We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Tobago!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seahorse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Tobago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Picture perfect setting, overshadowed with palm trees and flowers next to the beach in sunset location. Beautiful courtyard/patio. Greeted and seated by very friendly and professional staff, and the service over all very attentive and fast ( unlike many others on the island). We had a variety of appetizers and entrees, all of it delicious. Well prepared, beautiful presented and worth the money (average 200 TT$ per entree). Great selection of fish, but also lamb and pork.
During one week of touring Tobago, this was the best dinner by far!
(And, if you are there during turtle nesting season, don't miss out on going to the Turtle Beach - 1 mile north - afterwards! You will find volunteering turtle patrols on the beach, no need to spend money on a guide!)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joxarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want a really magical evening with palm trees and the sea lapping below sitting on a beautiful terrace this is the place to go. I dined here with cousins from Trinidad. The meal was delicious, well cooked and reasonably priced. I understand they have good rooms with balconies looking out to sea, at what sounded very good prices. The service is warm, smiley and attentive. What was also very pleasing was that it had real character and was not the normal identikit restaurant - hotel one can see any where in the world. Down a little side road it is not easily spotted. It is also where locals and foreigners frequent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 333GK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I reviewed this restaurant a couple years ago and found it top class... Sad to say that February 2013 I am back and have found the whole experience has been less that perfect. The first person to great us did so professionally and seated us quickly but nothing else after that was very good. Our drinks took long. The mojito was served in a short scotch glass and tasted like it came from a bottle not fresh like the last time I visited. Could hardly finish it. Started lobster salad was like eating only potato salad with stringy pieces of lobster scattered sparingly on it. I had to retreat to the washroom to pull lobster strings from between my teeth after..... Not enjoyable at all. Our food took almost a full hour to arrive at our table during which time we weren't offered any other drinks and no one ever stopped at our table to ask if we were ok.
The food order was mixed up.... I was given sword fish while my husband was given the mahi mahi.... And told by the server that one was the other.... We exchanged plates when he left.
My son ordered the pork chop. Each of us was served mash potatoes with our meals.... Not even fresh mash.... Which I expect from a restaurant that charges these prices. The food was tasty but not exceptional and definitely the mash potatoes killed the whole dinning experience..... And still... No one offered us any drinks!!....no one checked on our table when we got our food.... Our plates were removed fifteen minutes after we finished our meal... I told the woman at that point that we hadn't been offered drinks and she said sorry but still didn't offer drinks!!!!! On well... Dessert was very expensive for ice cream which was a boring icy textured vanilla and the plum pudding much too tart... Friends joined us at the dessert stage and it was like we were begging to get them chair menu and drinks.... Poor poor poor service.... Gone to the dogs.... Mediocre food.... Just ordinary.... And prices..... Used to be worth it because of the experience but now seems over priced.
Seahorse inn was my favorite restaurant to visit in Tobago... Now ... Not sure if I have the guts to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tummypleaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamstreet, Kent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked the Seahorse Inn for the Gala New Year's Eve dinner by email, several weeks in advance of our holiday as a special treat. At £65.00 a head for a four course meals including 3 glasses of wine, it seemed expensive, but not ridiculously so for a special occasion. The location is lovely at lunchtime, a wide veranda overlooking the sea, but at night, you can't see the sea, only the road just below the balcony, so not quite as romantic as we'd anticipated. The meal was good, but really not worth the money, as some dishes were just trying too hard to be over-fancy and not quite succeeding as well as they'd hoped. Some combinations of flavours did not work and my scallops were overcooked and rubbery. However, despite the staff being utterly charming, they just could not cope with the number of tables booked, as it was probably the slowest meal I have ever had anywhere. We arrived at 8.45pm and it took an hour before our starters arrived. Slowly we worked our way through a salad course and another hour after that we finally got our main course at 11.15pm. Another hour later we still had not even had our dessert order taken, let alone eaten it! On arrival we had asked them to book us a taxi for 12.15pm, to be ahead of the rush of post-midnight leavers, but they forgot to do so, and eventually they got us a taxi at 12.45pm, by which time we still had not been served dessert or coffee. We left after four hours, having agreed to a discount to the set menu price. We were promised a free drink next time we went back, and so we returned a couple of days later, however they were full, so they suggested we had our drink in the bar while they found us a table at another local restaurant. This they did, we thought, and presented us with a bill for the "free" drink! When we got to the next restaurant, they had not reserved a table at all!
I'm sure on a less busy occasion the experience would be much better, but they really could not cope with the numbers and seemed totally disorganized.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzzyPacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I worked in Tobago for a few years and visited most of the restaurants in the west side of the island and this is my favourite. The food, atmosphere and service are great. It's a little bit more expensive than the average restaurant, but it's a case of you only get what you pay for.
Our glasses were never empty and everyone enjoyed the food. If I ever go back this is one place I would definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunch_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We drove from Scarborough in the dark not knowing the way....it is tricky to find! But it was well worth the effort. Lovely setting on a large terrace overlooking the sea (which at night we could only hear), but lots of pot plants & nice lighting.
The menu was reasonably extensive, and the food beautifully presented and very tasty. Staff were attentive & professional. The wine list is adequate, but the cocktails are worth a look.
We were advised to make a reservation. It seems like a good choice for a romantic dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We didn't stay here but used the restaurant. The food was lovely and the staff were great and it was great relaxed atmosphere. I would definetly recomend here for a great meal.

Room Tip: Worth a stop just for the great food
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#2 of 3 in Black Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Property: The Seahorse Inn
Address: Old Grafton Beach Road, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seahorse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Scarborough
The Seahorse Inn Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing