We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castara Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castara Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Walenstadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in Tobago for 3 weeks and spent about 8 days at Castara Retreats. It was such a relaxing place with beautiful rooms, with an open kitchen and seating area. The view was just amazing. The bay is so nice and the sea calm. You could even watch the stingrays swimming along the shore. Snorkelling is excellent and the beautiful Englisman Bay is just a short drive away. For us it was the most beautiful place on the island and we were kind of newborn after our stay.

Room Tip: We were at the Hummingbird 2 - a very nice and spacious place - but there is no AC only vans. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    28
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
240
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I had an amazing vacation at Castara Retreats! We were lucky enough to be there when the owners- Sue, Steve, and their daughter Freya- were there, and they were incredibly gracious hosts. All of the staff at Castara Retreats- especially Kenny, Porridge, and Jeanelle- went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed. The setting is beyond beautiful- you truly feel like you have landed in paradise! There are some downsides- mosquitoes, a tiring walk uphill after relaxing on the beach- but I have no complaints about the hotel itself. My girls are 3 and 5, and they enjoyed themselves thoroughly! I would go back in a second :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teceta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to discover Castara Retreats last April and loved every minute of our stay. We realised we'd found somewhere really special and decided we wanted this to be the place where we brought our nearest and dearest to celebrate our wedding, not only due to the beauty of the bay and the accommodation but because of the wonderful people who work to make Castara Retreats what it is. We felt in such safe hands with the careful planning and attention that Jean, Porridge, Kenny, Steve and whole team took to make our day perfect and completely stress free. The ceremony was beautiful, the food fantastic and the atmosphere just wonderful. Reverend Jemma Parks delivered a lovely, poignant ceremony which took place under a beautiful arch made from palm leaves on the beach. The attention to detail by all involved was incredible. We had the pleasure of meeting Steve, Sue and their daughter on this, our second visit and as soon as we met them it suddenly clicked why Castara Retreats is the wonderful place that it is; their warmth resonates throughout the entire Retreat, from the lovingly created apartments to the wonderful warmth of all those work work at the Retreats. We are counting down the days to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday0368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Castara Retreats in the summer of 2013. The location was great-- because we were up on a hill, we got beautiful views of the water and yet it was a short distance (but a steep walk) to the beach, which we visited every day.

We stayed in the lodge called Hummingbird 2, which came with a full kitchen, patio and spacious living area outside the bedroom. In the bedroom, there was a mosquito net over the bed and electric fans. It would have been nice if the nets had been made of finer mesh, because we still got mosquito bites every night despite using repellant. The bathroom could have been better ventilated, as condensation built up quickly.

The staff at Castara Retreats was helpful and friendly. Porridge was an excellent, sociable tour guide and driver, and Kenny and Patricia did a great job with their restaurant, providing great food and very accommodating service. I would definitely recommend Castara Retreats to anyone visiting Tobago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoMan343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The concept of retreat was fully realised - this place epitomises 'retreat'. You felt that you were away from the techno-bustle of the world - in a good way. There was wi-fi (for the internet addicts like us), but there was no TV or in-room telephone. The place was welcoming to all 3 generations of our family - our granddaughters, 5- and 3-years old, were made to feel very special, our children and their families could spend time amongst themselves (for dinner, a beach run, or a sight-seeing trip), or we could come together as one big, happy family whenever we chose. The service was exceptional. Porridge was very professional, friendly and generous. Kenny was at once casual and professional - he kept track of your food preferences and was patient and kind with our grandchildren.

You do need to be in good shape to walk up from the beach to the lodgings. The mosquito nets were mostly effective, but don't forget your repellant!

Room Tip: We loved the view and location of Coasthanger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewart_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said already?

Breathtakingly beautiful, kind and caring staff, couldn't have imagined anything better. We feel so fortunate to have met so many lovely people in Castara (especially Porridge, Jeanell, Seon, Shaquille), we felt so welcomed and at home.

Thank you, words can't express how meaningful this experience was for us. You are in our hearts forever...ONE LOVE!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room - we stayed in Hummingbird 2 and Birdsong both breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijoux12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were invited to Castara Retreats by our friends, to celebrate with them their wedding.

Given the distance from the UK we decided to stay an extra two weeks after the wedding.

We had the best 3 weeks ever!

The Wedding which was also arranged by the staff of Castara Retreats, was simply PERFECT, on the beach then back to the restaurant & bar.

The holiday, Amazing beach, amazing accommodation, amazing views, amazing food and amazing staff!!

The sea was lovely and clean - really mellow in the water so really suitable for our two young children, their was amazing wildlife both in the immediate surroundings and of course in the water - which was some of the best snorkeling I have ever done - got to swim with Turtles - right in the Castara Bay!

The food @ the restaurant was exceptional, by far the best place to each in Tobago!

The accommodation was really special, with amazing panoramic views of the ocean & sunsets and it felt really [really] relaxing, no pressures, no phones, no TV, - just pure relaxing!

10 out of 10!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
0.2 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
10.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
12.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#2 of 3 in Black Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castara Retreats

Property: Castara Retreats
Address: Northside Road | Castara, Castara, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castara Retreats is a small Tobago eco resort superbly located overlooking the Bay of Castara, with stunning views of the Caribbean and mountains. For those seeking holidays in Tobago the seven tropical hardwood accommodations are built to the highest standards and are set right above Castara beach in lush tropical gardens. Backed by the deep green of the oldest protected rainforest in the Western Hemisphere and framed by mango trees and bamboo, Castara Retreats offers Caribbean vacations in a lush tropical paradise where guests can relax and live in the landscape around them. The lodge accommodation offers 15 separately available areas, each with wonderful privacy and exclusive terraces, which can be rented individually by couples, or together for larger groups and families. The accommodation is specially designed to create open, spacious living areas that allow uninterrupted views of the beach and rainforest, cool sea breezes and the natural sights and sounds of the ocean, rainforest and village. Each lodge or apartment is constructed of red cedar, a local hardwood, and is from sustainable sources. The bedrooms, each with en suite showers and either queen size or twin beds all have full size mosquito nets on suspended wooden frames. The spacious living areas have panoramic views of the two beaches looking north-west and also to the coastline looking south-west, and stunning sunsets over the Caribbean. Each accommodation has the advantage of free Wi-Fi internet access. There is comfortable and stylish seating with both indoor and outdoor dining and all three areas are equipped to a very high standard for self-catering. We have recently completed open-decked Pavilion Bar and Restaurant - already receiving excellent ratings - perfect for a romantic dinner for two or for family groups and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castara Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castara Retreats Hotel Tobago
Castara Retreats Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing