.the only inconvenient was that we asked and pay for a ocean view and they give us something else.in the end we obtain our room :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corny_Slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear necsoi_cornelia
Thank you for giving the hotel 5 “stars” even though you experienced a problem at check-in as a result of a system error. Your subject line states “everything was great”, which is exactly what the hotel is aiming to achieve from all our guests that stay with us. Ongoing service training, continuous updating of menus, additional staffing and value added extras is just some of the things we are doing to ensure our guests satisfaction.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nice hotel situated near the beau vallon beach. The staff were all polite and helpful and hardworking. The room was very clean and well decorated. The restaurants very good with lots of fruits and variety of foods.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Gina
Straight to the point on all matters that a traveler is looking for. Thank you
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is set in the centre of one of the most beautiful beaches on Mahe island. The beach is popular and offers parasailing and there were jetskis at times, but didn't feel crowded or spoiled. Occasionally locals would also approach to offer snorkelling trips.

The food in the main restaurant (buffet) was fresh and local, and the sushi was a particular highlight.

Staff were generally helpful and efficient and guest relations were particularly good.

The hotel rooms are clean simple and functional without being luxurious. Some of them are set inland a bit and only have views of the car park and mountain, but personally I don’t go to the Seychelles to stay in my room.

This hotel won’t suit all but given the price of hotels generally in the Seychelles, I think this one offers good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Strand S, General Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mundii
I could not have summed it up any better. Thank you for your comments that cover everything the hotel stands for especially your opinion of our staff that we are very proud of. The hotel does have the best location, provides a very comfortable stay and offers a variety of cuisines unmatched for the value. Our activity and entertainment program we run is proving to be extremely popular.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing