We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch ”

Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open daily from 11am-10pm. For reservations call 687-7711. Castara Retreats Scenic Restaurant with spectacular views of the beach and ocean, on our terraced pavilion deck. We offer a range of home-made foods from fresh fish and quality steak to hand-made ravioli and interesting vegetarian options. We offer a choice of inventive starters including fishcakes, salads and chilled soups, and popular desserts such as chocolate mousse and passionfruit cheesecake. We have a range of cocktails, cold beers, fine wines, Italian coffees, and home-made juices. Our restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation for good food and a warm welcome where guests can take a break, eat and drink, take in the spectacular views and sunsets and observe the wonderful hummingbirds as they display on our feeders.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Read all the reviews and decided to visit. The layout of Castara Retreats is very interesting, the bungalows look really good.

The view is amazing and the restaurant is quite nice, the food is not bad. It’s definitely worth a visit to have a bite and take in the sunset

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Trinigabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 321 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018

We ate at Caribbean kitchen 3 times and always had a very tasty meal. We particularly enjoyed the jerk chicken and fish of the day, the potato wedges, and had barracuda for the first time. The view is stunning and the cocktails delicious, both non alcholic and alcoholic. The desserts are also delicious and the staff very friendly. The restaurant is a little more expensive than eating in Castara, but the food we had was nicely presented and worth it. It is great to have a restaurant at Castara retreats and to not have to walk down to the village every night. it does get quite busy, so best to book a table.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IngeMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Situated in Castara Retreats, its a no brainer that you have to eat here at least once during your stay.
You may need to book as it gets busy (busy for Tobago, that is!)
Spot on food and a constant supply of cold beers and cocktails, not much more you want right?! well wrong..... you get great service as well!

Its not the cheapest place, but your on holiday right, so do it at least once and you will enjoy some freshly cooked local food, with all the smells and tastes of Tobago.

We had a few different dishes and all were ace! from local caught fish of the day (that morning from the bay you can see from your table) to jerk chicken, which is a huge fav of mine and it was on the nail!

The staff helped with everything and were always on hand for top ups etc, so I personally couldnt fault the place.

To be honest im getting hungry just writing this review! so if your planning to head to Tobago, do it as soon as you can and have a ball!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank easyutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

First time.... everything was fresh!
Fresh passion fruit juice, freshly caught fish... everything was cooked with love. The view is breath taking! Definitely recommend reserving a table for around 5:30 in time to catch the amazing sunset !
Also really recommend the catch of the day as well as the chocolate mousse and pineapple cheesecake! Oh, and passion fruit mojitos.... definitely number one in Tobago!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 438krysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Retreats and this restaurant on site was one of our favourites at Castara. The views are amazing and perfect for sipping cocktails and watching the sun go down. Staff were friendly and the food was consistently good - we particularly enjoyed the Jerk Chicken/fish and the lovely veggie sides!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank rachelagourakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing