We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked It So Much The First Time I Came Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Naturalist Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Liked It So Much The First Time I Came Back”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My first visit was in October 2012. I liked it so much I came back in June 2013. I expect I will return again in 2014. Ancle was a wonderful host. I had a great adventure. This is a different vacation than most US travelers are used to. The location is beautiful. It is uncluttered with T-shirt shops and fast food joints. There are several restaurants and shops that are an easy walk. The beach is just a few steps from your door. Fresh fish come from the bay.Great snorkeling, diving, bird watching, and hiking. It is just the right amount of removed from every day life. I've never had a bad day in Castara.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the Grouper and the Dolphin. Both were good. Grouper is on the water, Dolphin i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_cincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    35
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
45
104
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are a low-maintenance traveler looking to get away from it all, you will love the Naturalist. The accommodations are fairly priced, service and hospitality is excellent, and it's right on the beach. There are restaurants and stores within walking distance - not the type we are used to in the U.S. - but that was part of the appeal. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The newer buildings are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Enjoyed every element of this location. Beautiful scenario, wonderful and delightful manager. Loved the atmosphere at night, very laid back and relaxing. The facility is literally on the beach. the view was amazing, the local people were delightful. My husband and I had a blast. We plan to visit this beautiful resort on our anniversary every year.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying at the newer facility, the grouper or whale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaneka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent location for quiet beach trip. You really need a car in Tobago and this is a wonderful spot. Clean beach with great snorkeling right off the shore. A beautiful waterfall just steps away. Great birding base with Motmots and bananaquits coming up to my makeshift birdfeeder on my railing.

Room clean and comfortable. Locals friendly. Even helped pull in the fishing net in the morning and got some wonderful fresh fish to prepare. Be sure to get the bread baked on the beach in the clay ovens.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The naturalist is a fair way from the airport but right on the beach! The apartments are simple, large, bright and clean and everything works!

The service from all staff members was exceptional.

Castara is a small place, but everyone is friendly and you have the basics (shop, bar, restaurant, football pitch....).

There are some good walks from here (e.g. to the waterfall you can swim in) and some good snorkelling on the right of the bay, or nearby Englishman's Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a fantastic choice to book the WAHOO apartment.. Fantastic view, and a great, clean apartment with everything we needed!

The proximity to the beach is unbeatable, and there are lots of little shops where we bought groceries (nothing fancy, but enough to make great meals).

Make sure you order some fresh bread from the clay oven (ask at reception about it) on Wednesdays and Saturdays!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just got back from Tobago where we stayed at the Naturalist Beach Resort for the first two nights of our vacation. The hotel is right on the beach and all of the units have great views of the beach and ocean. We were warmly met when we arrived and check in was quick. The rooms are simple, but very clean and well equipped. A very nice and much appreciated touch was that they even make sure that there are a few cold beers in the fridge when you arrive! The hotel is located on one end of the beach and within walking distance to some good restaurants and small grocery stores. We are definitely going to come back to Tobago and make sure that we stay longer next time at the Naturalist Beach Resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
13.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
13.0 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,498 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
7.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
8.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naturalist Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naturalist Beach Resort

Property: Naturalist Beach Resort
Address: Castara Bay Road, Castara, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naturalist Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Naturalist Beach Resort provides a charm that brings people together and has a great number of returning guests listed as "VIP's" The perfect type of settings to sooth you and allows you to totally unwind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Naturalist Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naturalist Beach Hotel Castara
Naturalist Beach Resort Tobago/Castara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing