We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic with a lovely view”

D'Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: D'Almond Tree Restaurant is 100% locally owned.Situated adjacent to the beach in big bay Castara, we are open for dinner ONLY at 6:30pm from Monday to Saturday.No alcoholic beverages are sold.However we allow our guest to bring along there own wine or beer.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a very rustic restaurant located on the beach itself. Looks a bit like a shed with seating. The view is lovely of castara bay. The food is simple but tasty - mostly rice, beg, beans, chicken or fish. Enough to satisfy our appetites after a long time in the water. Also produced a lovely vegetarian plate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

It was certainly a pleasure serving you guy, hope yo see u again. Cheers !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is an unassuming beach shack restaurant in laid back Castara. The first selling point for us was that it was open when it should be, most places are shut for lunch in Castara. We were welcomed warmly and genuinely by the lovely chef Mariska who runs this with her parents. She is a qualified chef and her finishing touches and fresh food cooked to order are proof of this. She made us rotis, with curried chicken, fantastic shark, chargrilled lamb all accompanied by fresh crunchy vegetables and salads, no complaints from two foodies ! The restaurant is not licensed but you can bring your own bottle of rum in if you desire, we didnt because we had a steep climb back to our villa and in 100 degrees with lots of foliage and iguanas and chickens running about, you need to be steady on your feet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank holidaybugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

It was certainly a pleasure serving you guy, hope yo see u again. Cheers !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Veera who owns the restaurant and cooks is a great lady! and the roti and fish she makes is amazing. Food in castara is generally expensive so don't expect it to be cheap because the place itself is a hut. if you try the food though it is well worth it.

1  Thank mayuntha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Glad to know we serve the best fish and roti in Castara, It was our pleasure , Hope to see you again on your next visit to Castara . Cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have visited D'almond tree in the past, about 6 years ago, and loved it then. This time around it was even better, we had our 4 and a half year old son with us and he is usually a fussy eater, but he loved the fresh food served to us by Mariska.

The restaurant is in a truly beautiful setting, right on the beach in Big Bay, Castara. A idyllic, fishing village where the effects of tourism have not spoilt the neautiful landscape in any way. The restaurant is clean and airy. The service is great, and the food always freshly cooked to order. We ate there loads during our recent 2 weeks stay.

Our favourite dishes were always the catch of the day, (dolphin fish, white salmon) if you go at lunch time you have to try the superb rotis. Our son liked the chicken breast served with a yummy sweet sauce with rice or potato wedges. The portions are generous and served with fresh salad and there is a good choice of soft drinks.

We also took several members of the family with us on one visit and they all loved the food and atmosphere.

10/10 :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hey Ali, it was a great pleasure feeding you guys on soooo many occasion, and of coarse taking care of my best buddy Gyl. Hope to see you guys in the future, many thanks for your support :)
Cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little restaurant right on the beach in Castara. Fresh, healthy, well-prepared food & fantastic service from friendly Mariska! The fresh grilled swordfish & salad lunch was one of our favourite meals on the island. So good we changed travel plans to stay overnight in the beautiful Castara and enjoy dinner here too!

Thanks Mariska!
Katie & Pete

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pthackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

It was certainly a pleasure serving you guys, i knew that you guys enjoyed lunch when you decided to forget about your fancy hotel in crown point and spend the night in Castara, just to have dinner with us. Glad that you guys enjoyed it. Hope to see you guys in Castara soon.
Cheers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to D'Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing