We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Ecstatic Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Almond Tree Restaurant

D'Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: D'Almond Tree Restaurant is a simple, small and remote family owned restaurant situated directly on the beautiful beach of Castara.It can be found hidden between an almond tree and various other fruit trees.We offer a variety of local and Caribbean food for lunch and international/Caribbean food for dinner.Breakfast is done only by order.We are famously known within the village for Vera's delicious roti,which is served only for lunch. We are not licensed to sell alcohol , however we allow our customers to bring along there own for lunch and dinner.Come and dine with us and experience a simple, delicious and unforgettable meal.We are open from Monday- Saturday from 12:30 noon- 9:00pm. Closed on all Sundays.We also rent two apartments at affordable prices at our remote residence,which is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the beach. Apartments are self contained, with bathroom, kitchenette, that is ready to cook,toaster over, microwave,gas cooker, refrigerator hot/cold water, fans and a fantastic outside porch with a view of wildlife and nature.
Scarborough, Tobago
1 review
“My Ecstatic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The view at the restaurant is just breath taking; it overlooks the ocean there are palm trees, you can see the golden sunset and all the natural goodies that Tobago has to offer. The Food was mouthwatering, served hot and very reasonable portions. Certainly an evening to remember and a restaurant to return to, The Staff are the best very helpful and Mannerly maybe they should teach other hotels and Restaurants a thing or two!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kezizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks Kezia , glad that you enjoyed your experience at D'Almond Tree, it was a pleasure serving you. See you on your next visit to Castara . Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small family run restaurant on the main Castara beach. Opej for lunch and dinner. Food cooked fresh so you have to wait but have 2-3 well-prepared dishes daily and serve great chips as well! Not licensed. Really friendly and helpful staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your review Karen, we really appreciate it, Glad you enjoyed our food and hope to see you in the future, on your next visit to beautiful Castara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good roti”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

had rori for lunch twice, very good. very friendly waitress ihd fish one day and chicken the next. it comes with lentils in a source and squash there are chickens adjacent to it on the beach soft drinks are very reasonable it does not sel alcohol

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeCockcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks Mike, Glad you enjoyed our roti, we are famously know for the best roti in town.
We are not licensed to sell alcohol , but we allow our customers to bring in their own.Thanks again for your review!!!
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Castara. Cheers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Maroushka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lovely food and particularly good service from Maroushka, the proprietor's daughter, who is very friendly and informative and knows a thing or two about food! Fresh fish from the grill, lovely local salads, delicious roti. The location is perfect right on the beach. C&E x

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you Chis and Emma, It was a pleasure meeting you guys. I enjoyed cooking for you guys.
Thanks for supporting me almost everyday while you guys were staying in Castara. I really appreciate it. Miss you guys loadsssss. See you soon. Take care until we meet again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good value tasty food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

perfect setting for this unpretentious little cafe. good food good value in lovely Castara Bay. do not miss it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariska f, Owner at D'Almond Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks Susan, glad you enjoyed our food, hope to see you in Castara soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D'Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing