We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to chill out”
Carpe Diem-seize the day!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpe Diem-seize the day!
Carpe Diem first view 45ft Balcony with a separate access to each studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Carpe Diem-seize the day!
Carpe Diem first view
45ft Balcony with a separate access to each studio
View of Castara main bay from the house
The balcony is perfect for Al fresco dining, sunsets & bird watching
View along the 45ft balcony
Main beach Castara. 2 minute stroll?
Little or Heavenly Bay as it is know locally. Great for snorkeling
View of house in between the palms from the sea
Carpe Diem nestled between the palm tress
Swimming in the pool at Castara waterfall
Picking & eating mangoes on Castara main beach
The view at sunset from the balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jean F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to chill out”
Reviewed December 23, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We spent a week at Carpe Diem after having a week in a hotel at Crown Point. It was a complete contrast. If you are looking for an authentic taste of the Carribean then you should try Castara and make Carpe Diem your base. The house is situated on a hill above the village, which means stunning views from the verandah but a bit of a climb up to it. We saw a huge variety of birds come to the bird feeder and some amazing sunsets.

The studios have everything you need to self-cater, but we found it was too hot inside to do much cooking. It was still low season when we were there so the local bars and restaurants were quiet. We enjoyed early morning coffee at the Coffee Shop and also their BBQ evening with live music. Be sure to try the bread and cakes baked by the village ladies in a clay oven.

Don't be afraid to go down to the village and interact with the local people. We found everyone friendly and helpful. Castara is a fishing village not a tourist resort, and therefore you do need to make more effort to get the most out of it. It is all about simple pleasures and enjoying the wonderful surroundings. If you really just want to unwind and do as little as possible then Carpe Diem definitely allows you to do that

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the birds and the views
Liked least: it was very hot in the room and we got bitten quite a lot
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIck B
neyland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hosts,clean.comfortable rooms sunsets to die for”
Reviewed October 7, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our villa sat overlooking Castara a small fishing village,there is a lovely sandy beach with
safe swimming and snorkeling . Our hosts arranged a fantastic boat trip for the day , also
a day at Pirates Bay and one of the oldest rainforest in the world,
Our studio apartments were clean with cool tiled floors ,wet rooms and fans,co's it is hot!
The locals were very friendly and helpful ,they offered several cafe / bars , shops,and of
course an ATM.
The villa is surrounded by a garden banana, mangos, paw paw, and avocados as big as
your head,which we had every day for breakfast.
Every night we watched the most stunning sunsets,with cold beers and cocktails from a
40 ft veranda ---- PARADISE. NICK BELL

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and my hosts
Liked least: Mossies and sandflies!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edna C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Carpe Diem is a wonderful place to stay. The apartment was clean and spacious and very well equipped for all our catering requirements. The liquidizer for making mango smoothies was very much appreciated. The view from the balcony must be the best in Castara, whether in the early morning looking out over the bay or the evening watching the spectacular sunsets. An added bonus is watching the many species of birds from the rain forest behind the apartment, including parrots and humming birds. A short walk down the hill leads to a choice of Little Bay (great for snorkelling – we saw lots of different types of fish) or Big Bay which has the advantage of being able to call in at the D’Lime bar for a ‘beastly’ cold beer (as described by the owner Marvin) on the way back up or the Coffee Shop for breakfast depending on the time of day. Castara is a lovely village with really good beaches, enough little shops to meet our needs plus fresh fish daily from the fishermen – combined with Carpe Diem, the best place to stay in Tobago.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony and watching the birds
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2011
Thankyou Edna!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulteney
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Carpe Diem - a beautiful place to stay on the edge of the rain forest...”
Reviewed March 23, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We spent a week at Carpe Diem in March 2011. We had one of the two studios. This is a great place to experience 'real' Tobago. The lovely wooden house with the two integral studios is beautifully constructed on the side of a hill in Castara, a small fishing village, overlooking Big and Little Bay. The tropical rain forest comes down to the shore in parts of Castara and Carpe Diem, along with its neighbours, nestles on the edge of the forest. When you stay at Carpe Diem you are surrounded by all the wonderful colour, noise and activity that the rain forest produces - back to nature!
In the mornings you are rewarded with bird song as brightly-coloured birds come to the house to eat from the feeders where you can put fruit and bread. Banana, papaya and cocoa plants surround the house and you will see butterflies and lizards. The view of the bay is fantastic from the terrace and in the evenings there will be some of the most dramatic sunsets you have ever seen.
The studio has high ceilings and is airy. There is a large and very comfortable queen size bed with full mosquito net. The kitchen area is very well-equipped with a large fridge with freezer, full oven, grill and stove, kettle, toaster, juicer, etc, and all the utensils, crockery and cutlery you need - so you will have everything necessary if you fancy cooking for yourselves (we can recommend the fresh fish - caught daily). There is plenty of hot water, a great shower - and the water tastes good and is safe to drink.
The path to the beach is steep but it is not far at all - about 200m - and both bays are great for swimming. Local shops provide good basic provisions. It's a really friendly place where visitors are welcome to join in with village activities. We can recommend Chinos for breakfast - don't miss the salt fish and coconut bake - and the fresh pumpkin and wholewheat bread baked by the ladies of Castara in a traditional clay oven (Wednesdays and Saturdays). We had a great boat trip with Ali Baba Tours - and would also suggest you walk into the forest to bathe in Castara's pool at the base of the waterfall ...
Chris and Yvonne Runciman, the owners of Carpe Diem, were staying while we were there. They should be congratulated on the thought that has gone into their beautiful home and the care and attention they pay to looking after their guests. They play an active part in village life and encourage their guests to support local restaurants, stores and businesses - as they do themselves.
If you are looking for an all-inclusive 'clinical' package, then this is not for you. Carpe Diem is the ideal location for the independent traveller who wants to see and experience for themselves (in comfort!) what Tobago really has to offer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldsend
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most wonderful bed in an apartment with a fabulous view of Castara Bay!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

My daughter found this gem which suited us as the grandparents and her with husband and 8 year old son perfectly. The booking arrangements went very well and our airport meet and greet with transfer to the apartment excellent. We occupied one of the three properties, a studio flat with the most fantastically comfortable large double bed - important as we were staying 3 weeks! The owners were there at the same time and gave us some great advice for our hols. The space was more than sufficient for our requirements and the terrace had the most wonderful views of the main Castara Bay.

Castara, the village, is the best location in Tobago, perfect for swimming, bird watching, snorkelling and eating the freshest fish caught by the village fishermen daily. It has everything with parties every night if you wish - good food, rum punches and great local music. The beach is one of the prettiest and safest on the island and the local village families are so friendly and helpful. Prices are really good too.

We thoroughly enjoyed a holiday where we felt part of the Castara family and will be going back to stay in Carpe Diem again. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacky_r_t
Olten, Switzerland
1 review
“Relaxed holidays”
Reviewed February 24, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We really enjoyed our holidays in "Carpe Diem". It's really quiet and nice to relax, but if you like some more action it's just 5min (by foot) away from the beach and the centre of Castara. But the best of this accomodation is the great view over the sea!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing