We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit better than the first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villas at Stonehaven
Ranked #1 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We previously wrote a review of the property in December 2009 -- we returned for another visit in December 2010. I can't express strongly enough how wonderful a place is the Villas at Stonehaven. The setting is picturesque and tranquil and the property is absolutely perfect for those who want solitude and relaxation. On this visit we stayed in Villa #11, which has an unobstructed view of the ocean and lush grounds. We watch every afternoon as tanagers (blue-grey, palm, and white-lined) takes baths along the side of our infinity pool, and also have many birds (hummingbirds, bananaquits, tropical mockingbirds, etc, etc) to watch around the property. The 3700 square foot villa is a steal -- we got in this year and last on a "pay for five nights, stay for seven nights" deal that works out to less than $200 a night. An absolute steal!! Prices are higher in "high season," but still reasonable for what you get. This is not a place for folks who want to party hard; it is ideal for folks who want a relaxing space on an island that has unspoiled beauty. The property is a 15 minute walk to a huge bird sanctuary (feeding times at 8AM and 4PM) and less than 15 minutes from a quiet, unspoiled beach. There are many sights, for those who want to look around; though one may be content just hanging out at their villa and enjoying the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

We would highly recommend the villas at Stonehaven, they are beautiful, so relaxing and tranquil. We had a bit of a shock when we arrived at the airport though when the driver greeted us and showed us to his car. It is difficult to describe what awaited us but if you are expecting a limousine you will be very disappointed. Thankfully when you enter the gates at Stonehaven villas, you enter a beautiful oasis of calm and tranquillity. So much so, once there you do not want to leave. We stayed in Villa 8, which was appointed to a very high standard and equipped with everything you will require for your stay and comfort. We had a private pool with breathtaking views across the ocean. In the evenings we sipped chilled champagne on our veranda and watched the sunset as it disappeared over the horizon. Unfortunately it was rainy season when we were there beginning of July, which wasn’t a problem, apart from all the mosquitoes. If you visit Tobago during this time make sure you have very strong repellents and apply liberally, as we got covered in bites, which took a long time to heal.
To add to our comfort we had our own maid, who visits daily. Apart from carrying out the usual housekeeping chores she will also cook for you, for a small additional cost. Raquel was the lady who looked after us and I have to say she was brilliant in every respect. She cooked a local dish of rice, peas and chicken dish for us one day and it was delicious, there was more than enough for 2 days. If you are considering eating out, the standard of restaurants outside the Villa complex is not high, so I would recommend that you eat at the Stonehaven restaurant, on site, or get the maid to cook for you. We went to the Fish Pot restaurant one night, which is very close by, but we were very disappointed. There was a strange atmosphere, with lots of guys hanging around by the bar opposite. As we settled at our table an argument ensued amongst them and they started throwing bottles at each other. The food and service was not brilliant either, so overall a bad experience. We couldn’t wait to get back to the comfort, safety and security of the villa.
We rented a car for 3 days, which Reception organised efficiently and we covered the whole island in that time. Be aware when you go to the petrol stations as you have to pay before you fill up, which makes it very complicated, especially when you have return the car with a full tank. Fuel is not expensive unless you pay for more than you actually needed, which is the danger when you have to anticipate beforehand what you need.
We visited Scarborough market which was a bit of a culture shock and disappointing, but we enjoyed the lively and colourful atmosphere. One of our favourite visits was to Little Rockley Bay, which has breathtaking white sandy beaches stretching as far as the eye can see. There is a lot to see around the island, so drive slowly and stop often. You must try the glass bottom boats from Crown Point to the Nylon Pool and Buccoo Reef, which was excellent, made even more enjoyable by the banter from the Captain and crew. The tickets are cheaper if you buy direct from the boat operators at the tourist information area near to the airport.
We also went to the bird feeding at 8 am, at the bird sanctuary next door to Stonehaven Villas, which was fantastic. It is within walking distance but we were glad we went in the car as once you leave the main road it is all uphill, made worse by the condition of the track. The reward is you get to see close hand lots of birds, mainly Cockricos, which are incredibly vocal and when in a large groups, very noisy and amusing. The wildlife is incredible and even just around the villa you will see lots of beautiful birdlife. One morning we saw an Agooti, which is a large rodent. Apparently it is a local delicacy when in season!
We had a fantastic time at Stonehaven villas and were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff. The manager Duane hosted a cocktail party one evening at the clubhouse which was very enjoyable as we got to meet some of the other guests. We would highly recommend the villas to anyone planning a holiday to Tobago and after seeing other accommodation on the island would say it is the best on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vroom599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was our first trip to Tobago and the Villas at Stonehaven was such a treat. We had researched the villas before we booked, so I thought I knew what to expect -- but we were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in Villa 7 which was wonderful. Beautiful views of Stonehaven Bay, a beautiful and clean villa -- and, best of all, Jean, our house attendant. One thing that we did not appreciate from reading the other reviews was that each villa has its own attendant that is permanently assigned to that villa and only that villa. Jean has tended Villa 7 Since 2002 -- so she really treats it like her home and you are her guests. We took advantage of the option of having Jean prepare lunch for us daily (for a very reasonable added fee of $5 per person plus the cost of groceries). Her cooking was superb and it gave us a chance to enjoy truly local cuisine that was "homemade". Jean would prepare our meals and often with ample "leftovers" to keep us going all day. I highly recommend this option but also recommend that you generously tip your attendant. They work very hard and the downturn in world economy has really devastated the tourism dollars coming onto the island.

The villa was so comfortable and relaxing that we spent a couple of days doing nothing but just lazing around the villa and pool. We really did not visit the main hotel pool and restaurant except for our last day when we had to kill time between check out and our flight back home. I have read some complaints of dirty or "shabby" villas and/or unacceptable noise. That was not our experience at all in Villa 7. We have been fortunate to stay at many high end accommodations and Villa 7 ranked right up there. Without doubt, the most important "room" of the villa is the 50 ft veranda that extends to your private pool. The veranda is of course open air, but it is covered and thus protected from the sun, has a great ceiling fan to keep you cool and comfortable furnishings to allow ample "liming". We took all of our meals out on the verandah and almost never used the indoor living room. Bedrooms were comfortable in that they were all air-conditioned and the Kitchen was remarkably well stocked (not that we used it much ourselves!). One comment is that the beds are not the most comfortable, but they are fine. An observation -- villas are numbered starting from those closest to the road (and thus potentially less spectacular view and more noise) and go upward with the elevation of the property up through Villa 9 (the highest one) and then as the villa numbers go back up again (beyond 9) the villas come back down again in elevation. So, in my opinion, villas 6, 7, 8, 9 had perhaps the best location on the property. Our house keeper (Jean) thought that Villa 4 might have the best view.

When we did venture away from the villa, Charmaine -- in the main lobby at the villas at stonehaven was very helpful in hooking us up with the best tour guides. We took advantage of the rainforest tour with Harris McDonald (highly recommended) and a boat tour with "Frankie". Frankie runs group tours which sound great, but we were able to get a private tour for our family of three at a very reasonable price of $300 US for a 4 hour tour. Our guides (Ricardo and Nick) took us where ever we wanted to go and in the 4 hour time we snorkeled at 2 different reefs (Bucco Reef was especially spectacular), went ashore on a secluded beach that one could not drive to, and my husband got some fishing in. It was a really nice tour. We also drove around the island in our rental and that was a nice day as well. We drove to Charolotteville and negotiated another boat tour (this one much shorter) with "Carlo" where my son and I swam and snorkled at Pirate Bay and my husband did more fishing. The fishing was better in Charlottville (my husband caught a 40 lb tarpin) than down near Bucco bay but the snorkeling (in my opinion) was better at Bucco Reef. We also spent a day at Pigeon Point Beach which was very nice.

The locals were all very nice and charming people. they were happy to see us engaging in their local culture and we were happy to learn about their culture and help the local economy with our tourism.

Finally, I have to add ..... ladies -- the men are gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blanchre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We took the honeymoon package and Stone Haven delivered. From our in-villa massage, to the trip to the Buccoo Reef and Nylon Pool (this replaced our catamarang cruise, cancelled due to bad weather) and our private dinner prepared by the hotel chef on the last night of our stay, everything was exquisite.
We came in at 2am one moring and it was very pleasant to find Mr. Mascall checking around our villa to make sure everything was secure. We felt completely safe.
Our housekeeper helped us with the washing and cooking and kept everything clean and tidy.
Breakfast is complimentary with this package, but you do have to ask the housekeeper to prepare it daily or she'll just go on with her chores assuming you already ate (we learned this the first day there).
The view from our villa was breathtaking, and the sound of birds chirping was the first thing we heard every morning.
This resort is perfect for those lazy days, and we got some cool bird pictures as well. Step in the pool and you'll never want to come out.
Our stay was perfect and we'll most certainly be back. Do check out 'The Fish Pot' down the street, best jerk fish i've ever had!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CariBellaTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

May 2009 was our second visit to Tobago and our first stay at The Villas at Stonehaven.

The Villa was very pleasant but I must confess, my first impression was one of disappointment; it appeared tired, especially the kitchen which to be honest, was unacceptably grubby and not what we expected from this type of resort. However, the views were wonderful the pool inviting so we unpacked and settled in.

We suffered some noise problems in this Villa and noticed, having taken a stroll around that at the middle/top end of the resort peace and quiet, only the birds and breeze could be heard! Despite our request when booking, for a quiet Villa we had actually been allocated the noisiest! Not only was it close to the bar and Restaurant it was also closest to the main road which was surprisingly noisy even late into the night.

We asked if we could be moved to a quieter Villa. This was agreed and we were invited to view another Villa which we did and moved immediately into it.

The difference in the Villa and quietness of the location was over whelming. The quality and cleanliness of this Villa was far superior to the one we had left, we could not fault it in any way. A very attentive house keeper, who is an asset to Stonehaven with her polite, friendly disposition and her attention to detail in the upkeep of this Villa is commendable. 

The views from all of the Villas are excellent and the up keep of the grounds first class. We understand that some of the Villas have different furnishings - our second Villa being one of these.

The Villas are all on a steep hill and we would recommend that a car is hired in order to enjoy the Island and take advantage of the numerous local beaches. For this particular visit to Tobago we were looking for a quiet relaxing time, which we had only leaving the Villa for an early morning stroll on the beach. The Villa pool for us was exceptional and we loved it. 

It was a shame that our request for a quiet Villa was not heeded as this spoilt a couple of days of our holiday, however this would not dissuade us from returning or recommending Stonehaven - if you get the right Villa it really can be a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jangeo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I have been to Tobago many times but only stayed at Stonehaven for the first time in 2008. After that experience I am now extremely spoiled in what I have come to expect from my lodgings in Tobago so it was back to the Stonehaven in 2009 and I am already planning another trip to Stonehaven for 2010.

The Resort:
Immaculate, well manicured grounds with the villas all situated so that you have your very own private space. The views from the villas are just beautiful, even from the bathroom you have spectacular sea views. Club House and Main Pool are very nice, with even more amazing views from that location.

The Villas
We stayed at two different villas and each one was the same as the next. The layout, bedrooms, kitchen, bath etc were identical in terms of decor and standard with the exception that one villa had a small built in bar/island area. There are two bedrooms upstairs and one downstairs all with en suite bathroom (which is great when you have 5 females in a villa!). The overall standard of the villa was very high in terms of aesthetic and comfort. We were so satisfied lounging on the pool deck, taking a dip in the pool occasionally , that we never made it to the beach!

Amenities
The welcome breakfast starter pack and fruit basket was a nice touch. You get milk, juice, bread, eggs, cereal, tea, butter, jam, bottled water and soft drinks. The fruits depend on what is in season, we got a huge watermelon the first visit, but none the second time.

Wireless internet is available throughout the villa and the speed is decent. You could even be in the pool and surfing the net on your laptop if you so desire. We also made use of the grill provided one night and made bar b que for dinner as well as our housekeeper made us breakfast every day (extremely nice touch!). One of the housekeepers also did laundry and presented it folded on the bed.

Airport transfers. Prompt, on time, easy to spot as soon as we came out of the airport, the driver was waiting with Stonehaven Sign in hand.

Location
I would suggest renting a car, even if you may not want to leave the relaxation and beauty of the villa, you may need to get out for provisions or even dinner. We were glad that the option was at least there as no one wanted to walk! If you do decide to do some walking in the area you have the Stonehaven Beach, Grafton and Le Grand Courlan Hotels and a further distance away a little village with a supermarket, Pizza Boys restaurant and some other shops.

Staff
The housekeepers were excellent and the General Manager was always prompt in answering my emails. The bar staff and overall service at the bar, where I had drinks, were a bit serious and slow. And the one time we went to view the menu for dinner at the restaurant there were no staff around to answer our questions. We opted to go somewhere else for dinner.

General Impressions:
I absolutely loved being at Stonehaven, it was just total relaxation in a beautiful villa with amazing views and serenity!

More photos here:
http://s510.photobucket.com/albums/s341/cruising_diva/Stonehaven%20Tobago%202008/

http://s510.photobucket.com/albums/s341/cruising_diva/Stonehaven%20Villas%20Tobago%20-%202009/

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandBabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My husband, our two teenaged kids, six year old and I stayed at Villa #11 for three days. We were fortunate to get an early check in and late check out. Mr. Kenny, the General Manager was very accomodating. Ram the driver was punctual, friendly and helpful. Amrel, the housekeeper was extremely polite, knowledgeable and efficient. We really appreciated the breakfast items provided which included bread, butter, jelly and milk.
Staff at the Pavilion,which is the restaurant on site were not hospitable. On the other hand, the staff at the Seahorse restaurant which is closeby were extremely helpful, well mannered, friendly and paid attention to the smallest detail. Despite being aware that we were from Trinidad, they treated us the same way as the other guests who were from foreign countries.
While I requested Villa #10 if available, I did so because I thought it had the best view. We got Villa #11. However, I realized that someone else’s opinion might not be mine. I got an ocean view from Villa #11 but I really would have liked a Villa with a view of Courland Bay and Plymouth. I was also terribly disappointed that there were no TVs in the bedrooms. I read a few reviews which said there was more than one TV in each villa but sadly this Villa was not one of those. There was only a small CRT television in the living room.
We enjoyed relaxing and having fun in the pool and will not hesitate recommending Stonehaven.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
257 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Stonehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Stonehaven

Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Price Range: $351 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas at Stonehaven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views on the west coast of Tobago, The Villas at Stonehaven is one of the finest luxury resorts in the Caribbean. The resort is an exquisite collection of elegantly appointed three and four bedroom Villas set in ten acres of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. Villa amenities include spacious indoor and outdoor living & dining areas; private infinity pool and spectacular ocean views. Your own daily personal housekeeper attends to your needs and will cook delicious meals on request. Villas are immaculately furnished and feature large air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suites, full kitchens, barbeque areas and ample dining and living space. The accommodation makes for the ideal choice for couples seeking a romantic retreat; families requiring a holiday home, or groups of friends wanting their own space and independence.By day, indulge in an in-room spa service, visit the nearby beach or explore the delights of Tobago. Evenings begin with a sun-downer complete with spectacular sunsets, to be enjoyed on your private terrace or mingling with other guests poolside at the Clubhouse bar and pool.The Pavilion Restaurant, open for lunch and dinner serves delicious Caribbean and Continental Cuisine and also offers room service.The unique setting of this luxurious boutique resort also provides an unforgettable venue for weddings, small conferences and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas at Stonehaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Stonehaven Hotel Black Rock
The Villas At Stonehaven Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing