We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Review” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seahorse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

We had dinner at this restaurant and were extremely disapppointed. When we first arrived there was maybe 5-6 employees sitting around the parking lot which is a bit uncomfortable for people who are arriving for dinner. Loittering employees around dinner time isn't very classy. Some other dinner guests passed the entrance by mistake but instead of helping; the employees proceeded to shout(in their local dialect) from where they were idly perched. We eventually walked toward them and led them the right way.
The bread basket had some soft rolls that seemed very cheap and processed.
The seafood tempura is soggy, battered seafood which was tasteless and oily. Tempura is supposed to be a light, crispy batter.
The lobster was also lacking in flavor. The steak was cooked exactly how we wanted but the peppercorn sauce was not enjoyable. It was too salty and cold by the time the food was served.
2 of our party got serious food poisoning from creole caesar salads. It was the only thing they both ate in common that entire day and they were sick for a full 24 hour period. I am not sure if the shrimp or anchovies were going bad but food poisoning is not enjoyable on vacation.

While the service is decent, the attention was too much at some points. When our entrees were served 4 different servers asked how the meals were within a three minute period. Which obviously breaks the party's conversation so that wasn't very tactful of the employees. I barely had a taste at that point. One of the servers actually told my husband to take his USED butter knife back so he could use it for his appetizers but she took away our bread plates before we were done our first cocktail. Is it that hard to bring the table some clean knives????
We read some rave reviews but it did not live up to the hype. It is also pricey so we did feel a bit cheated. Side orders need to be beefed up as well. Seahorse Inn has a long way to go to be top class restaurant.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Sontag_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2007

Did not stay at hotel but restaurant came highly recommended.
The food was excellent.
The service mediocre.
The ambience was a nightmare.
Too many tables crowded in. Do not want to be able to hear the conversations on the next table or even have to ask them to move from their chairs to enable exit.

Better to put prices up and make the atmosphere and service better.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank roosterbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

Heard so much about this place just had to try it, as a disabled person thought I would not be able to get in,a problem I have had with a few of the places on Tobago. No worries ,I was helped in by a staff member who not only took me in through the side door but also was on hand throughout my stay and could not have been more helpful. My veggie meals were first class and very often not on the menu but made just for me! Stay again? Too right I will!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penygwraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2006

After reading the mostly positive reviews, we were expecting great things. The rooms are very basic, and breakfast is not good at all. On the first day we were given a choice of fruit, cereal, etc but from the following day we just got what the waitress decided we would have!! My biggest gripe with the place is the fact that the owners are (as previously commented upon in another review) utterly disinterested in their B&B guests. We did not expect the red carpet treatment, however, a smile and a good morning costs nothing and would have made a difference. I think for the accommodation on offer, the prices charged by The Seahorse are way too high. We visited the Kariwak Hotel on a number of occasions to eat their excellent food ( in our opinion the best we ate on the island ) and they had much nicer accommodation and a beautiful pool set in gardens for very similar rates to those charged by the Seahorse. If we go to Tobago again, we would definitely stay at the Kariwak.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Areviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed at Seahorse Inn for 3 nights in the first week of January, 2006. We picked this place because of the beautiful pictures in its web site. What true is that it locates right on the beach and the room is pretty. However, the service is very poor. The room that we stayed has two double beds which they put together into one single queen size bed. This is not practical for a couple like us. We asked for the change but the hotel staffs who are also restaurant staffs ignored us. It is exactly like the travellers from Manchester England described in the forum on April, 2005. The hotel part is secondary to the restaurant. Whatever we asked were ignored for the first time, we had to ask for twice or three time to get something. The main web site advertised that room comes with breakfast. Please don't expect the breakfast you see in the picture. It is a muffin and toast breadfast with limited amount. You can't ask for the second serving. We ended up go to House of Pancake for breakfast because it was too terrible to take their breakfast. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank divahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

This was far from the first time I've eaten in Tobago, but it was the last and beyond question the best. After five hours in Scarborough trying to get on an oversold ferry (visitors from Trinidad take note - avoid the Lynx at all costs), we ended up opting for a late crossing and early dinner. I had read about Seahorse Inn and when we saw the signs just past Turtle Beach and climbed the stairs to the bar, the horrid experience of the day disappeared. This is the way the Caribbean is SUPPOSED TO BE. Living in London and spending much time in NY, L.A. and Paris, I have seen a few wine lists but was amazed at the variety and vintages offered here (Ch. Petrus in Tobago? Am I seeing things?).

We each chose a different dish and shared a bite - everything was cooked to perfection and no "provisions" to be seen. Service was quick, professional and cheerful (unlike pretty much everywhere else I've eaten in Tobago). Ambience is nirvana, food was faultless and wine list, as I before, mind-blowing.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

We have just returned from this wonderful island and have visited for the fifth time this wonderful restaurant. The location, the staff, especially Dexter, and the food are all terrific. If ever you are in Tobago, enjoy this place which is quite our favourite, and we travel all around the world. Dexter will serve you with quiet elegance and efficiency, and it is a pleasure to be in his company. If you manage to pay a visit here, we are sure you will enjoy every moment, as we did.
Roz and Colin Gooding

Helpful?
7 Thank holiday fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#2 of 3 in Black Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Property: The Seahorse Inn
Address: Old Grafton Beach Road, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seahorse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Scarborough
The Seahorse Inn Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing