We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value at a great location and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value at a great location and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice refurbished rooms especially the ones with sea view. Pool is kind of small but the beach is right in front of the hotel and very nice. Staff is very friendly and helpfull!! Good restaurant and should def. Book at least half board as there is not much else around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    444
    241
    87
    76
See reviews for
258
632
77
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are just finishing our 11 night stay in Coral Strand. It all started with a warm welcome from very friendly, polite and professionall staff and we enjoyed their care and attention throughout the whole stay. Thank you guys for making it so much relaxed and so much enjoyable.
The hotel itself is virtually on the beach. It's nice to relax on the Ocean Deck (pool area, bar and sunbeds) or around it on the beach, under the palms. Rooms are not too spacey but comfortable and apparently refurbished in the recent years. Variety of food is offered at breakfast which is served in the area directly facing the ocean. Additionally the hotel offers a wide choice of food in its restaurants. If you look for other restaurants, local flavour and food, Coral Strand has a perfect location in Beau Vallon. You can enjoy local barbecue, curries, palm wine, bonfires and Creolean music on Wednesdays or mingle with the locals on weekend days who meet at Beau Vallon beach to relax and party.
You can go canoeing, water skiing or jet scooter just nearby. However they do not offer windsurfing, kitesurfing or flyboarding. There are two dive centres on the same beach. We've been diving with Blue Sea Divers - great guys and experience again.
That's it - time for a great Pina Colada and good live music on the Ocean Deck.
Maja and Tomasz

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomasz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during a trip to the island in August.

Check-in was pleasant. You get asked to take a seat and a cocktail is brought for you whilst you wait and get checked in. Room was lovely with beautiful view. Ate at the bar outside a few times and the food was delicious especially the curry. But don't expect the food to be hot. It seems to take a while to get to the table from being ready. We had our starters and main courses delivered simultaneously on one occasion. Don't really want to be eating my soup and curry at the same time! The staff work at 2 paces: slow and slower, and your drinks orders will be taken and 20 minutes they will appear.

The indian restaurant at the hotel is definitely worth a visit aswell.

The live music is fantastic. Something different every night and very good artists.

The beach is amazing and one of only a few on the island where you can go in the sea in August because of the winds.

Overall very good. The service lets the place down otherwise I would have given a 5 star review.

The hotel is within easy walking of some great restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: try and get a beach front room. The view is looking straight over the beach and ocean, not building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onegetsabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I visited the Seychelles for a 7 day journey and I chose Coral Strand based on price and location. I can honestly say that after doing a lot of research and searching some other hotels in the Seychelles, this hotel offers the best price and best location.
Seychelles is pretty expensive, you would think that visiting local restaurants would be cheaper Coral Strand's prices are actually decent.

The place is excellent.It is the most beautiful beach on the island beau vallon is definitely the best.
The staff is also very good and helpful.
I spend those days relaxly...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lahiruprabodha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited the Seychelles for a 3 day break and we chose Coral Strand based on price. I can honestly say that after doing a lot of research and visiting some other hotels in the Seychelles, this hotel offers the best price and best location.
If you are not aware, Seychelles is pretty expensive, you would think that visiting local restaurants would be cheaper because locals visit them as well and they are not actually wealthy, that would be cheap. That is not the case. You will still pay Capri prices in a hut island environment.
So taking this into consideration Coral Strand's prices are actually decent.
The place is magical, just 10 steps. literally, from the pool area will take you to the most beautiful beach on the island. I think the second one would be the one in front of Constance Ephelia, but still beau vallon is definitely the best.
Some mixed feelings about the staff. Concierge, a Chinese gentleman, was no help at all, no rude or anything just did not really care to issue us with some information when we visited to ask him about some beaches and shop timings. Definitely not guest oriented. This been said, I noticed he did not act the same with another couple over breakfast, where he and 2 more of his colleagues were talking to them and booking tours. I guess hospitality goes hand in hand with how much money you are going to spend, or you are going to make.
Same feeling from the service staff, indifferent is the best word to describe their attitude.
On the contrary, back of the house staff were very friendly, engineering, housekeeping were always greeting us and asking if there is anything we need.
We had an Ocean view room, which should better be called pool view. Although the last room in the corridor, the room faces the pool rather than the ocean, and in front of us we had the roof from the pool bar area obscuring the view. If the window/ balcony was on the side where they had the TV, they would have one of the best views in the world. Badly designed.
I gave this hotel a 3* rating based on location, price and overall experience in Seychelles.
If I would have to rate it based on other properties that I have visited most likely it would get a 2*.
If you are planning to visit Seychelles and do not want to save money for a year, unless you have no issue, I suggest you stay here.
If not, you have so many other options that you can have the same or even more, food, beaches, friendly people, a lot cheaper. Philippines, Italy, Greece, Spain....

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool bar, as Karaoke nights are a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After 14 days sailing round the wonderful islands of Seychelles, my husband and I treated ourselves to a 3 night stay at the Coral Strand Hotel, Beau Vallon before the long journey back to Scotland. We were delighted by the warm welcome we received on our arrival and this warmth continued throughout our stay. We booked a seaview room and we were not disappointed; the beautiful white sands and glorious crashing waves of the Indian Ocean lying only 50 yards from the room, the pool and the Ocean Terrace Bar. I doubt we could have found a better hotel in such a prime position anywhere in the world. Most evenings we were graced by the most glorious sunsets accommpanied by amazing fruit bats flying high above the Takamaka trees which were a fabulous sight. Breakfast was fresh fruits, fresh bread and a hot buffet and served in the main colourful dining room which overlooked the sea. Lunch and dinner could also be taken here or out at the Ocean Terrace Bar, or The Mahek Indian Restaurant. All meals we ate at the hotel were excellent and thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel also boasts a lovely garden with three giant tortoises which you can feed and touch, very apt for here.
All in all an excellent hotel, very clean, well maintained and in a prime position with staff and management that made our stay perfect. Thanks to Mervin Appadu for his time and assistance, to Jean with her everlasting smile and to John for his chats about India, our other love.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and ask for a seaview. We were on the fourth floor which had the most amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here on numerous occasions while working in the Seychelles. I especially loved waking up in the mornings and enjoying the wonderful breakfast buffet while gazing over the calm waters of the Indian Ocean. The staff was always very friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
1.6 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
0.3 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing