We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday accomodation for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday accomodation for family”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked for the Carnival weekend from Feb 8 - 11 with our two children 7 and 4. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite Ocean View and we had an excellent experience the whole time. Arriving about 6 hrs late due airline delays, the Indian restaurant was able to cater for our meals at a late hour, meeting strict Orthodox diet regime and allowing food for the kids to be brought in from the other restaurant. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. The view was awesome, our room was big, clean and functional, reception arranged fishing trip and hire car at good rates, we loved the beach and pool, breakfast (inclusive) was varied and good quality, all in all great value for money. Checked out at 1000 but flight was at 1600, they allowed use of facilities after checkout and then provided a room to shower and prepare for flight at no extra cost, this is invaluable with small kids. My only suggestion for improvements would be to provide 24 hr room service and have a dedicated concierge to assist reception with dealing with enquiries. However the overall experience was excellent and we would definitely go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms get a lot of sea surf noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnarara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    572
    309
    116
    107
See reviews for
334
822
97
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice Hotel, friendly staff...decent rooms and close to some nice restaurants in a walk-able distance. Stayed for 2 nights, all went went except that the lift did not work the 2nd day and had difficulties getting baggage off down the stairs...otherwise nice place, will visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the pool or sea, else you will be on another planet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel location on a beautiful beach. The staff was terrific and very accommodating. They really made my stay enjoyable. Pool was clean and night entertainment was also pleasant at the bar. Breakfast buffet had a terrific selection. Hotel was within walking distance to casino, shopping and dive charter places.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csikim6374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I booked 9 days at the Coral Strand in Dec 2013 and already my first impression as we arrived at the hotel filled me with doubts. The reception was manned by one person only and is small and dingy. We were then shown to our "garden view room" by the hotel manager and when he proudly opened the curtains, the view was onto the hotel parking lot. We immediately asked for a new room which he said he would try and arrange for us the next day.
We were on half board and decided to go for dinner and were told in reception that the main dining room was booked out for the private function - the same happened the next evening - shocking.
After a lot of reminders we got another room, but as we lay down for a rest in the afternoon (at around 14h00) and were rudely awoken by very very loud music coming from the pool area that continued until late at night.
We went for dinner outside of the hotel and decided to move to another hotel rather than spoiling our holiday and we were even willing to forfeit the money already paid.
After lots of backwards and forwards on check-out the Guest Relationship Manager assisted us and offered us a refund. We were very grateful for this and suggested that they jack up their game a lot more in future.
One thing I must say though, the rooms are tiny, but have been refurbished and look good.

Not a good experience at all - we moved to the Berjaya Hotel on the same beach, it was so much better in all respects and cheaper as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Monikaboul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked trip to Seychelles in the agency, they shown me nice pictures and promised me a very good holiday in Coral Strand. Later at home I searched for other reviews and found out, that manager lied to me – so, it was my first thought. Last summer’s reviews made me nervous! Anyway I couldn’t change anything and I decided to receive everything I’ve deserved. ) Thanks God the real situations changed from the September’12. I suppose now they had grand opening. The pool is working, there are a lot of free lounges around it.
I had mountain and parking view, called “garden view”, peaceful and quiet choice. All room’s amenities are in conditions: TV, internet, bath with hot water, air conditioner. First few days wi-fi was very slow, but after that they made something and I could phone my friends with Skype, or even watch some videos from the web. Note: in rooms use ‘Onespeed’ wi-fi – no password needed.
Restaurant has aluminum tables and chairs – that’s not perfect, but the most important, that food was delicious! Especially cakes from the chef. Bar is ok, many different cocktails, nice ocean view.
The beach is amazing! Few days there was rainy weather, boring. But clouds are gone and became the absolutely perfect sunny weather! We have taken the ball from the towels-point close to the swimming pool, tried to play beach volley. But there was not much people searching for the beach activities, most of them are laying as a granny. :-)
Hotel’s guest relation is a very nice person. I forgot my bag in the taxi, she helped me to found it out next day! Thanks a lot once again!
They promote diving. I decided that I have not enough time for the certificate course, so I chosen snorkeling – trip was very fun!
The main idea is: you may read reviews, but trust only your own experience! Pleasure to visit Seychelles!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ambrozy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel late December 2012. Very accommodating and welcoming staff. My room had a fantastic view. Beach is within walking distance which is handy. Last but definitely not least, the food was amazing! I had a fabulous holiday. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer than 10 days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Cappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Location is great, right in the middle of Beau Vallon beach. Efficient and fast check in, though we were not offered any drinks on arrival... I had specifically requested for an accessible room as we were travelling with a baby, stroller, car seat etc... we were given a room on the second floor and at the other end of the hotel, would not be an issue had the elevator been working for our entire stay! When i asked the staff about the elevator, i was just given a 'not workin' but was not offered any help to carry my stroller up...
Food is good, like the couple of other places we tried on the beach (La plage & Baobab) though very expensive. They don't have any room service which we found very weird, since they are supposed to be a 4 stars...we asked to have ice delivered to our room and were requested to go and pick it up from the bar...? Internet was not working (reception and room) which was rather annoying! Room is ok, though the beds are very hard and the room is a tad small... If you are like me (a neat freak) then you will find it hard to settle in this room as there are no drawers, organizing space... Cleaning of the room was ok, though they did not even pick up dirty glasses, empty bottles of water etc... Late checkout to 9.00 pm (EK flight) possible for an extra 80 euros. Nice outside lounge / seating areas on the first floor though again lacking service. Overall stay pleasant but we did not feel we were in a 4 stars... If you can afford the extra, i would recommend the meridien fisherman cove, located on the same beach, 500 m away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
13.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing