We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castara Retreats
Nearby Hotels
$188
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
$134
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$190
$160
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
$288
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
$266
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$150
$107
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
416
37
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
37
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgefishcastara bayboat triphis wifethe kitchennewton georgemangoauthentic caribbeanbeautiful surroundingshired a carlocal cuisinemanagement teamincredible viewsliving roomcaribbean holidaylaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 467 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from a week at Castara Retreats and absolutely loved it. The accommodations are simple and lovely: our unit had a spectacular view of the bay, a terrace for morning coffee, a hammock for lounging and a bird feeder for enjoying the local wildlife. The trip to the beach was steep but worth every step; every evening we came back to pink and blue sunsets in the open-air bar and delicious cocktails to enjoy them by. Most nights we stayed to eat at the restaurant which we loved.

But the real reason to stay at Castara Retreats is the people. Kenny and Porridge and Jeannelle and Patricia and Claudio are warm welcoming and friendly. Porridge helped us book trips and brought us natural aloe for sunburns. (When a tree fell and blocked the road on our way back to the airport he quickly jumped out and helped chop and remove it.) Kenny is the heart of the bar and restaurant. He is engaging and funny and no request is unheeded; he also makes a mean drink. The food was consistently fresh and delicious. We ate sometimes alone and at others in impromptu groups with other guests.

We have traveled to numerous destinations in the Caribbean over the years and agree that this was the best vacation ever. This is a very special place.

Room Tip: Hummingbird I and II are on the quiet side and have beautiful views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited Castara Retreats as part of my friend's wedding party and were absolutely stunned by both the accommodation and the beauty of Casta.

Everything was to a high standard, very clean and beautifully laid out. The retreat was in local proximity to the beach and it was a complete dream to be so close to nature. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating.

As a Vegetarian, I have often found it difficult to find food options when travelling to new places but Kenny's kitchen at Castara Retreats had some special dishes prepared.

We would definitely recommend Castara Retreats as an incredibly romantic getaway and also great for families wanting some time out.

Thanks again to the Castara Retreats,

Room Tip: We stayed in The Studio room on the ground floor- the only one so far with the much-needed air conditioning unit! Beautiful open kitchen with beautiful sea views and local birds visiting the balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This lodge is build on a slope, overlooking the castara beach, the view is marvelous .two thumbs up.walk down to castara beach only 5 minutes away.this lodge has only few rooms.thats why it's very quiet.it has a small restaurant, only 7-8 tables.
A tiny parking lots good for 3 cars only.There are no reception area, hardly see any staffs around.once you settled down, if you have problem you need to call the manager to come back from outside and solve your problem ,it's really inconvenience.however their attitude is very nice,
Now come to the interior, this lodges are a wooden lodge, some with living room , some with patio,
All equipped with kitchen ,mosquito net, everything is very simple and basic, in my opinion it is not a comfortable place to stay,the worst part is that we are suffering serious mosquitos bite everyday,no air conditioning inside the lodge, so it is hot hot hot to sleep ( despite they provide a electrical fan)because you couldnt open the wndow,there will be lots of inserts flying in.i saw a very large gecko hidden inside the wardrobe .absolutely terrified me.
Overall , this lodge is not suitable for me,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edwinHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean W, Director of Sales at Castara Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

It’s taken me a few days to reflect on the review posted by our guest who stayed in Birdsong. We are always concerned on the rare occasions when someone is not happy, and we look closely into what has been said, and at any responsibility we have for the problems. Many of our clients tell us that Castara Retreats exceeds their expectations and so on occasions such as this we try to understand what occurred in order to see whether there are things we can learn and improve. On re-reading their report I find that I agree most with their final words “this lodge is not suitable for me”. My concern with their report is simply that our website is very clear that all of the things that they were unhappy about are the very things that we tell people that we do not provide, and are not part of our ethos. I’m truly sorry that they were not happy, and can only believe that they did not read our website before making their reservation. We are really proud of the open style of our accommodations that are designed to optimise our enjoyment of the surrounding natural environment. The following lines feature prominently on our website and represent only a small proportion of the information we provide to enable our guests to make good choices for themselves.

Home page –
• The basic principle at Castara Retreats is for guests to look after themselves in well-resourced self-catering accommodation with good local support that is free from the constraints and protocols of Caribbean hotels.
Notes for Visitors:
• the basic principle is looking after yourselves in well-resourced self-catering accommodation with good back up and support from our manager, Porridge, who whilst not in residence, is available during his daily morning and evening visits.
• We have designed our seven accommodations to be open to the wonderful landscape of Castara with its beach and rainforest whilst also being furbished with quality furniture and fittings. Birds and bats fly past, sting rays can be spotted in the sea from your lodge, and rain showers can be seen approaching, obliterating the hill for a short time, and departing again. You are likely to spot fireflies above your mosquito net at night, and wake to the light of the sun and the dawn chorus. In this way the house resonates with its setting - there are no cappuccino bars in Castara, and you are much more likely to encounter crab n' dumpling or calaloo soup than Spaghetti Bolognese in the village restaurants. This is a stunningly beautiful and unsophisticated place.
• It is important for clients to be aware that Castara Retreats is not a hotel and we do not offer some of the services of a hotel, such as 24 hour staffing or daily maid service. It also means that we are free of some of the constraints and protocols of such establishments.
• We made the conscious decision to create a small car park that sits into the landscape and does not impact negatively. Our main objective was to ease things during arrival and departure and the need to carry heavy bags. With care, there is room to park 3 cars in front of the utility building.
Independent review prominently featured on our website:
• This kind of environment will not suit everyone. Anyone with phobias about bats, birds, lizards or spiders would be wiser to consider one of the large air-conditioned hotels at the more populated end of the island. Like all tropical destinations, Tobago has insects of every type and description.
• Air-conditioning would be contrary to the ethos of the resort and impossible to operate given the architectural style of the building. Equally importantly, it is totally unnecessary. Truly!

Poppy Talbot on behalf of the Castara Retreats team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in Tobago for 3 weeks and spent about 8 days at Castara Retreats. It was such a relaxing place with beautiful rooms, with an open kitchen and seating area. The view was just amazing. The bay is so nice and the sea calm. You could even watch the stingrays swimming along the shore. Snorkelling is excellent and the beautiful Englisman Bay is just a short drive away. For us it was the most beautiful place on the island and we were kind of newborn after our stay.

Room Tip: We were at the Hummingbird 2 - a very nice and spacious place - but there is no AC only vans. It was a little hot at night but you get used to it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I had an amazing vacation at Castara Retreats! We were lucky enough to be there when the owners- Sue, Steve, and their daughter Freya- were there, and they were incredibly gracious hosts. All of the staff at Castara Retreats- especially Kenny, Porridge, and Jeanelle- went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed. The setting is beyond beautiful- you truly feel like you have landed in paradise! There are some downsides- mosquitoes, a tiring walk uphill after relaxing on the beach- but I have no complaints about the hotel itself. My girls are 3 and 5, and they enjoyed themselves thoroughly! I would go back in a second :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teceta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews