We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Food & Drinks - but expensive !”

Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open daily from 11am-10pm. For reservations call 687-7711. Castara Retreats Scenic Restaurant with spectacular views of the beach and ocean, on our terraced pavilion deck. We offer a range of home-made foods from fresh fish and quality steak to hand-made ravioli and interesting vegetarian options. We offer a choice of inventive starters including fishcakes, salads and chilled soups, and popular desserts such as chocolate mousse and passionfruit cheesecake. We have a range of cocktails, cold beers, fine wines, Italian coffees, and home-made juices. Our restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation for good food and a warm welcome where guests can take a break, eat and drink, take in the spectacular views and sunsets and observe the wonderful hummingbirds as they display on our feeders.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

After a steep walk up the hill to the restaurant you are overlooking both bays of Castara in a spectacular view. The fresh ocean breeze makes it nice and cooler here. The whole place and the short and informative menu create a classy atmosphere. However, the place was empty twice when we came (once for lunch and once for drinks before dinner). We guess that is due to the steep prices, which are pretty general in restaurants on this island. Otherwise we enjoyed our time in this place and also food and drinks. You can pay by credit card, but they put a fee of 3.5% on the bill for that, which is not allowed by most credit card companies.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dr. Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Can anything be more enjoyable than a tree-top view of the bay, with friendly Kareem and Keisha (and Yakob with a 'y') cooking and mixing drinks? We had loved our meals so much last year, we made a beeline to CK on the night we arrived and once more enjoyed their delicious Shark n Bake, and, in particular, their shrimps! On our final night, the amazing chocolate mousse. Lovely, lovely, lovely. See you guys next time. Don’t change a thing :)

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank RubyH384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful food in a beautiful place. It’s on the pricey side but my partner and I had the best experience here. The griddled prawns in that curry are to die for. The passion fruit cheesecake is out of this world. Thank you for taking care of us!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank stephannc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Read all the reviews and decided to visit. The layout of Castara Retreats is very interesting, the bungalows look really good.

The view is amazing and the restaurant is quite nice, the food is not bad. It’s definitely worth a visit to have a bite and take in the sunset

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Trinigabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

We ate at Caribbean kitchen 3 times and always had a very tasty meal. We particularly enjoyed the jerk chicken and fish of the day, the potato wedges, and had barracuda for the first time. The view is stunning and the cocktails delicious, both non alcholic and alcoholic. The desserts are also delicious and the staff very friendly. The restaurant is a little more expensive than eating in Castara, but the food we had was nicely presented and worth it. It is great to have a restaurant at Castara retreats and to not have to walk down to the village every night. it does get quite busy, so best to book a table.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IngeMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing