We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Nearby Hotels
$171
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savoy Resort & Spa(Beau Vallon)
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$868
$531
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$599
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clef des Iles(Mahe Island)
$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Guest House(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$751
$694
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romance Bungalows(Beau Vallon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,003)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveler rating
685
688
366
143
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
688
366
143
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushi restaurantbeau vallon beachocean viewexcellent locationbeautiful beachfront office managershower roomour honeymoonlive musicla plagemahe islandbreakfast and dinnerlate checkmain restaurantspecial thankshalf boardwater sports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,195 - 1,200 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Second time now have visited the beach bar for something to eat. I thought the first time I was just unfortunate with the service but today it was just as bad. The wait to be served was twenty minutes and then the order was wrong, one meal was missed completely and a large Seybrew is actually only three-quarters of a glass full. When asked if it could be topped up to a full glass the answer was a straight no. And that's just rude. Service during the meal was really bad as it was almost impossible to attract the attention of any member of staff. And it took three attempts and forty minutes to order dessert. All in all unacceptable service. My organisation use the hotel a lot for visiting staff and partners but we shall be using the Le Meridien from now on.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Garry966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear 'Gary966'

Thank you very much for your feedback! You comments are closely studied and the proper measures will be taken to guarantee the best service of our hotel.

It is very important for us to have such an attentive feedback from our guests helping the management to see the whole picture of the operation that we care about!

We will be glad to see you again and to be a place of stay for your staff and partners.

Thank you again for your time to share your comments with us!

Best Regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel, Seychelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Coral Strand Hotel on Mahe Island from the 17.11.2012 to the 23.11.2012 and i must say that i was amazed at the awesome szervice i got from the hotel staff. On arrival at 6h30 in the morning the reception ensured that i was checked into my room at 7h15 and note that check in times are only from 12. We were also given an ocean view room which we did not except. The rooms and toilet was neat and clean. Even tho the hotel was under renovation, every effort was being made to ensure that the guests were not inconvienced. The hotel is situated in a great location and one can find water sport right next door to the hotel. There are many restuarants and shops around the location of the hotel and one can get some great food outside the hotel. A very big thank you all the staff in the kitchen who made my birthday and anniversary on the 18.11.2012 a memorable one. Thank you to all staff for your kind hospitality and whilst my friends from other hotels were always moaning about their stay, i could proudly say that this hotel was worth the stay. I would recommend this hotel to family friends and travellers abroad.

Room Tip: I was in a standard ocean facing room and the views were awesome.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthAfricaSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

We are truly delighted to read from your review that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us. On a more positive note, we were happy that once you had settled in your new room, you had a lovely stay from thereon and nice to know that you all enjoyed the surprise organize by our staff for your birthday and anniversary. I am sure such beautiful comment from you will enhance their motivation.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share feedback on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotel to your dear ones. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

With Best Regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel, Seychelles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been preparing our trip for few months, following reviews of different hotels in Beau Vallon and in the south of main island.

I remember in August and September Coral Strand (advised by friends who stayed in 2010) was still having some work but providing great discounts. Still that time we had chosen another place to stay. Due to some changes at work we had to cancel the booking and in November – seeing a note that renovation is over we booked this one due to its very much reasonable price and perfect location.

We stayed 6 – 16 November, my friend joined me with her kid. We wouldn’t regret any minute! Location, beach, ocean, food, sunsets – all is simply perfect. Views are so stunning from each corner of the hotel – that only peevish losers can go and complain after, that there is slow service in the restaurant. You have come here to enjoy, to memorize, to breathe – not to sit with the stopwatch in order to ask for compensation.

They served early breakfast when we went to the sunrise hiking, they had some great bands playing and singing through the approaching dusk. We booked with breakfast only, but after checking out neighboring places to eat out for few day – came to the hotel and didn’t move further, here you are certain about quality and the price is better than in any other clean restaurant, plus you can eat in front of the ocean. There is a pizza and coke take away (100 m to the left) – if that is what you wish for during your tropical holiday. There is another restaurant few steps from the hotel – not bad, but more expensive, far from ocean and when the cocktail straw was dirty it spoiled my appetite.

One more thing to mention – we came prepared, we knew exactly what to visit, where to rent a car, and how much it costs. But I have noticed that friendly staff was explaining to others with maps about each view point ! these people really care you can see all beauties of their country. Smile to them and they will always smile in return (don’t forget - they are a bit shy islanders from the small country)

To cut the story short – we loved the place, we recommend it and I plan to come back in Feb (when it gets too hard without the sunshine) and those who can’t share the good mood – should stay at home on the couch, not a single beauty of the country and neither

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank alice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel online. Your praise is most appreciated and encouraging for all of us.

We wish you a most joyous festive season ahead and a terrific start into a successful and healthy 2013.

Seasons greetings!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We knew the hotel was going to be still undergoing renovation but little got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. This hotel is right on the most wonderful beach in Mahe and offers a wonderful outlook to Silhouette island.

The staff were most helpful and could not do enough to make our stay the best possible.

The Indian restaurant on site is wonderful but you need to book to ensure a table.

Its not complete yet but what has been done to this hotel is very good, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: As the hotel was still being renovated we were upgraded to an 'Ocean View' room from a 'Garden View' room and I must say the room was fantastic and that view out to Silhouette island is wonderful.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your views online. We always do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you had a very pleasant stay. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

Wishing you and your family a memorable festive season and great start to an enriching 2013!

Kind regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel, Seychelles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently enjoyed a brief stay at this hotel. We arrived very early in the morning and the hotel strived to get us a room as soon as possible. They were still in soft opening and we got a very good value.

Rooms & Facilities: Our room had a very nice ocean view. There was a nice balcony with 2 teak chairs and table inside that you could put outside if you wanted. A nice desk area, flat screen TV, good space for luggage, good hanging space and storage for clothes, and a safe and refrigerator. The bathroom was small but adequate. Soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower (shampoo was very difficult to use), hand soap dispenser, tubes of body lotion, and string hanger for wet items. There was only one sink, but there was adequate storage space for all our toiletries. Wifi signal was not too strong. Pool was beautiful. There was a shower on the pool deck. Adequate lounge chairs on the beach, but limited shade - under a building overhang and under a tree only. At the pool, there was only one umbrella with 4 chairs under it. The rest of the umbrellas were used for tables and chairs, but I saw someone moved one to their lounge chairs. Lack of shade could be a problem if the pool area and beach are full; it rained most of the time we were there so this was hard for us to judge. The beach is spectacular, as others have noted.

Reception: The bulk of the fine tuning is needed here. There seemed to be inadequate help. When our room was available, there was no one to help with the luggage. Only one person was at the desk and she was struggling to keep up with people demanding rooms. The elevator by the lobby was not operational. Someone from the back office (I think it was a local tour operator) showed us to another elevator and our room. We received only one voucher for towels, so we had to make a trip back to reception later in the day so that we could each have a towel. At dinner that night we discovered we had been listed as BB and not HB. Another trip to reception to fix this. We stopped at reception to ask if the water was safe to drink and were told that 2 bottles were provided every day in the refrigerator. The second day we didn't receive any water. We saw Housekeeping and she said you had to ask at reception for additional water after the first day. This was weird. Housekeeping came back a few minutes later and gave us 2 bottles so we never investigated further.

Food: Good selection at breakfast. There was a buffet our first night and there was entertainment and a good selection of items. The chairs in the dining room are metal and not comfortable for any length of time. No atmosphere for dinner. The second night we ate in the Indian restaurant. I ate the Indian food and ordered whatever I wanted off the menu. The food was delicious. My BF does not eat Indian food so he received a HB menu to order from. There were only 4 items (beef, fish, chicken and something else) on it. None of the choices interested me. This is a rip off and not disclosed on the website when you book HB. In fact, I am wondering if you are even allowed to eat in the Indian restaurant or if this was a fortunate mistake for me. I could not imagine eating off the HB dinner menu 2 nights in a row. Luckily we had the buffet the first night and only stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to the location of the hotel, cleanliness and features of our room. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues as you mentioned regarding of the training of our reception staff, more varieties of the HB menus and more umbrellas on the pool deck.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews