We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was nice vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bord Mer Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bord Mer Villa
Ranked #2 of 7 Beau Vallon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tarnowskie Góry, Polska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“it was nice vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

great place for stay, nice and clean, near wonderful beach and 'boat house' restaurant serving Creole buffet. Good idea with breakfast on your own balcony. A little pity that they don't have internet access.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika_vol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
94
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

On our trip to Seychelles we chose to stay away from large 4 and 5 star hotels (that generally have higher prices than in other tropical countries and offer not very exciting options like "paid Wi-Fi"). Bord Mer Villa B&B was suggested to us by our tour agency (that operated on Seychelles through 7 Degrees South). It looked good on web site pictures, had great reviews and was one the least expensive offerings the tour company had. Our decision to book it was mainly based on convenient location in Beau Vallon close to Victoria, since we planned to get some tours around the islands instead of sitting all days on the beach. In brochures descriptions Beau Vallon has reputation of the most popular, frequented and crowded beach on the biggest island of Seychelles, so we did not expect to get a relaxed holiday there (the kind you can find on Praslin or La Digue, if the same brochures to be believed).

In reality it turned out to be quite the contrary of what travel books said:

1. Beau Vallon beach looked almost deserted in comparison to the beaches on Praslin or La Digue we saw during day trips. There are small crowds in southern parts of Beau Vallon beach where two or three large hotels are situated, but if you will try to calculate something like “tourists per square meter ratio” it will be almost zero (quite different from let’s say Anse Source d'Argent on La Digue). A wide stripe of the beach area close to where Bord Mer Villa is located looks particularly empty during morning and day hours. In the evening or during the weekend it’s a bit more populated (by both tourists and Seychellois people who also look for some beach fun). Water in Beau Vallon is calm during southern hemisphere winter season (like this August) with trade winds blowing into the other side of Mahé island.

2. Bord Mer Villa B&B is located some 30 meters from the beach. The hotel consist of four buildings, two floors each, set in semicircle facing the road. The hotel is hidden from the beach behind Boat House restaurant (next building along the road). This gives you a sense of privacy and isolation when you sit in a chair on a porch or a balcony. Even on wednesdays (“bazaar day”) it all is very quiet there. During evenings only occasional smells of creole buffet dinner from Boat House remind you that some fun and activity happen not far away. If you are not aficionado of buffet dinners the smell of it may be enough and you can get some fish or seafood in relaxed atmosphere of La Plage restaurant across the road. Or you may choose to have a pizza or a lasagne in one of two pizzerias few meters farther. Breakfast in Bord Mer Villa consists of eggs (various styles), toasts, pancakes, fruits, jam, etc. It’s served by smiling hotel ladies while you enjoy glimpses of morning sun sitting on a porch (or balcony of the second floor).

3. Rooms are quite large (about 8x8 meters) and contain all needed furniture. Bathroom and kitchen area are spacious, there is a big fridge, microwave, kettle, etc. There are even TV and air conditioner in the room (do not know why anyone may need such things in a spectacular country with all year temperature in range of 24-28 C). To get food and supplies for the fridge there are small shops along the beach or in the middle of Beau Vallon (near the Police Station and ATM machines) that have more choice.

4. Anse Major that you may see on pictures on Bord Mer Villa’s web site is rather in 2 hours than 45 minutes walk from the hotel. You can probably get there in one hour if you will take Bel Ombre bus (from a stop beside Police Station, on Sundays you should check the timetable first). The trail goes up and down winding around rocks with occasional glimpses of the ocean below. A good hiking and sightseeing trip for a day. The beach itself may be a bit crowded (compared to much larger Beau Vallon) with some fishermen excursions stopping there for a picnic.

5. Small and cozy B&B have just one limitation: there are only 9 rooms and check-in/check-out are strictly 12 and 10 o’clock. If you arrive early or departure later you may leave your luggage in reception area (under watchful eyes of the hotel manager) and take a stroll around Beau Vallon beach or go to some short excursion. Our departure flight was in late evening, so we spent few hours after hotel check-out in Victoria with its Botanic Garden (we deliberately skipped it on our trips in the previous days). Then we took one last dip into the ocean before bus came to pick us up, Bord Mer Villa has a shower and “public tiolet” you can use to change into dry clothes after a swim.

This was a great stay on Seychelles (and probably we will prefer smaller b&b/self-catering private hotel types over large and impersonal 4-5 stars resorts from now on)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grigori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Well situated, about 3 mins walk from the famous beach of Beau vallon, this is a fantastic place where the managers make you feel at home.
All the staff were really great and helpful. The position is perfect, just a few step from the best beach in Mahe and from a few restaurants and pizzerias. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bord Mer Villa is a great wee gem located a few metres from a gorgeous beach. The location is excellent for beaches, bus service, grocery shops, and restaurant/bars which are reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly and courteous. The owner, Farady, is a real sweetie and was extremely helpful. We ended up staying a night on Praslin island in Farady's "Frangipalm Bungalow" - a home away from home. Both villas are reasonably priced and very clean and comfortable. I can thoroughly recommend staying at both. Thank you Farady!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a wedk at the bord mer sit my family.
No disappointment. The hotel is small but nice, quiet and very clean. All the staff were really great and helpful. The position is perfect, just a few step from the best beach in mahe and from a few restaurants and pizzerias with resonable prices (just a few exceptions).
We certainly come back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidaz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

we stayed at bord mer for 5 nights. The location is superb, just across the road from the beau vallon beach. Breakfast was well prepared and adequate(fruits/cheese/eggs/toast/coffe/tea)
The rooms are adequately furnished and the cleaning service was good. Aircon and bathroom were good.We cooked two meals in the fit for purpose kitchenette. There are a few good grocery stores within walking distance for supplies.


In a luxury destination with crazy prices, Bord mer offers good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

excellent location and offers great value are the key USP of Bor Me. We stayed in Bor Me for 3 nights in the month of March and would definitely recommend this to any travellor seeking value and great 'home like' service.

Room Tip: The hotel doesnt stock water bottles. You would have to buy it from any convenience store nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niladri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beau Vallon
0.3 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.5 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.1 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#5 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clef des Iles
Clef des Iles
#17 of 36 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
1.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bord Mer Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bord Mer Villa

Property: Bord Mer Villa
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Bord Mer Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bord Mer Villa Hotel Beau Vallon
Bord Mer Villa Seychelles/Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing