We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really deserves their good reputation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really deserves their good reputation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Simply perfect, just have a look at the homepage and book. Stephanie, Alibaba and their staff are really serviceminded. Clean rooms, quiet, a wonderful beach 10 meters from the balcony. We also went to Carnival and a rainforrest tour with them, just perfect. ML

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzmysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
80
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday staying at Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments. We loved Castara and Little Bay. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the world go by, taking a dip into the warm clear blue sea and being gently sent to sleep by the sound of the waves at night. We found the reviews left by other people here about what to see and do in Castara very useful especially about buying fish from the fishermen in Big Bay, restaurant recommendations and taking a walk Castara's waterfall. It was a unforgettable Christmas and New Year holiday and thank you to Stephanie and Alibaba for making us feel so welcome. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knitwit1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Forget the hustle and bustle of city life, sit back, and watch the life of Castara bay from your balcony or the beach located steps away. Alibaba's offers all that you could need for a relaxing retreat, a comfortable king size bed, well-equipped kitchen, hot water shower and local family sized eateries and enough small shops for fruits, veggies, bread, fish and beer. For a main grocery stock be sure to stop at the supermarket in Bon Accord (nearby the airport). Brian and Stephanie have ensured that if you are looking for a great value holiday apartment accommodation this is the place to be.
Whether you want to sit back and watch the birds or put on your snorkel and fins and check out the reef and sea life all is available right in front of your balcony. For more adventure take a waterfall hike to local Castara falls or take a drive and find some of the local attractions around the island. The hike to Highland falls was a particular favourite of ours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for five nights. The accommodation is simple: no television, no radio, no air-conditioning, and no swimming pool.

BUT we had a truly AMAZING EXPERIENCE and I would easily stay here again. There are so many things that make up for the “simplicity” I mention above. In fact, the simplicity is what makes this place so sublime.

The lack of TV & radio for instance, is by far compensated by the sounds of the Caribbean Sea, which are only a few yards away from the verandah. And if that’s not enough, then the cheerful sounds of tropical birds each morning surely must please.

As for the missing swimming pool… Who could ever need a swimming pool somewhere as beautiful as Castara Bay? The bay is, itself, a natural swimming pool, complete with soft sand that eases slowly into the sea. Plenty of shallow areas to swim in, and deeper water further out if you like. And the sea life: stunning. Certainly something you won’t get in a hotel swimming pool. You may see turtles, sting rays, eels and dozens of different fish in Castara Bay if the sea is calm. We took our own snorkels and were amazed by the sea life each time we ventured only 10 meters or so away from the shore. I have previously snorkeled and dived in the Maldives and my experience in Castara Bay was almost just as good.

As for no air-con. There are three fans in the room and this was enough for us. Being by the sea, there is a sea breeze (as the accommodation name suggests…) and this was also quite cooling.

The room includes a beautiful verandah with furniture, a kitchen with oven, hobs, a fridge, sink and coffee machine. The bed was large and comfortable and included a very clean mosquito net. The bathroom included a shower (no bath) and the water pressure was also high and the water hot. The apartments are cleaned spotlessly twice a week.

If you don’t fancy buying a few fish directly from the fisherman each afternoon a few hundred meters down the beach (we did and this was extremely good value), then there is a restaurant right on the beach, about 40 meters from the apartment. The food here was superb. Just so you know, there is a shop next to the beach (a 10-15 minute walk from the apartments), selling rice, milk, vegetables, fruits, coffee, seasonings, meat, soft drinks, washing liquid – pretty much everything you need if you want to eat self-catered every night. It was much easier to get hold of such food items than some TripAdvisor reviews would have you believe.

I’ve uploaded photos and a video in an attempt to portray just how wonderful and magic these apartments and Castara are but they really do not do the place justice. I spent days dithering on the internet trying to decide whether to stay at these apartments and in the end, having now been to Castara, I am convinced that I made the right choice. I found it hard to decide in the first place because I’m used to staying at places with all the mod-cons like air-con, swimming pools etc., so choosing this place was a bit of a risk for me at the time. But now, having stayed there, I would stay here again without a second thought. I just wish it was not so far away.

For those of you concerned by the lack of “creature comforts”, then ask yourself “why am I going on holiday?” If your answer is to truly escape the monotony of everyday life things, like computers, mobile phones, ready meals, trains, crowds etc. and indulge in a unique experience where you feel millions of miles away from the real world, then this is the place for you. If, however, you want five star luxury, waiter service, buffet breakfasts and a swimming pool with an attached bar, then this probably isn’t. If you’re dithering like I was – just book – I seriously doubt you’ll regret it!

Room Tip: All four rooms share the same view - it is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sigosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you like a bustling beach front, dozens of bars and discos or resorts, then this is not the place for you! Look elsewhere.
If like us you want to escape from the World, have a relaxing time, good weather and food, watch the sun setting over a stunning bay while sipping Gin n tonics, then Castara is the place!

If you then want an apartment that in our opinion is in the best loaction in the bay then Alibababas is perfectly located. Four apartments placed in the very corner of the bay and only a few yards above the beach offers the perfect place. You need to remember that Tobago is basically a very large mountain in the sea covered in rain forest, so if you choose an apartment away from the beach then you need to be pretty fit! Steep steps and roads everywhere if you want to go anywhere. It did rain sometimes, mainly showers which was a bit bizarre when it was in bright sunshine, but a welcome break from the hot sun.

Stephanie and Brian are the owners and are great hosts organising our pick up from the airport and the return without any fuss or problem. (Thanks Mendales). It is free if you are staying a reasonable length of time. If you had any problems (we didn't) or any questions, they were always around and had plenty of helpful friendly advice.

The apartments have everything that you need for your stay. They are relatively basic but kept very clean and are cleaned every other day including changing the sheets and shower curtain. As the temperature does not drop more than a couple of degrees at night it was very warm and ceiling fans helped to circulate the air. There are mosquitoes around but nets are provided for the four poster bed.

On the first night we went to sleep, I think, counting waves not sheep! The waves sounded like they were about to crash into the room, but you soon get used to it. The ceiling seems to amplify the sound to the extent that you would think that you would wake up to waves you could surf on, but turned out to be very small and gently lapping up the beach!

Night like dawn comes early so early nights to bed were often our choice after an incredibly tiring day reading on the beach, snorkling over the reef watching rays and turtles, eating lunch at the boat house beach bar! It was a hard life. Ha!

The bay is split into two beaches by a rocky outcrop that is possible to wade/swim around. Our beach was the smaller of the two and about 200m long, but if there were 6 people on it at any one time it was packed! Probably the time of year, but again perfect for us. You can put your towels out early but there is not much point when you are often the only ones there! The water is warm and an extremely enjoyable temperature.

Stephanie and Brian own a couple of dogs and so do most of the neighbours so do not feel alarmed if they take it upon themselves to follow you down to the beach or to a local restaurant. We got quite attached to the dogs in the two weeks we were there almost to the extent that some locals thought they belonged to us!

We ate in our apartment on the majority of nights, the kitchen had everything that you need, however we did take some assorted herbs and spices from home. Why did we eat in? Not because of a shortage of local restaurants or poor quality food (this is not the case). We ate in because of the local fish! We would pop down to the fishermans landing point in the middle of the bay after about 1500hrs when they started to return with their catches and we would buy what ever they had caught, mainly Dolphin fish. Bright yellow and green and certainly a bit weird looking, but ask for it filleted, lightly fry in oil with fresh garlic, ginger and peri peri spices and you will not taste anything better. It was the equivalent of eating filet steak every night. Incredible and good for you.

We used the apartment balcony every morning as the sun came up attracting the stunning multi-coloured local birds with bread crumbs and bananas while we drank our coffee and ate breakfast. The "Mot Mot" (yes its proper name) is beautiful.
We also made it part of our routine to get back to the balcony every night to "Chill" by watching the sun go down and the fishermen coming back into the bay. It was a stunning view that you can never tire of and I do think our apartment "Stingray" definately had the best of those views.

Throughout the week the local restaurants took it in turn to hold themed nights either based on food or music like steel dums at the Coffee shop or African drums at the Beach House. They were great nights and with good food. Well worth going to.

Cash Point - Yes even in Castara, 24hrs and it worked for us without any problem but you need to tell your bank where you are going before you leave the UK!

Supermarkets - Similar in size to my garden shed and some had less goods than on our own kitchen shelves, so choice was limited but we adequately got by with all we needed. They did stock tonic water for our Gin, so what more did we need!

Fights - 7 1/2 - 8hrs direct from Gatwick with Virgin. Direct flights are always a bonus and I rate Virgin Atlantic highly. Book early and get a great deal! Just remember the robbin' tax man takes most of your hard earned dosh!

The whole of tobago is so layed back it has to be horizontal. The locals were very friendly, everyone in Castara knows everyone else or is related to them, so you feel safe. It does not take long to fall into this way of life and bin your watch. No TV, no radio and limited mobile. (Stephanie has a mobile she can loan to you if necessary on a cheaper local nework. Making calls often met with a response "number not available" or "not in service." Just keep trying as it you will get through. Texting was even more unpredicatble!)

Want to escape from the rat race for a couple of weeks, then Alibabas in Castara is the place to do it. This was perfection for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davieMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I really enjoyed staying in Castara. First i planned to stay 3 nights, but the moment i came there i already decided thati want to stay couple of days longer. The village itself is wonderful, people are nice, it has some good karma. Ali babas sea breeze apartments are very nice, they got that wonderful views from balcony that are worth every cent. All night you can hear the sea..first night it was strange but i got used to it very fast. apartments have everything you need, they even come to clean everything when you are out, i was suprised about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petras L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales U.K.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place and the whole ambience of Castara is unique - and we loved it. Life on a balcony has never been better than Alibabas, we were generally awake by 6.30am and sat on the balcony enjoying the sights and sounds of the wildlife of Castara, so relaxing and enjoyable - we are not normally balcony people, but it was too good to miss.
A pre-breakfast dip in the sea was easy and refreshing - the kitchen had all we needed to rustle up light meals.
Snorkelling - wow! saw wonderful shoals, and some larger fish such as Rays and some turtles, with the storks and other sea birds diving for fish around you.
We both felt safe - both in the water and in the village
The culture of the village is different - we soon found it easy to fit in with the locals ways. You might turn up at a restaurant, with no-one (staff or customers) visible, a little call out usually brought some-one out from the house behind, sometimes no menu visible so we just asked what they were cooking tonight and they would usually offer 3 or 4 options - always well cooked, tasty and served with a smile.
It was actually good fun to experience eating out in this style... and the folks although sometimes initially 'shy' were friendly and fun to talk with.
We loved the 24 hour 'backing music' of birds, frogs, the sea and the chickens
If you are looking for 5 star luxury and cuisine with silver service Castara may not be for you - but we can't wait to get back
Many thanks to My tobago and the team at Alibabas for helping us discover and thoroughly enjoy Castara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerCrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castara
0.1 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castara Retreats
Castara Retreats
#1 of 11 in Castara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
13.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
11.5 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments

Property: Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments
Address: Depot Road, Castara, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alibabas Sea Breeze is located in Castara at the Caribbean Coast of the island. About an hour from the airport with stunning views from the balconies, a few steps distance to the beach, hot water showers, fully equipped kitchens, back support king size beds with mosquito nets, big fridges to always enjoy a cold drink or do some cooking with the fresh produce and fish you can buy in the village and also a restaurant close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments Tobago/Castara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing