We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit was worth it.”
Review of The Seahorse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Once again, we visited here and it was just as good as before.

I agree that the food isn't the cheapest and there are cheaper places to eat on the island, although the standard is there and it was very tasty. It is hard to cater for so many nationalities that you will never please everyone, but they do a very good job.

We will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Disappointing that this place is not better. The food is pricey but not bad, International style with local fish dishes (the chef does need to look up 'tempura' in a cookbook somewhere!) and we had a couple of reasonable meals. The restaurant itself is a little tired but quite pretty in candlelight. The problem is the service. The lady who runs it seems like she'd be happier elsewhere and the staff were bizarrely mainly Filipino! No obvious reason why local people should be so noticeably absent. No welcome on arrival, feels like you are being a nuisance troubling them for a table. Not many restaurants in the area but The Fish Pot is a much better choice if you want a real taste of Tobago.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DrogoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located. You could have walked to the beach. Breakfast was good. Didn't have any dinner since we were out most nights. The rooms were good for the price, however the rooms on the upper floor were located near the restaurant. This posed a problem getting to your room and didn't allow for much privacy. Staff was very helpful and assisted where necessary. We would visit again but would stay in a room on the lower deck.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Andy and I were recommended the Seahorse Inn Tobago by Robert of Tobago Weddings (our wedding planner) and we could not be more pleased with his suggesstion.

We stayed at this relaxing haven the two nights before our wedding and the service that we experienced here was lovely. Staff were attentive and helpful - Norma was very on the ball for keeping an eye over our reception and talked us through the running of the occasion - even putting a call through to the meterolgy department in Trinidad to confirm weather condition for our special day. She was very knowledgeable and we cannot thank her enough.

The food served at our wedding reception was nothing short of amazing. Everything was well cooked, well presented and tasted as good as it looked. There was also a good selection of drinks available and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Location wise, it was lovely, espeically watching the beautiful sunset from the open terrace! We had quite a few pics of these. Our guests as well as ourselves had an enjoyable experience here and will be recommending it to all our friends.

Next time we are in Tobago, we will be sure to visit again.

Room Tip: The only lacking of the establishment were - there is no wi-fi so perfect if you want to be discon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missparaminuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Picture perfect setting, overshadowed with palm trees and flowers next to the beach in sunset location. Beautiful courtyard/patio. Greeted and seated by very friendly and professional staff, and the service over all very attentive and fast ( unlike many others on the island). We had a variety of appetizers and entrees, all of it delicious. Well prepared, beautiful presented and worth the money (average 200 TT$ per entree). Great selection of fish, but also lamb and pork.
During one week of touring Tobago, this was the best dinner by far!
(And, if you are there during turtle nesting season, don't miss out on going to the Turtle Beach - 1 mile north - afterwards! You will find volunteering turtle patrols on the beach, no need to spend money on a guide!)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joxarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want a really magical evening with palm trees and the sea lapping below sitting on a beautiful terrace this is the place to go. I dined here with cousins from Trinidad. The meal was delicious, well cooked and reasonably priced. I understand they have good rooms with balconies looking out to sea, at what sounded very good prices. The service is warm, smiley and attentive. What was also very pleasing was that it had real character and was not the normal identikit restaurant - hotel one can see any where in the world. Down a little side road it is not easily spotted. It is also where locals and foreigners frequent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 333GK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I reviewed this restaurant a couple years ago and found it top class... Sad to say that February 2013 I am back and have found the whole experience has been less that perfect. The first person to great us did so professionally and seated us quickly but nothing else after that was very good. Our drinks took long. The mojito was served in a short scotch glass and tasted like it came from a bottle not fresh like the last time I visited. Could hardly finish it. Started lobster salad was like eating only potato salad with stringy pieces of lobster scattered sparingly on it. I had to retreat to the washroom to pull lobster strings from between my teeth after..... Not enjoyable at all. Our food took almost a full hour to arrive at our table during which time we weren't offered any other drinks and no one ever stopped at our table to ask if we were ok.
The food order was mixed up.... I was given sword fish while my husband was given the mahi mahi.... And told by the server that one was the other.... We exchanged plates when he left.
My son ordered the pork chop. Each of us was served mash potatoes with our meals.... Not even fresh mash.... Which I expect from a restaurant that charges these prices. The food was tasty but not exceptional and definitely the mash potatoes killed the whole dinning experience..... And still... No one offered us any drinks!!....no one checked on our table when we got our food.... Our plates were removed fifteen minutes after we finished our meal... I told the woman at that point that we hadn't been offered drinks and she said sorry but still didn't offer drinks!!!!! On well... Dessert was very expensive for ice cream which was a boring icy textured vanilla and the plum pudding much too tart... Friends joined us at the dessert stage and it was like we were begging to get them chair menu and drinks.... Poor poor poor service.... Gone to the dogs.... Mediocre food.... Just ordinary.... And prices..... Used to be worth it because of the experience but now seems over priced.
Seahorse inn was my favorite restaurant to visit in Tobago... Now ... Not sure if I have the guts to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tummypleaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
257 reviews
18.8 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#1 of 3 in Black Rock
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Address: Old Grafton Beach Road, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seahorse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Scarborough
The Seahorse Inn Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing