We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Sweet Home in Castara”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Castara Cottage

Castara Cottage, Trinidad and Tobago
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castara Cottage, Trinidad and Tobago
Tamarind master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Castara Cottage, Trinidad and Tobago
Tamarind master bedroom
Tamarind lounge
Tamarind kitchen
Tamarind patio
Cinnamon lounge
View of Castara resized
Sunset at Big Bay
Castara Bay beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tommy004
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Sweet Home in Castara”
Reviewed March 22, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I were escaping from NYC for one week of relax and by chance we booked the Saffron apartment at Castara Cottage. It was a lucky pick! We enjoyed every single moment in the house, cooking fresh fish, reading on the terrace or just sleeping protected by the mosquito net.
If you are looking for something homy, with discret but proactive service (Thanks Ann & Joshua!), this is your place.

Date of stay: March 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineLie...
Purkersdorf, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, but impossible to sleep and rest in your holidays”
Reviewed February 9, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We (three friends) stayed in Castara for two weeks in Jan 2011 and loved the village and it's friendly and helpful locals.
Castara Cottage Tamarind apartment is really as nice as on the pictures, cosy, colorful, fresh with a spacy terrace giving space to all of us.
As the cottage is situated in the middle of two streets leading to beaches very often locals dropped by to chat or leave fruits (Mango, Papaya..) on our table.
We liked the space and interior of the apartment, even if the bathroom could be much better as it isn't tiled and has a very small washing basin. We have seen much better bathrooms within more economic apartments in Castara- this could be improved, so far the only small critics in a first moment, BUT:
The worst had to come: as the apartment is fully wooden construction and very open it is also very loud. In Castara there are lot's of Roosters and chicken and dogs. Roosters start crying at 1 o'clock in the morning, dogs bark all the time, nearby church with loud music early evening, main road behind the apartment with cars and loud music- all this we could have managed and get used to it.
ONE THING HAS BEEN IMPOSSIBLE: sleep all night long with the neighbors dog barking 4 or 6 times a night almost for half an hour. It seemed as if the dog was standing in our room. The neighbor keeps the dog just 3 meters away and chained in the night- and he was not willing to move it into the house or behind his house. We tried one week with earplugs, one of my friends had a nervous breakdown after 8 nights without sleep, even with earplugs and had to move to another place. Joshua the manager was very nice and tried to help us, he also talked to the neighbor- no chance. Locals tried to find a quiet and not expensive place for us, as they already knew that there was a problem with this dog- they have had complaints before, so also the owner of the place has been already aware about this problem, but nobody had warned us!
We asked the owner of the apartment if she was willing to return at least a small part of the prepayment as we had to move, she was not willing to help.

So we are very disappointed- even if the place is so nice- we cannot recommend this place to other people if the dog problem is not solved.

We were told that all dogs do bark, not only the neighbors’ dog, but we can tell that this is not really the truth: yes, there is some barking in the night- but this dog is the only one you can hear all night through and that loud over whole Castara. And I'm very sorry for the owner of Castara Cottage to have built such a beautiful apartment and then get such neighbors. But this is no excuse for not advising customers in advance that there night be this noise problem, especially as Castara Cottage is not beneath the most economic places. We paid 1382 USD for two weeks, so minimum one can expect is that he's able to sleep at night!!!
We work hard all year round, a lot of stress, so holidays are HOLY to be able to relax once a year- not possible without sleep.
Possible to have a nervous breakdown? Yes: Deprivation of sleep is used as a torture method.
After we partially moved to another place and were able to sleep the last 6 nights of our stay we could finally really enjoy this great place and it's friendly inhabitants! We also went to soca concert in Scarborough with some locals and had great time seeing 6 bands and dancing.

We loved Castara and it's people, the beaches, the nature, liming and dancing, snorkeling (also saw big stingray in the little bay), the locals are so friendly we sure will return!! But sorry- NOT to Castara Cottage

Date of stay: January 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewed December 10, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SJT69
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wondeful relaxing week”
Reviewed October 25, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

I spend a week at Castara Cottage in the Tamarind Apartment and for me it was the perfect Castara holiday spot. Close to the beach, and near the heart of the village, you can experience the real tobago. I loved the large terrace and sharing my breakfast with the birds and early morning sun.
Englishmans Bay is only a 10 min drive and has the most divine beach if you fancy a Robinson crusoe moment.
Joshua who looks after the property was delightful, and I can't wait to return and explore more of the island.
Sarah.

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Reviewed September 21, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed March 22, 2010 for a stay in February 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Insects
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed January 14, 2010 for a stay in August 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The feeling of being in a home away from home
Liked least: Could have done with a bit more storage for our clothes
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing