We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality at a paradise location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Naturalist Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hospitality at a paradise location”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a week of our 14 days holiday at the Naturalist. The hotel is located right at the beach front and perfect for snorkeling and swimming. We experienced a very warm and really great hospitality from the owner Ancle George who cares about his guests perfectly. Our travel agent booked the Grouper apartment with kitchen and large rooms. From there you can fall to the beach directly. The breakfast is okay with fresh fruit every day and you find a small business centre with fast WiFi which is nearly sensational in Tobago. Definitely one of the best locations I can imagine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icepilot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    35
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
45
104
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just got home from a week at the Naturalist. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer.
Mr. George, Petra, and Florid were wonderful to me. My room, The Dolphin, was always spotless. The views from the balcony were breathtaking.

Don't expect a traditional hotel experience. This is so much better. Mr. George will work with you so that you can truly experience Tobago's riches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_cincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

On arriving very late (7 hours late!) in to Tobago I feared that car hire arrangements would be a problem, but I was wrong. Ancle George, the owner/manager of the rental company was there at the airport waiting for... I had informed him what time we were due in, he wasn't stood these for 7 hours!!
The car, a small 4x4 was well kept, reliable and very affordable.
We took a drive down to the Naturalist Beach Resort to have a look around. Ancle showed us the rooms which all seemed fresh, comfortable and well located right by the lovely beach.
Despite Ancle being a Barcelona FC supporter he is a genuine guy who'll look after you.
Thanks Ancle for being so helpful!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the Naturalist at the end of July and it was the perfect place to relax and unwind. Jodie picked us up from the airport and told us all about Trinidad & Tobago on the way to Castara. When we arrived we just loved The Naturalist. It is right on Castara beach. You can buy fresh fish on the beach in the afternoon. If you don't want to cook there are nice places to eat nearby. Try the Almond Tree restaurant next door. The apartments have everything you need and are cleaned every day. Ancle (the owner) is really helpful and can organise car rental, diving trips, airport transfers etc. He knows everything about the island. He even lent me a mobile phone when my phone battery died. Thanks Ancle. A definite five stars.

Room Tip: All rooms are right on the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank da_boy_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed in the Naturalist for a week in September, 2012 after having a hustle and bustle two weeks in Trinidad. What a difference! Tucked away in a secluded bay is the Naturalist and when they say it is close to the beach, they arent lying - it is literally ten paces! Accompanied by a few little restaurants with tasty food, a cool little bar and an ATM - it is all anyone could need.

Ancle and his daughter Jodie take care of the day to day runnings, and they do a very good job. From the minute I landed at the airport, every need was catered to in a non-pushy, but ever present manner that suits this environment perfectly. Ancle even bought me a beer in the nearby bar when he saw me! Nice! They know everyone and can sort anything. They even throw in free one day car rental, which really was the icing on the cake of my little trip.

Castara is quiet, but has a number of different places to frequent, including an English guy Adam who owns Sandcastles up the hill. He apparently was a chef in England and now works out here - I didnt get to go but some people I met did and he catered a private dinner for them. Right next to the Naturalist is a yellow restaurant (forgotten the name) run by a lovely girl and her mother - the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Just round the corner is Margarittes (wrong spelling) who do an excellent shrimp curry with accompaniments for about 100 TT (10 GBP).

The rooms at the Naturalist are functional and of an adequate size - with hot water, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchenette. If travelling with a group, the larger rooms are great, especially the Marlin and Grouper, and the Crow's Nest.

All in all, a perfect place to spend a week and use as a base for operations. A big thank you to Ancle and Jodie for being great hosts! Will definitely recommend you and make a return trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tuna, which was nice but didnt catch the sun. For me that was fine, but some may pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our stay at the naturalist was wonderful! The room was perfect, great view and balcony while just seconds from the beach. It was very hard to leave after just a few days. Castara is a nice little fishing village, with a terrific beach, friendly locals and several good places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Me And My Two Sons have Just returned from a wonderful week in Tobago. Our room at The Naturalist was The King fish. It was Perfect as it had no balcony for me To worry about The kids!! The beautiful beach was right there, so was The Almond Tree resterant, our favourite!! And it was so easy To get back To our room with sleepy children.
Little black And blue birds flew in And out of our window, To The kids delight, And helping feed The fish And turtles was a high point for them also.

Breakfast was adequate, We did buy a big tub of Peanut butter for our toast, as there was only marmalade on offer.
The local dish of saltfish or Plantain was also yummy. As was The fruit, mainly watermelon or bananas.
Being able To get a Proper coffee day or night was a real Plus, also ice And cold water. Our rooms were cleaned daily, clean towls And beds made. Even our laundry And washing up was done for us.
Dogs were a Pain And used our loungers as beds each night.

The bay is wonderful for snorkelling, We brought our gear at decathalon before We left And I was so glad We had our own, although you could get them in The Lowlands shopping Mall (expensive though!!). The snorkelling was Just as good here as at Bucco Reef, And less busy, Just you And The reef!!

We saw Manta Rays And all sorts, around the rocks between little And big bay. But if you go out deeper And along To The further end of little bay, The Coral reef is another level!!
You Can even stop at little bay for a shandy And add it To your tab - if The bar is open.

We were in Castara for The fisherman's fete, it was Lovely To see, but The music boomed until 1pm, vibrating our beds!!
Some other nights there was loud music And noise Too.
We liked The sound of The cockral's, even if they did start well before dawn!!

I would suggest you definitely take a walk in The Rainforest, We went with Barry, recommended by Ancel.

We drove round The North coast To Charlotteville, it was beautiful. Pirate's Bay is a must, but be sure To Park in The village And walk up The track, as The drive was treturous, To The Point that a local lad had To save us!! It was terrifying.
We went To The big waterfall, And Castara's which is well worth a trip or 2 for a cool down in The Pool.
We did a glass bottom boat trip, it was busy down The Crown Point end, - much nicer in Castara. But it was an experience, The Nylon Pool And that.

Ancle And The People who worked here were very friendly And always around To help. The only Problem We had was at The airport where The Taxi Man was holding The wrong name for us - not what We wanted after a 7 hour delay added To our 8 hour flight!! But Ancel was very warm And welcoming when We arrived. And The drinks and watermelon left in our fridge were appreciated.

Food:
Fish And Shrimp was excellent in
Margaritte's And The Almond Tree, but if you are driving there are cheaper restaurants in smaller towns/bays.
Supermarket shopping is limited.

The ATM machine in Castara is a bonus.

Tips: You Can hitch To/from Englishman's Bay, or get a taxi but don't Pay more than $30TT one way, Our driver from The Coffee Shop in Castara never came back for us, so We hitched a Free ride back inTo town!!
Some People are Just friendly And willing To give you a Free ride, Taxi's will try there best To ripe you off!!

The bus To Scourborgh is convenient - if it turns up!! And only about $5TT Per Person.

Beaches:
Pirate's Bay And Man-O-War Bay were Lovely, sea seemed calmer.
EnglishMan's Bay was quiet, but The sand was rough And waves high when We went. But My Kids Played in The river at The far end, And watched The fish in The clear waters.
Castara Bay was Perfect for relaxing, snorkelling, Playing in The sand, watching The boats And swimming. The Sunsets were Amazing Too. I Just wish We had a few more Days To spend on The beach snorkelling And laying in The sea at Castara.

We really want To return for a week Just relaxing in Castara!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
13.4 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
13.0 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,502 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
8.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
438 reviews
7.2 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naturalist Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naturalist Beach Resort

Property: Naturalist Beach Resort
Address: Castara Bay Road, Castara, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naturalist Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Naturalist Beach Resort provides a charm that brings people together and has a great number of returning guests listed as "VIP's" The perfect type of settings to sooth you and allows you to totally unwind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Naturalist Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naturalist Beach Hotel Castara
Naturalist Beach Resort Tobago/Castara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing