We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic place to stay with fantastic views!”
Carpe Diem-seize the day!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpe Diem-seize the day!
Carpe Diem first view 45ft Balcony with a separate access to each studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Carpe Diem-seize the day!
Carpe Diem first view
45ft Balcony with a separate access to each studio
View of Castara main bay from the house
The balcony is perfect for Al fresco dining, sunsets & bird watching
View along the 45ft balcony
Main beach Castara. 2 minute stroll?
Little or Heavenly Bay as it is know locally. Great for snorkeling
View of house in between the palms from the sea
Carpe Diem nestled between the palm tress
Swimming in the pool at Castara waterfall
Picking & eating mangoes on Castara main beach
The view at sunset from the balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
seahorse3...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic place to stay with fantastic views!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed at Carpe Diem Villa for 4 nights.....the accommodation was great with everything you needed to make your stay relaxed and comfortable....the view from the balcony was amazing and the owners, Chris and Yvonne were friendly, welcoming and helpful! The villa is set up on a slight hill so is perfect for watching Tobago's amazing sunsets. A short walk will take you to Castara's beach where the snorkelling is great....we were lucky enough to see big shoals of fish and a family of stingrays there! Castara's local amenities such as small shops, restaurants and the ATM are within close walking distance to the villa. There was so much bird life to watch from our balcony at Carpe Diem with regular visits from Motmots and Bananaquits to name just a few! We would definitely recommend staying at the Carpe Diem Villa for anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxed retreat in Castara! Cheers Yvonne and Chris :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness!
Liked least: We weren't there for longer!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenWalla...
Dallas
1 review
“Great location, people and views”
Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This place is owned and managed by a very nice couple who will make sure you are aware of everything that is going on in the village and around the area. They take lots of attention to detail and are extremely nice. They will also help you arrange other amenities if needed (re- car rental etc.).

The place had a great view and the apartment was quite comfortable. For those who have never visited the caribbean, and coming from the USA, you might find some modern luxuries missing (i.e. AC). Also, be aware that throughout the entire island, chickens tend to run around free. Honestly, after the first few rooster crows, they wont bother too much.

For those willing to enjoy the place for what it has to offer, I can't give enough praise.

Castara is a very nice and friendly fishing village, we really enjoyed the local culture, the food, the beach and the views.

If you are going to Tobago, go to Castara, if you are going to Castara, I would highly recommend Carpe Diem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: people, place
Liked least: the heat
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The perfect rain forest hideaway......”
Reviewed April 3, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at Carpe Diem in March 2012 - our first time in the Carribbean. It's five minutes from either the beach or the centre of the village and was exactly what we hoped for when we booked.

We were fortunate in that the owners, Chris and Yvonne, were staying at the time as they were the perfect hosts - friendly, informative, never intrusive, and good fun! Their apartments are ideal for this type of holiday, where you'll be spending minimal time inside. They're clean and well-equipped with a big fridge-freezer, really comfortable bed with mosquito netting, fans to keep you cool and ample kitchen space and utensils if you're mad enough to want to cook all of your meals yourself.

The balcony outside gives the impression that you're in a tree-house, and you'll be visited by an impressive array of birds from dawn till dusk. The view over the bay has to be one of the best in Castara, and yes, you can lie in bed and gaze out over the Carribbean.

Castara itself is not your usual tourist resort and has few facilities. It's a fishing village, and this is its big appeal. The locals are generally friendly and pleasant and you'll find pretty much everything you need by way of provisions in the many small stalls and shops which are dotted around the village. The fruit and vegetables are especially good. The women of the village bake fantastic bread at an outdoor clay oven twice a week - you can order before 10am and it's ready for collection the same afternoon.

If you want to explore, then there's a car hire facility down at Little Bay, with small 4x4's or saloon cars for rent from around $40US / £24 a day, plus fuel. Don't worry about the fuel cost as at the time of writing, petrol is $27TT (£0.27) per litre.... The roads however are not for the faint-hearted, and you'd be well-advised to hire a local driver to take you round the island (which won't cost much more than the cost of hiring a car). Whatever you do, do not attempt to hire a car at the airport and drive to Castara, hoping to find Carpe Diem. Just don't do it - ask Yvonne to arrange for Denzel to collect you, he's a good driver.

There are two beaches at Castara, the main beach, and Little Bay (or Heavenly Bay as it's sometimes referred to). We used them both, but Little Bay became out favorite. Never crowded, and backed by the Boat House (serving amazing rum punch) it's the perfect place to soak up some sun and enjoy the surroundings. Wednesday nights are 'drum nights' and some of the local guys get together to entertain, while Sharron serves up local dishes. For the young, athletic or crazy, you can try your limbo skills, but I prefer this as a spectator sport!

Snorkling off the beach at Little Bay is some of the best I've seen, with both variety and quantity of marine life available within 20metres of the shore. There's a small reef a little further out where I spent some quality time with a small turtle one morning.

Eating out is the only way in Castara. the food is all freshly prepared and tasty. There's not a big variety of food and if you only eat at McDonalds, then Castara is probably not for you. Breakfast for two at Cheno's (bacon, eggs, coconut bake, fresh fruit juice and coffee) costs less than $100TT (£10). This will pretty much set you up for the day. In the evening, a meal for two costs around $200TT (£20). Not all of the restaurants serve alcohol, but you're welcome to take your own.

Back to Carpe Diem: having said that Castara is not 'touristy', there are quite a lot of places to stay in the village. We just happen to think that we got the best one. Why? Well, it can get a bit noisy down by the beach (especially on drum night), and we felt that some in some places you could feel a little crowded. Carpe Diem is just far enough away from the beach to remove you from all that, but not so far that you need oxygen when you drag yourself home in the evenings - it's as if you can 'step back' at the end of the day (or at any other time) and just switch off. Perfect.

A few tips that might help fellow visitors - not complaints, just advice: be aware that there are a lot of hills in Tobago, and Castara has its fair share; take a small torch with you - it's very, very dark at night; don't forget the insect repellant - if you do, then the store next to the fisherman's co-op sells petroleum jelly containing citronella and eucalyptus. It may sound disgusting but believe me, it works a treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evening on the balcony
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue F
Hereford
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Studio with very helpful hosts and a lovely view over the Caribbean.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Christopher and Yvonne were extremely helpful and accommodating. The studio is conveniently situated in Castara close to the beach and away from the more touristy end of the island (still not very touristy)! The accommodation was just what we needed, clean and simple, (we ate out - it might be more difficult if you wanted to do alot of cooking.) We saw lots of birds which visited the feeders on the balcony and appreciated the beautiful sunsets. The sandflies are bad on the beach but not at the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The birds and the views.
Liked least: Sandflies and cockerel.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dano_in_o...
Steubenville, OH
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location with kind, helpful, and knowledgeable hosts.”
Reviewed February 22, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

While considering a trip to TT, I randomly contacted Chris (one of the owners) to inquire about the country and travel there. As I reviewed lodging, I later learned that he and his wife, Yvonne, owned and operated Villa Carpe Diem. (He never mentioned it!) They had availability, so I booked. That was one of my best decisions about this trip!

The accommodations are great. It's clean, safe, and comfortable. The view is truly amazing and its location makes you forget that you are still inside the little village of Castara. There were other wonderful guests at the house, and we all got to interact and enjoy a nice meal together on the main balcony one evening.

I enjoyed being secluded from the traffic and sight of the village people, while only being a 30 second walk down to the main road to access the village. Again, the privacy and safety of this lodging are paramount.

The hosts, Chris and Yvonne, were so helpful and accommodating to us and all their guests. They are well accepted and established in the community and advised us well as to what to do, where to go, what to see, and what to avoid. They helped in arranging some excursions. I never hesitated to mention to the locals that we were guests of Chris and Yvonne, as it mattered in getting a fair shake with some people.

Also, the owners are very supportive of the locals and of the well-being of the village and the whole island. I appreciated their investment of not only money, but interest and time in helping the people of Castara while maintaining a home for themselves and for guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the kindness of the hosts.
Liked least: Castara is just a small village. Make plans to do other tours from there.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2012
There should be a section to enable owners to review guests as well! Dan O & his buddy James were really great guests and we would not hesitate in giving them 5* 's either!We do seem to attract some of the nicest people out there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armelle L
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday home”
Reviewed February 21, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

You have compared websites, comfort, view, cost and made your booking: then you hold your breath. At Carpe Diem, we got more than we expected: the transfer from the airport worked as arranged with Denzill, we found a large studio, a very comfortable bed, full kitchen equipment, nothing missing. When at home we spent most of our time on the balcony, enjoying the view, the visiting birds, the garden, watching out for the return of the fishermen to go to the beach and buy fish.
What we got at Carpe Diem wasn’t just good accommodation: what made the difference was the owners ’role, supplying information or equipment when needed, making it possible to socialize with other guests if you are inclined to, and constantly working hard to maintain and improve the villa they have created.
In our experience (that includes St Lucia, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Domenica, Antiga, Curacao), Tobago is among the friendliest and most relaxed in the Caribbean, with pleasant climate and a mix of hills, rainforest, sandy bays for swimming, snorkeling, diving … or rest.And Castara is an authentic fishing village, with tiny shops offering all you need (once you’ve sorted out who sells what) , a wide range of restaurants, hikes inland and along the coast, car rentals and buses …

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and atmosphere
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to chill out”
Reviewed December 23, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We spent a week at Carpe Diem after having a week in a hotel at Crown Point. It was a complete contrast. If you are looking for an authentic taste of the Carribean then you should try Castara and make Carpe Diem your base. The house is situated on a hill above the village, which means stunning views from the verandah but a bit of a climb up to it. We saw a huge variety of birds come to the bird feeder and some amazing sunsets.

The studios have everything you need to self-cater, but we found it was too hot inside to do much cooking. It was still low season when we were there so the local bars and restaurants were quiet. We enjoyed early morning coffee at the Coffee Shop and also their BBQ evening with live music. Be sure to try the bread and cakes baked by the village ladies in a clay oven.

Don't be afraid to go down to the village and interact with the local people. We found everyone friendly and helpful. Castara is a fishing village not a tourist resort, and therefore you do need to make more effort to get the most out of it. It is all about simple pleasures and enjoying the wonderful surroundings. If you really just want to unwind and do as little as possible then Carpe Diem definitely allows you to do that

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the birds and the views
Liked least: it was very hot in the room and we got bitten quite a lot
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing