We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“very cute and with a little Robison-Feeling”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Castara Cottage

Castara Cottage, Trinidad and Tobago
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castara Cottage, Trinidad and Tobago
Tamarind master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
43 reviews
Castara Cottage, Trinidad and Tobago
Tamarind master bedroom
Tamarind lounge
Tamarind kitchen
Tamarind patio
Cinnamon lounge
View of Castara resized
Sunset at Big Bay
Castara Bay beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Giuseppe3...
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very cute and with a little Robison-Feeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is simply and nearly complete made of wood. You have a own kitchen and two bedrooms with totally 3 beds. you have every thing you need and a nice livingroom where you can open the big "windows" and then you have a open-covered livingroom.
The toiliett and the shower are very little but enough for vacation needs. The cottage - we were in the cottage "cinnamon"- has also a covered terrace where you can rest for a while even if there is a little liquid sunshine (=a short rain shower - as the locals says). The cottage is located near the beach (a 3-minutes-walk) and the housekeeper - Keysha - is very very nice and helpful (she did a great job). I can only recommend this cottage, but don' look here after a clinical and luxury stay. It's simple, you have every thing you need and as in the title written: some kind of Robinson Crusoe-Style, little, nice, near the beach, clean and you can choose witch beach you want to go for a swimm: the big Castara-Bay and the little bay (Heavenly Bay).
Really a cute place!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Lovely accomodation in tropical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Saffron apartment at Castara Cottages. Communication before and during booking was quick and pleasant, and during our stay we were very well looked after by Keisha who gave us lots of invaluable information and showed us around. The apartment itself consisted of a big main room with kitchen and also a shower/toilet room, and (the best bit) a balcony where we fed bananas to the tropical birds and bats. It looks a bit ramshackle (it's perched on stilts on the side of a hill) but it all adds to the charm and you're right in the village on the main road (up and the hill from the beach). One note is that there are lots of gaps for mosquitos to get through, but we were provided with a mosquito net over the bed (a bit like a tropical 4-poster). However, I'd still recommend you bring some anti-mosquito sprays and post-bite cream anyway. It's also a bit noisy as some others have said, but you get used to the goats and cockerels after a while! (but bring ear plugs). All in all, absolutely fantastic and good value - Castara was also our favourite village on the island, Very friendly and lots of stuff going on.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families - and couples.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Oh, boy ! We had a FANTASTIC time in Castara.
This was the first holiday since we had the kids – now 5 years & 18 months.
The village is amazing – so friendly and peaceful. Total relaxation, with no dilemmas about what to do next – because there isn’t anything !!!
Well, that is a lie because we did venture out on an amazing boat-trip, plus a spectacular rainforest tour.
The village is ‘sedate’ – but, occasionally springs into life depending upon the time & day of the week.
From the outset, the owner of Castara Cottage arranged for transportation from the airport, baby-cot, high chair & all the other comforts PLUS a babysitter.
We even had traditional home cooked breakfast & evening meal with the freshly caught fish – cooked by Keisha, the housekeeper/manager.
Castara is a chill-out & Castara Cottage is perfect for families.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissyxa...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four adults and three children stayed in Tamarind and Saffron apartments which were joined together to make one big space that was perfect as we do like to spread out. An additional bonus was that they were extremely well-equipped and had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. It was also good to have two verandahs where we could either relax separately, or come together as one big group when we wanted.
Like everyone else, we fed the birds and were amazed with just how many there were and how beautiful they are. Our favorites were the flocks of banaquits that came to feed on the sugar that the children put out every morning and the majestic mot-mot which appeared suddenly most evenings. We also went on two boat-trips and a rainforest walk and thoroughly enjoyed both experiences.
But the absolute favorite activity for all of us was sunbathing, snorkeling and relaxing on the beach - it was great to have two to choose from.
We had a great time and would recommend Castara and Castara Cottage to anyone looking for a great family holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house was perfect for our large family group.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie G
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

No need to look any further – this has to be the best honeymoon destination of all time ! Castara is just paradise and Saffron apartment is perfect for two - we wish we had more days to spend.

Our five night stay at Castara Cottage was absolutely wonderful. We did lots of bird-watching by putting fruit (bananas mostly) and pieces of bread on the balcony ledge and saw more birds here, than anywhere else.

As for the rooster, that other guests have mentioned - he is just part of the experience and you soon get used to the many sounds and of this unspoilt and welcoming village. There is nothing better than hearing the sound of the waves, exotic bird calls and the rooster crowing in the morning.

We loved everything about Castara Cottage – especially the mosquito nets which feel so romantic and cosy at nights. The house is clean and better equipped than most holiday apartments with good kitchen/cooking facilities.

Local people are friendly, sociable and incredibly generous with their time and advice. Someone else said that you should relax because you are safe, and it's true. The people in Castara are all about love.

Tobago is truly the paradise we were looking for! The beaches are magnificent, the water is warm and inviting, and Castara is a lovely town. Our stay at Castara Cottage has been wonderful too. Everything was great and more than we expected. Thank you for a lovely place to stay and to enjoy our few days in heaven.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Nearby beaches and bird-watching
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolyuk
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a real "get away from it all" retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

we stayed here for 10 days (my partner and 5 year old daughter) and loved it! the owners, who were there at the time, were very helpful. it wouldn't suit someone who has to have air conditioning and room service, but if you don't mind roughing it a bit you will find that the kitchen is well equipped and if gets too hot you can always head to the beach and get in the water! you feel very "off the grid" while still having a decent internet connection. and the local bars and restaurants are great. sweet!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$70
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing