We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location 2 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Certificate of Excellence
zambia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 star location 2 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a week here over New Year Eve and were spared the 'compulsory surcharge' for the New Year dinner which was pegged at an expensive Euro 110 each as we were on a bed and breakfast tariff. The main dining room is awful, like a school canteen, with bright orange and green steel chairs, very uncomfortable and whilst we were there we got bad weather with wind and rain so the windows were closed and the atmosphere stuffy. Once the windows are folded open you have a great view of the beach and ocean, with fresh air and if they could change the chairs and food and service this could be a fabulous place. The service was very, very slow made worse by a full hotel and it seemed many staff were off and they were understaffed, The rooms are not too bad, althought the air conditioning kept turning off, we stayed in a standard double which had views of the ocean and my kids were in the deluxe which was 2 rooms with an interleading door.
Good points:
*The hotel is in a prime position right on the beach and it is a beautiful beach with paragliding, jetskiing and wakeboarding next door, and scuba diving to the right.
*There are beach beds from the hotel on the beach and that is nice for comfort.
* Bedroom was clean and bed was ok.
* Staff are very friendly and relaxed.
*The Indian restaurant which is part of the hotel is good, when you eventually get served.
*The swimming pool is nice and it makes for a comfortable stay if you have young kids, alternating between the beach and pool.
*There are some nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, La Perle Noire was good.
Bad points;
*The main restaurant needs an overhaul, it could be so much better, but at the moment it lacks management.
*No drinks or food service from hotel on beach.
*If the weather is bad the water sports are closed and over New Year both the 1st and 2nd of January everything is closed as a public holiday.
*The staff could do with more training, again management.
*There is no taxi rank at the hotel and there were no cars available to hire, so we had to wait ages and ages for a taxi and there were very few 5 seater taxis available.
*Seychelles is very, very expensive for what you get and I would only stay here if you get a very good deal, which then makes the bad points easier to put up with!
*Overall restaurant prices seem very over inflated.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ZambiaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    396
    224
    81
    74
See reviews for
233
582
75
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We made the biggest mistake of our lives by booking this hotel.service is slow and despicable . Except for a few staff the rest are irritating and dumb.we were very a angry with this lady who walked right inside my room within 2 hrs of my checking in inspite of asking her to wait till i open the door a few times only to hand me a review sheet. What the hell. There is no such thing as room service. Even water is charges at exhorbitant rates of more than $15 per ltr and that too has to be taken from the bar near the pool and will not be served to ure room. The air condition either stops working or drips and guests are forced to check out at 10 am regardless of us not getting enough sleep inspite of the ac nt working for almost two hrs during mid night.Was wrongly charged more than $30 for drinks i never had.heck i dint even go to the bar and was asked to pay at 11 pm even though i was checking out the next day. Waited 4 hrs to be given a room. The hotel called a taxi for me but the bell boy didnt load the luggage cause he was busy chilling around so the cabbie hotel. What a pathetic experience.Please dont stay there and avoid mental trauma.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lavinhirani84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
203 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The best hotel on this particular beach (even though there is another 5 star hotel around). The beach in front of the hotel is great with waves most of the time to play. The hotel is average but not bad. Restaurant is not so great with iron chairs that remained you beach frond café. Food on the restaurant is plenty breakfast and dinner (costs €30/person)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Around mid December my family (myself, wife and 2 kids (6 and 11)) spent a week at the hotel.

Let me start on a positive (it goes downhill from there).
The location is magnificent. Beautiful views, swimming, beaches etc. The hotel cant take much credit for this apart from the people that put the hotel there in the 1st place.
But I cant fault the location.

Hotel
- Is very 70s (which was very boring architecture. Barely functional)
- It recently has had a revamp and if I room was finished it might have been passable. There were clearly unfinished tasks and missing furniture. Little things like the room safe was not bolted to the wall.
- Small positive - The suites were quite large

Sleep Quality
- Awful, awful. There was a function there the night we arrived. Loud music till 2am. Private function so we could not even have attended if we wanted to. Music from the poolside bar was loud and whilst it did not go on for too long each time it was still a pain

Service
- Poor. Staff not properly trained and seem unsupervised. I dont blame the staff here as they seemed to try but they were clearly missing a level of management

Restaurants
- Mahek. Indian restaurant in the hotel was good. The rest were poor to average and quite expensive
- Restaurants closer to hotel were better but still quite expensive. Scandanavian type prices.

Room Tip: Sea facing more beautiful but if you go to bed before 11 rather choose one far from reception and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCTSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've been happy with this hotel until I experienced super slow services. It took an 1 hour to check in, and it took 2 hours to get an rent car. To get draft beer, it took 2-30 min.
What make me mad was the guy around concierge. his job was organizing daily tour or renting a car for customers. When we first approached him, he only tried to book daily tour with tour agency for 85~100 Euros per person. We wanted to get a rent car to explore Mahe, but he said fuel in Mahe is very very expensive. So we went to daily tour first day. It took just 10 min for a car to pick us up. It was fast.
And we rented a car for the next day through him. He said there was no problem and the car would be at robby around 9 a.m. But you know what happend? Our car finally arrived at 11:00 a.m. without airconditioning!! He was so fast when he scheduled his daily tour, but he lied to us about a car like, the road was blocked. And the fuel is expensive. But if you put $20 you can go all the way around the island.
If you are very tolerate person with already scheduled rent car, you can use this hotel. Food is nice, and room is clean. But if you have limited time to stay in Mahe, you better use another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erangtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Upon reservation we paid extra to get a room overlooking the ocean (upper floor on request). We did get the upper floor (4th) but to view the ocean you had to get out on the balcony, stretch your neck and look to the left. To make things worse the AC didn't work. So, watch out for semi ocean view rooms at the price of ocean view. Besides,unlike all other hotels I know, Coral Strand is one hotel where the top floor is NOT recommended. The rooms there are smaller, the balcony is narrow, the door to the balcony is half size smaller than in the other rooms , the ceiling in the room is slanted and the balcony is under a large roof overhang. After several interventions and answers like all rooms are taken, this one is reserved the other just got occupied etc,etc we finally got the room we wanted on the next day..
To sum up the minuses :
-avoid the top floor especially in the south-west wing
-the waitresses in the beach bar should move much faster
-the air conditioner is badly needed in the main restaurant (the ceiling fans are to slow and useless). Good thing we didn't go All Inclusive as I saw people sweating over their meal there.
-the €110 p/p OBLIGATORY (!) New Year's Eve dinner is a rip-off. What happens if the guest wants to spend that evening elsewhere (or in bed) ? The prepaid dinner is thrown to the dogs ?
-the loud club disco music at the bar (there on some days) should be toned down. For those who can not live without loud music, I'm sure there is some disco/club there somewhere.
To sum up the pluses :
-in general the staff is polite, pleasant and tries to be helpful (at least to us)
-the location is great, right on the beach
-the food is good (hamburger almost like in the U.S.'s TGIF or Champion's)
-the live band was good and it should play there every day
I hope my impressions remain unchanged as I'm writing this at the beginning of our 2-weeks holiday stay .
So, hurry up and book this hotel before the Savoy Hotel complex opens up next door and overshadows Coral Strand. (avoid the top floor and make sure you get the REAL ocean view if that's what you paid for)

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor and get a REAL sea view if that's what you paid extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm at the lobby of the Coral Strand Hotel at this point, and I can't be able to write good reviews for the service they provide to us. My girlfriend and I have been staying here for 3 nights so far, and from the start of stay, they always have made us wait for at least an hour to get us in a room and rent a car (which took us wait for 2 hours!!). Everyone understand that time does very matter to tourists, however, they must be the only one who don't seem to understand about this at all. If you have a huge mind of understand-ability, I recommend of this hotel to you. If not, don't expect to have a wonderful vacation here at the Coral Strand Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear 'TommyKim'

Thank you very much for your feedback! You comments are closely studied and the proper measures will be taken to guarantee the best service of our hotel.

It is very important for us to have such an attentive feedback from our guests helping the management to see the whole picture of the operation that we care about! .

Please, believe us that one of our core standard is to cater each guests needs and give a more personalise service. As you have seen, we were still on soft opening with improvements to be done. However rest assured that we are on the right track seeing the numerous of good comments that we have got recently. We hope these incidents will not mar your impression of our hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to treat you with impeccable service, upon your next visit to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

With Sincere Regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
1.6 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
5.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
3.3 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#5 of 36 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 stars 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Property: Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The island's best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms. The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing