We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, just fabulous”

The Peatcutters's Croft, Badrallach
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundonnell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peatcutters's Croft, Badrallach
Ranked #1 of 1 Dundonnell B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

An 8 mile track. Some of the most beautiful scenery in Scotland. A warm welcome. What more could you want?

My wife and I stayed here in July, and I have to say it was one of the best experiences of my life. Seori and Paulene and their family made us hugely welcome - even down to sitting with them to watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon. The food was first class, and the company better.

We will return, definitely, and I am happy to recommend it to anybody who wants to spend some time in an isolated and beautiful location.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HumptyDumptyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at The Peatcutter's Croft in May and had the most superb time. The weather wasn't always kind, but that didn't matter as the location is fabulous. Seori and Pauline and their family made us very welcome and we did not regret our decision to have dinner with them on 3 nights. A veritable feast and splendid conversation convering all manner of subjects. There are no cooking facitilites as part of the Croft, but we took our camp stove and brewed up outside quite happily. Seori heated our soup each day for the flask and we were able to keep perishables in their fridge. The Croft has a wood burner and the bathroom has a proper bath - a real treat after a day in the hills. We learned a lot about the practicalities of living in a remote area and it strengthened our plan to follow suit and quit the City & smoke in a few years. Here's hoping................in the meantime we would definitely like to stay at the Croft again and cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: There is a wood burner in the room which makes everything lovely and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxthecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Because of the popularity of Peatcutters Cottage we could only book one night, but we will be back again.

Sheori was welcoming and helpful as well as an excellent cook (his home made bread alone is worth the trip).
Fantastic location overlooking Little Loch Broom. Total peace and quiet, walks on the doorstep. We loved it. Diane took off one point for chickens waking her up but they didn't bother me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Considering how remote it feels in Badrallach it is pretty close to Inverness so we just hopped in the car with walking boots and mountain bikes for a weekend away. The croft is a unique mix of beautiful Scandinavian design and Scottish bothy! The bedroom annex has a Jotul stove which is fed with peat from the hills and historic quirkiness from the days pre-electric, I loved it all... The hosts are also wonderful, we ate with them both nights in their kitchen and sat up late chatting and were made to feel like old friends. The food was superb too.
The annex also has its own door and small porch which made coming and going with walking boots much easier, and hopefully next summer we will get back and can use it as a base to tackle a number of stunning mountains or swim in the sea lochs. Even in winter we had a lovely walk to Scoraig and caught a glimpse of otters and wild goats.
If you are not outdoorsy or if you don't like dogs/cats/chickens etc then this isn't the place for you but otherwise I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sirloin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a place! The croft has everything - ducks, hens, vegetables, home-made bread, a lovely pair of Border collies, friendly cats, sheep, unique views across Little Loch Broom to An Teallach and Dundonnel,and most important of all, a very welcoming family. The accommodation, an en suite living/bedroom, is tastefully decorated and furnished, Pauline and Seorie, together with their three beautiful and charming children, without being at all intrusive, really do make you feel part of the family.

The croft is adjacent to an estate owned by Sir Tim Rice, whose shepherd was spotted by us tending his flock and enjoying what we took to be a glass of cheeky Beaujolais. The Highlands never surprises!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Peatcutter's Croft in March and had a wonderful time. You reach the Croft via 8 miles of unmade road, and it nestles on the edge of a loch with stunning views across the water. Seori and Pauline made us so welcome, the home made food is delicious (it's well worth paying the extra for dinner and packed lunch - especially Seori's doorstep sandwiches made with home-made bread). The room is self-contained and includes a large comfortable double bed, a large, raised platform for children to sleep in and a stove for cold nights. There are books galore and a TV with digital channels. You have your own bathroom and your own front door and windows overlooking the loch. It's around an hour and half from Inverness Airport and you then have the North West Highlands on your doorstep. There's so much to see and experience and Peatcutters is the most welcoming B&B I've ever stayed in. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

45 minutes away from Ullapool, the last eight miles traversing a single track lane through some extraordinary vistas brings to you to one of the most unique Bed and Breakfast locations I've had the pleasure to visit. Here you are not just welcomed as if family by your hosts Pauline and Seori, you are for you visit quite literally a member of the family, and hopefully on your way to becoming life-long friends. Dinner and breakfast are served at the family dining table in the middle of the kitchen, where practically everything served was grown and/or raised on or nearby the croft property. Fresh is the word of the day when it comes to your meal. Whether it is the bread made the night before, or the eggs straight from the Croft's "happy" hens, or the veggies from the garden, you can be assure of a wholesome and delicious meal. The room is entirely self-contained and stylish with it's own en-suite facilities separate from the main house. This place is special, unique and designed for someone like me, who enjoys traveling off the beaten path, but looking for kind and happy hospitality when needed. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peatcutters's Croft, Badrallach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peatcutters's Croft, Badrallach

Address: Croft 12, Badrallach, Dundonnell IV23 2QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dundonnell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dundonnell
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing