We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong time??”

Boavista Social Club
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Sal Rei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Beach Club and Cape Verdean Fusion Restaurant with music
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wrong time??”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited this place along with my wife and elderly in laws at about 7 o'clock one evening expecting to be taken to the centre of town by the taxi driver. From the beach the access is probably quite nice but from being dropped off in what seemed to be the middle of nowhere and in virtually pitch darkness it was in fact quite frightening and almost as if in a movie where the bad guys suddenly come out of hiding and "jump" you. Inside the "club" wasn't much better as there were a number of bench seats and tables in a circle around the bar of which in some cases the seats were nailed to the table??!!
The barman was pleasant enough but wasn't very obliging when we said the taxi was coming back at 9pm for us and told us he was shutting at 8 and therefore we either had to walk along the beach into town to get another taxi or wait in the wasteland where we had previously been dropped off for our taxi to come back.
This wasn't the evening we thought we had planned and wasn't very enjoyable therefore I would take the "social club" as a very much tongue in cheek title and definitely visit during the daytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonbabyblue, Manager at Boavista Social Club, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Good afternoon, I am very sorry to hear of your unfortunate time at Social Club.
I have just recently taken over management and I am happy to inform you we have lit the place up!
Improved the atmosphere and would be happy to stay the extra hour if one of our customers needed it.

I hope you would consider popping by the next time you plan a chilled out holiday in Boa Vista.

greetings from the Social Club Team
under new management
Jason Smuts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great afternoon”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great location beautiful beach and wonderful food , fish was to die for and great beer another wonderful day spent with giggling gecko

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fantastic sun beds, with a luxury "no stress" feeling during the day and a amazing night with the dance music and beautiful people dancing.
Very nice food at lunch... Love the buffet and also the curry and the grilled tuna!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catarina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for an ice cold beer!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really liked this place, it was friendly, charming, romantic and just so picturesque.

BBQ was great, would go here again for sure!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice bar on the beach front”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Another bar we stopped at whilst walking into Sal Rei.
Really relaxed and chilled atmosphere, the manager put on a BBQ whilst we were there so we had the option to buy some burgers or kebabs.
Good choice of drinks, really friendly staff and a little shop if you want to buy souvenirs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ben k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boavista Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Boavista Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing