We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long and excellent climb”
Review of Pico Do Fogo

Pico Do Fogo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A long and excellent climb”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Leave early, around 6am. Take your time and climb this volcano to the top and be ready to be stunned by this particular beauty! And have fun coming down - and be prepared to be mighty dirty at the end of it but having had a great time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Metravellingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    16
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fogo”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would recommend a visit to the beautiful Island of Fogo for anyone who visits Cape Verde!
You can visit the crater in just one day, and have lunch right inside :D
If possible I would say stay here for 2 days so the rest of the Island can be seen, something we didn't get to do as we went on the morning and came back on the evening... and although I couldn't say weather or not the rest of the Island is any good, I can say that it was definitely something you will probably never do again!!
Oh and pick up some of the red wine and "Fire Water", it's fab, and can't be bought outside of Cape Verde currently.... though if someone knows where I can get some from then let me know :D :D

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mharwood89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely place. Having lunch in the crater of a live volcano was amazing and the food was simple but lovely.
Some great photo opportunities a really unique experience.

Helpful?
4 Thank Hiking4fun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“day trip with thompsons to fogo”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

absolutley amazing to do this trip booked it with thompsons before we went on holiday but its cheaper to book it when u have the thompsons meetng when you arrive, plane to the island was good got free water, the volcano itsself is amazing, takes 2 hours to get up there but to have lunch in the volcano was amazing everyone was friendly the children to try and sell you things that are made out of volcanic rock,
its a must!!!!
had the best day here out of my whole holiday
views are amazing when your above the clouds

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Breathtaking in every sense of the word!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was with a French group and we had a local guide named Carlos. He was excellent, knowing exactly how to pace the group because otherwise we'd have been quite spread out. One must be in fairly good shape to do this climb, although it is quite accessible. the most important thing is to go at your own rhythm and take the time you need to catch your breath. Some areas are slippery and for every step you take you often take another half step backwards. This takes up extra energy. It took us just under 3.5 hours to reach the summit at 2800m, leaving from the village below which is at 1700m. Some may be able to do the climb much quicker. I was thankful we left at dawn in order to avoid the heat. We had a clear day with no clouds or fog whatsoever. Go equipped, bring water, food, a hat and sunscreen. The views from the summit are breathtaking. There is a bit of smoke visible and a slight smell of sulpher. Going back down the summit can be dangerous in the rocky section so take extra care. One member of our group took a very nasty spill and cut up her face, both arms and legs. Once on the black volcanic "sand" part you can let loose and tear down the mountain at full speed. This run back down is unforgettable and so rewarding after the climb up. But be prepared for the dust! Protect your cameras! Wearing long pants or gaiters can help otherwise your boots will be full of rocks and sand since you pretty much sink to your calves while running down. Fogo was the absolute highlight on this trip to Cabo Verde. If you love intense hiking don't miss the island of Santo Antao. Equally breathtaking!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pico Do Fogo also viewed

Santo Antao, Cape Verde
 
Murdeira, Ilha do Sal
Boa Vista, Cape Verde
 

Been to Pico Do Fogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing