We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of The Seahorse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Did not stay at hotel but restaurant came highly recommended.
The food was excellent.
The service mediocre.
The ambience was a nightmare.
Too many tables crowded in. Do not want to be able to hear the conversations on the next table or even have to ask them to move from their chairs to enable exit.

Better to put prices up and make the atmosphere and service better.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank roosterbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2006

Heard so much about this place just had to try it, as a disabled person thought I would not be able to get in,a problem I have had with a few of the places on Tobago. No worries ,I was helped in by a staff member who not only took me in through the side door but also was on hand throughout my stay and could not have been more helpful. My veggie meals were first class and very often not on the menu but made just for me! Stay again? Too right I will!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penygwraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2006

After reading the mostly positive reviews, we were expecting great things. The rooms are very basic, and breakfast is not good at all. On the first day we were given a choice of fruit, cereal, etc but from the following day we just got what the waitress decided we would have!! My biggest gripe with the place is the fact that the owners are (as previously commented upon in another review) utterly disinterested in their B&B guests. We did not expect the red carpet treatment, however, a smile and a good morning costs nothing and would have made a difference. I think for the accommodation on offer, the prices charged by The Seahorse are way too high. We visited the Kariwak Hotel on a number of occasions to eat their excellent food ( in our opinion the best we ate on the island ) and they had much nicer accommodation and a beautiful pool set in gardens for very similar rates to those charged by the Seahorse. If we go to Tobago again, we would definitely stay at the Kariwak.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Areviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed at Seahorse Inn for 3 nights in the first week of January, 2006. We picked this place because of the beautiful pictures in its web site. What true is that it locates right on the beach and the room is pretty. However, the service is very poor. The room that we stayed has two double beds which they put together into one single queen size bed. This is not practical for a couple like us. We asked for the change but the hotel staffs who are also restaurant staffs ignored us. It is exactly like the travellers from Manchester England described in the forum on April, 2005. The hotel part is secondary to the restaurant. Whatever we asked were ignored for the first time, we had to ask for twice or three time to get something. The main web site advertised that room comes with breakfast. Please don't expect the breakfast you see in the picture. It is a muffin and toast breadfast with limited amount. You can't ask for the second serving. We ended up go to House of Pancake for breakfast because it was too terrible to take their breakfast. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank divahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2006

This was far from the first time I've eaten in Tobago, but it was the last and beyond question the best. After five hours in Scarborough trying to get on an oversold ferry (visitors from Trinidad take note - avoid the Lynx at all costs), we ended up opting for a late crossing and early dinner. I had read about Seahorse Inn and when we saw the signs just past Turtle Beach and climbed the stairs to the bar, the horrid experience of the day disappeared. This is the way the Caribbean is SUPPOSED TO BE. Living in London and spending much time in NY, L.A. and Paris, I have seen a few wine lists but was amazed at the variety and vintages offered here (Ch. Petrus in Tobago? Am I seeing things?).

We each chose a different dish and shared a bite - everything was cooked to perfection and no "provisions" to be seen. Service was quick, professional and cheerful (unlike pretty much everywhere else I've eaten in Tobago). Ambience is nirvana, food was faultless and wine list, as I before, mind-blowing.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2005

We have just returned from this wonderful island and have visited for the fifth time this wonderful restaurant. The location, the staff, especially Dexter, and the food are all terrific. If ever you are in Tobago, enjoy this place which is quite our favourite, and we travel all around the world. Dexter will serve you with quiet elegance and efficiency, and it is a pleasure to be in his company. If you manage to pay a visit here, we are sure you will enjoy every moment, as we did.
Roz and Colin Gooding

7  Thank holiday fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
338
Reviewed July 2, 2005

The Seahorse Inn was an incredible choice for our Tobago stay. The location, which was right on the beach, was perfect. We had a wonderful view of the beach from our balcony, and it was easy to go for a quick swim whenever we wanted. The snorkeling was also very nice on the right side of the bay - lots of schooling fish and a coral reef which was described by many as "a nursery for reef fish" because of the amount of young "baby" fish. From our private balcony, we could view the ocean through gorgeous palm trees. One day we were even able to watch some local fishermen pull in their nets filled with fish. Plus, there were lots of lizards and birds that would visit while we sat on our balcony drinking rum punch and reading. Very relaxing and private!

Our room was incredibly roomy with a vaulted ceiling, air-conditioning, safe, and a decent sized bathroom. Not fancy but very clean. We really felt at home while we stayed here.

As others have already emphasized, the restaurant was beautiful with little white lights, surrounded by lit palm trees, elegant table settings and high class service. And the food was simply delicious.

Norma, the owner, and Krista were sincerely friendly and always ready to answer questions or offer suggestions, depending on what we needed. They were also helpful in booking our tours of the rainforest and a snorkeling catamaran trip, as well as scheduling other accommodations and our Tobago Express flight. Truly, Norma went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. All, while terribly busy with the restaurant.

Overall, we would highly recommend the Seahorse Inn. The only negatives are that it can get a bit loud at night due to the nature of living in a room literally located right next to the restaurant and/or kitchen, depending on which room you have. And sometimes, you must walk through the restaurant to get to your room. Aside from those two realities, it was a great value for food, location, atmosphere and quality of rooms & staff. We wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
3.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#2 of 3 in Black Rock
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Address: Old Grafton Beach Road, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seahorse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Scarborough
The Seahorse Inn Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing