We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with wonderful view”

Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Open daily from 11am-10pm. For reservations call 766-1010. Castara Retreats Scenic Restaurant with spectacular views of the beach and ocean, on our terraced pavilion deck. We offer a range of home-made foods from fresh fish and quality steak to hand-made ravioli and interesting vegetarian options. We offer a choice of inventive starters including fishcakes, salads and chilled soups, and popular desserts such as chocolate mousse and passionfruit cheesecake. We have a range of cocktails, cold beers, fine wines, Italian coffees, and home-made juices. Our restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation for good food and a warm welcome where guests can take a break, eat and drink, take in the spectacular views and sunsets and observe the wonderful hummingbirds as they display on our feeders.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Good food, nice eco-friendly image, wonderful view from the hill-side and near the beautiful bay of Castara. We stayed by with car, it can be tricky to park it in the small parking spot. Connected to the hotel Castara Retreats

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klasherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    63
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eating at the Pagoda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had dinner four nights. Beautifull atmosphere and place, nice staff. The menu could be changed more often and the staff could not offer everything on the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Unni Wik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
“Dining with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

It was great to be able to have a restaurant on the premises with an outstanding view. The service is outstanding, food was fresh, I really appreciate that everything is made on the premises, the staff take great care and pride to ensure guests have a wonderful experience. The cocktails were delicious also!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely people, and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This resturant is excellent and a change from the local food( which is also excellent, but over 2 weeks you need a variety) In particular the steaks and the chicken were excellent, the lime sorbet and the chocolate thingy was fab. Also the cocktails, thanks to Patrica n Kenny n Will n David. xxxx (n the other lovely lady, sorry forgot your name. xx

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeeleyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and the best cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We ate in the restaurant most nights as we were confined to castara Retreats due to a broken ankle,but the food here was excellent , with no complaints(apart from running out of my favourite coconut ice cream!) with the excellent service of Kenny and of course Will.
Fresh Fish every day and the delicious pasta ,lamb tagine ,all very good made by Kenny's wife Patricia. There is something on the menu to suit everyone.The cocktails are to die for, and we are now trying to reproduce the piña coladas here at home,but not quite the same drinking them here on a cold wet winters evening as opposed to a balmy night watching the humming birds feeding and watching the sun go down.Well done to the team, keep it up!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Black Rock, Tobago
 

Been to Caribbean Kitchen at Castara Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing