We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boavista Social Club

Boavista Social Club
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Sal Rei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Beach Club and Cape Verdean Fusion Restaurant with music
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Slightly on the expensive side
for lunch but well worth it for the fantastic location on Estoril beach and the great ambience. The cocktails are fantastic and reasonably priced and the location is fantastic - love the white washed day beds on the beach! Simply stunning :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen_3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Chicken curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We called in to the Social club on a trip into Sal Rei and decided to go back after looking around for something to eat. We decided on the Chicken Curry and it was fantastic. The staff were really friendly and they arranged a free taxi to take us back to our hotel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best beach food and friendly bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We found the SC to be far friendlier than it's neighbour the tortuga and without doubt a more impressive menu. We has lunch tapas of calamari, serra balls and fish/chicken skewers which were delicious. The wooden loungers aren't adjustable but the sprung beds are great for lazing on.
Cocktail menu is impressive with some truly interesting ones like the BOa Konstrictor. I did make the mistake of having a few too many the night before travelling home and I can vouch for the potency.
There is a new young management team behind the bar who are working hard to make the place a success with things like happy hours and volleyball touranments (that is going to be interesting in the wind) so I wish them the best of luck. apparently as we go into summer it is the low season in Cape verde so party night entertainment is a little harder to come by and indeed it was very quiet over easter week..
This place is very much an expat/international bar and english is spoken so go enjoy. I have to knock one star off the score because the straws they use in their cocktails kept getting clogged by the crushed fruit in the bottom of the glasses though with hindsight that was probably no bad thing because it stopped me drinking even more!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Volvo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Best place to party or relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I've been in Boa Vista twice and visited Social Club both times.
In the day it's very nice, you can relax on the beach, drink a cocktail and order lunch.
At night the management organises great parties, the atmosphere is good, there are people from all different nationalities and nice cocktails.

If you go to Boa Vista, don't hesitate to spend a day at the Social Club. You will always enjoy your time there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalieftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I 'll be back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hi, just returned for a Cape Verdean (Cabo Verde) week in Boa Vista and had a great time in Social Club, Sal Rei.

There are four beach clubs gathered and Social Club is the right one nearest to Sal Rei (the capital ;-) or the left one if you arrive from the beach.

There is a new management since 1 December and now Jason, Emilie and their friendly staff are running this paradise beach club.

I was here a few years before and didn’t hesitate to return. Jason, a curly headed South African, managed before a cocktail bar in London and is now making the best cocktails of the island.

The Mochito and the Baby Blue dream are unbelievable and irresistible. Assisted by his lovely girlfriend Emilie, there is always a mix of British, Belgian, Dutch, Cape Verdean, German, and other European pleasure seekers.

During the day, Social Club is a chilly beach club and later on it becomes a great bar, where everybody talks to everybody in a nice mix of all international languages.

Interesting are the special evenings were I had on Friday a great big tasty lobster. Cooked like a love it, a grilled and juicy, tasteful lobster, absolutely not dry, squeaky and overdone. Tip: ask for the olive oil bottles with garlic, peppers, basil, dried tomato,…

After that there was ‘African fire night’ where about ten Africans drummed the djembé combined with real fire dances. Spontaneously all guests started to dance and the ambiance was superb.

Social Club is a great place for couch surfers, backpackers, sunbathers with or without children, (kite) surfers, or even resort tourists who like to escape their all-in formula in their resort and experience a safe and pleasant stay at a cape Verdean beach club with a great European influence and a charismatic South African host.

For me travelling means meeting peoples and visit authentic places, safe, kind, friendly, new, open minded, free, good music, local art and culture,… think global and act local.

It is also the best place for asking around what to do, where to eat or stay and where to go. When you arrive in Boa Vista airport, take a local taxi (about 10 euro) to Social Club and then your journey or adventure begins.

Therefore Social Club , after visiting about 70 countries and over 200 cities, it is one of my top three places on earth and of course I ‘LL BE BACK !! 

DO or DO NOT, there is no TRY !!

philippe

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boavista Social Club also viewed

 
Sal Rei, Boa Vista
 

Been to Boavista Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing