We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed in this absolutely one of its kind property in the Seychelles for a night,the service is impeccable,staff are more welcoming n ready to assist anytime,anywhere.Dominic n Stan(Romanian guy) both waiters are exceptionally professionals.they gems...look service attention to details n always there on time when need be.
Wow the rooms it's worth it perfect ,clean variety of tv channels at your disposal....amazing really.perfect place you won't regret spending till your last penny.....for sure will be back for my honeymoon soon love from Russia..absolutely amazing

Room Tip: Was in room 216,sea view all yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    593
    320
    119
    108
See reviews for
350
859
98
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights at the end of November and after reading the reviews here I was a bit sceptical. Hotel has very small rooms, certainly not big enough for 2 people, but then we did not spend too much time in the room. Service was good, staff was friendly and helpful especially Faouzi from guest relations and Sharif and others from security. Internet was charged at £40 per 7 days which is a bit excessive! Also, turn down service is available, but only if you request it at the time of booking. Location of the hotel is absolutely superb and it certainly makes up for any little inconveniences you may have in the hotel. It’s right on the beautiful white sand beach which is very clean and the water is amazing. Despite everything I would recommend this hotel just because you cannot find a better location in Seychelles.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankalp K, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Many thanks for the review of the hotel this enables us to improve our services where ever required.Also the internet is chargeable in the hotel because we are a outsourced service for internet service to enhance guest service in terms of communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a great hotel offering good value for money.Staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfast is outstanding and there is a huge variety. We where here 2 times in a row and we had an awesome exprience. Thank you FAOUZI . You did an amazing Job, you where always there when needed you.

Greetings from INDIA. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived for the overnight stay before flying back to the UK, the outside is a building site with the road being dug up and no pavements to safely walk on. On being shown the room, allegedly an ocean view, it was a farce as the room was facing the pool. Definitely compact and no space to spread out in any way. The window/ door was cracked and well hidden behind the curtain, there was literally no sound proofing as the noise from the bar was really annoying never mind the general noise in the pool area.

We decided to have evening meal there as we were scheduled for a very early departure, what a mistake, it was the fisherman's buffet night, horrendously overpriced, totally bland and tasteless, the service was reasonable but that was all. We booked an early morning cal ( 0415 for 0445 breakfast) no call but hey ho no problem as I had my own alarm set. We checked out and went for breakfast or what was supposed to be promised early breakfast for about 10 guests. It consisted of bread/toast , spam and sliced grapefruit and that was it. So no breakfast of value or taste !!!!. Our transport arrived and breakfast was still in the process of being laid out, with the early start and ready to depart it was a pleasure to leave the place. I did take photographs to send to our travel agent and back up my comments. The noise aspect did stop by 2230 which allowed us a reasonably quiet night, sure that was the only bonus. I did read a previous review that mentioned the gushing tap, we had the same problem, turn on the tap and drenched from the waist down and a large puddle on the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: Be firm if not happy with your allocation, complain when not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you can't protect yours guests to avoid injuries make warnings!!!
The Most terrible that happened with as 15min before transfer to airport ! (see CCTV record at 18/11/2013 around 19:40) at the overall seeview balcony above restaurant. there is only one stair but it very long and curved! So you got two level in one big premise.
And in the night lights you can see this stair than you go up too the balcony, but its invisible than you go back to the lobby because same color and the lights are feeble! My wife stumbled and fall down, she got injured! Why you dont marked this TRAP by yelow line???
Also you have got other dangerous places: Ocean deck bar, hanged sign its on the level of my eyes (I not a tall 185 cm only), Floor at the entry in the west side lift (zero level) steep descent and slick tiles!
We are in trouble and shocked now.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect! Directly on the beach, in the middle of Beau Vallon bay; An amazing place to watch the sub drop behind the horizon out to sea.
Considering that this is the Seychelles & nothing can be described as cheap, the hotel was good value, rooms are clean and functional and the hotel pool and grounds are well maintained. The hotels dining options are also good, particularly the Indian restaurant, breakfast however was fantastic; a buffet breakfast with a vast selection of hot and cold items, freshly baked pastries, fruits, juices, teas and coffee.

Within easy walking distance of the hotel, either along the beach or through lanes throughout Beau Vallon are a number of independent restaurants & shops.

The hotel staff, are fairly accomodating, and everyone is very pleasent, however i was a little dissapointed on check in, having paid a premium for a sea view room and recieving only a partial sea view (whilst on my tip toes). As I was diving everyday, I could live with this dissapointment.

Whilst this hotel may not be the most luxurious option in the Seychelles, it certainly has a fantastic location and offers a good standard of accommodation at a fair price.

It is also worth noting that the hotel does not have an on site dive centre. A number of nearby dive centres can be found throughout Beau Vallon. I used Underwater Divers

Room Tip: When booking the hotel there was an option to pay for a sea view room. When i checked in, from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UAE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I just stayed there and if it wasn't for the beautiful beach I would have left the second day..
The breakfast - if you are not early you won't find anything, the lady who is cooking the eggs unfriendly to solo woman travelling
Cleanliness is a word they even don't know how to spell. During all the time I stayed there my washbasin was not cleaned under my soap which never got replaced anyhow. I dropped a bottle on the floor, guess what, in the evening it still was there. The glass door from the restaurant to the kitchen was not cleaned once during my stay. It was full of greasy finger prints.
The staff friendly, well may be to the Russian guests, not to anyone else. Never you were greeted by the staff in the corridors or lobby. The only friendly ones are the security guards.
You want a nice vacation, not there, better take a tent and stay at the beach

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GermanEgyptfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing